We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Secret Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Secret Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mapou cottage for a week. The setting was magnificent and the accommodations were wonderful and every conceivable item needed was provided. The views from our cottage were incredible. It was literally like being in a tree house with all the comforts of home. The staff was extremely caring and anticipated our every need. The in house cooks Rose and Dello were great and very amenable to our plant based diet. Anna the manager was beyond compare and always available to assist. She arranged excellent excursions to a variety of sites with capable guides. It was literally the most relaxing vacation my wife and I have ever taken. We felt totally pampered and our individual needs were met as though we were in our own private tropical retreat. You will not regret a stay at Secret Bay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spent five days at Secret Bay. I cannot say enough about the staff and owners of the establishment. Gregor and Sandra are the most welcoming hosts and Anastasia Thomas (Anna) is simply the best guest services manager/concierge/hostess I have ever encountered (and I worked around the 5 star hospitality industry for many years.) She will set up whatever you request whether it is a 6 hour hike to Boiling Lake or a massage in your villa. The entire staff are brilliant; welcoming, friendly, caring, and will happily and cheerfully rescue you if you do something idiotic with your car…

The meals prepared for us by Rose, the restaurant recommendations from Anna, the care and conversation as you prepare to kayak to Secret Beach, all are the stuff that dreams are made on.

We stayed in the villa called Zing-Zing. The use of space, the flow of outdoor to indoor and back is amazing. The two bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, the bathrooms large and well stocked. The living area is laid out nicely and the kitchen is a marvel.

Whether you want to cook for yourself or have all your meals prepared, the staff of Secret Bay will make it happen. We asked for the refrigerator to be pre-stocked with as many local items as possible and the fruits and Sorrel Juice and homemade lemonade more than satisfied our needs.

We never travel to the same place twice. We are planning to a make Secret Bay an exception.

Room Tip: There are no bad places at Secret Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

From the moment we got to Dominica it felt as if we where family coming over for a visit, not just a couple of visitors. Secret Bay took that feeling one step further, the people at Secret Bay really do make you feel at home. Anastasia, Gregor and the rest of the staff really go above and beyond. Anything you need, be it scheduling activities, snacks, or questions aout anything are really just a phone call away. At Secret Bay not only are they concerned about getting you everything you need, They genuinely care about if every little detail of your day is going according to your wants and expectations.

We had such a great time that we had a really hard time coming back home. Everyone in Dominica is kind, friendly, and inviting. There are so many activities to do that we could have been there for weeks and still have not done everything.

Really, visiting Secret Bay makes you feel like a celebrity going on vacation to your own little piece of paradise. So far, nothing has topped this experience

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varmdo, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you demand a hotel with sun loungers and a cocktail, you can go somewhere else. This is a place where you get everything you desire and everything you want in terms of nature adventures, scenery, service, comfort and peace of mind. To have your own chef in your exclusive hut is super but we will definitely come back when you have built a restaurant. Don't judge the rooms from the pictures. If you only have experienced 5 star service before, you should go to Dominica and experience secret service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Secret Bay is our new favorite destination. Zing Zing is a beautiful and artfully designed villa, intricately melded with nature. It is secluded, quiet, and spacious - with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths and plenty of living/lounging space. The walls of retractable windows offer a true room with a view - and what an incredibly gorgeous view! For those who can't live without electronics, it's a gadget heaven - for those who can, a delightful assortment of reading materials is offered. We chose to have most of our meals in our villa...excellent. Gregor is hospitable and informative and quite fun to bump into here and there. Anastasia is professional, courteous, and efficient, all while being a dear. We will be back."

Room Tip: There ARE NO bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonisdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Mapou bungalow. It will be hard to come up with comments not already stated in the other reviews here. We agree with the accolades! We thoroughly enjoyed our time in the bungalow. It really was like being in our own treehouse. But a very well-appointed treehouse. That is another point--the resort really looks very much like the photos on their website (perhaps a bit smaller development than I had envisioned, though).
We felt very secluded--in a good way. The staff (headed up by Anna) is very responsive to all needs. They do a fantastic job of giving guests lots of privacy while still providing high level service. And Gregor (the resort owner) is obviously very dedicated to making sure all your needs are met. We felt totally provided for from pick-up at the airport to return.
My wife has been telling everyone about Secret Bay. We are contemplating spending a week in Zabuco villa next trip. Yes, there will probably be a next trip...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Secret Bay is an incredible place. We stayed in the ti-fey bungalow in mid February, and though not the zabucco (which has premium views) the view from the bedroom of the bungalow and the deck (where we ate breakfast every morning and played scrabble by sunset) is breath-taking. There is a real sense of seclusion - from the bungalow to the beach, which is privy to only the 10 guests that may be onsite at the time. The staff is very helpful and friendly and owner Gregor is simply one of those genuinely nice people, eager to chat and check up on you, help/guide and overall make sure you have everything you need. Sandra, his wife, brought us chocolate and coconut filled brownies in the shape of hearts on Valentine's day - a very pleasant and delicious surprise. The fruits and vegetables are purchased from the local market and the fish from local fisherman. Anna, the hostess was wonderful. Anything we needed, she would quickly arrange.There is much to see in Dominica, but Secret Bay and its scenic comfort is difficult to leave. Also, try the Kubuli beer (Dominica's pride), it is very delicious and refreshing. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armands C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing