We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 516 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Secret Bay on 2 separate occasions. One with just she and I and another with a group of friends. Both experiences were absolutely amazing. The views of the water are beautiful and each bungalow or villa has something unique to offer. While we were there, we had an amazing chef that cooked fabulous meals. We also went kayaking and they had all the gear we needed to have fun and stay safe. They even provide you with shoes and snorkeling gear! We fell in love with their fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer and dishwasher! We have stayed at various places in Dominica and would definitely rate it as one of the top places to stay! The staff were always smiling and met are every need. We can't wait to go back and recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and astonishing getaway.

Room tip: Zing Zing is the best for 2 couples (sleeps 4). However the rest are only for 2. They are all very close together though so they can accommodate you up to 10 while allowing plenty of space! When choosing between bungalows, we recommend Mapou to allow for more privacy.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

When my wife told me we were going to Dominica for vacation, I honestly didn't know much about the place and was a bit skeptical about going. Of course, as the time passed and we were packing up, I was a little bit more excited, but wasn't sure what to expect since many of our trips were places I had some knowledge about....Secret Bay Dominica...WOW!
I can't explain in words how beautiful this place is. From the staff, owners, to people on the Island...it was just an amazing experience and one I love to share with friends and family. Secret Bay is simply one of the most beautiful places Ive been. We were able to stay in both the Bungalow for a couple days and then to the Zabuco Villa for the next few days until we had to leave.
Everything about Secret Bay was amazing...the layout, its location, the views, the water, etc...everything was just perfect. I must say that the architecture of the buildings was amazing...such a unique and luxury feel to both layouts. Everything you need is available for you and no reason to need anything more. From our arrival - start to finish, everything we wanted to have as far as snacks, food, and accommodations for anything was just a phone call away if we didn't already have it (a cell phone provided to each suite for you to use while there - amazing).
I read all the reviews here and just have to agree with every one of them - Secret Bay gets its rating because it actually is one of those few that can meet the ratings and it shows. For the most part, we were sooo amazed by the Zabuco Villa that we were completely happy just hanging out at the Villa all day. Kayaks are readily available to take a quick trip to the private beach and bikes are available upon request to take a quick bike ride to town.
If you are looking for a top notch place to stay in Dominica, Secret Bay is a MUST. When we travel back to the West Indies, Dominica would be a definite stop...even if it was for a day or two. I definitely enjoyed every bit of our stay and thank the entire staff at Secret Bay for everything.
By the way...the food was amazing. It was nice to not think about what we were going to eat everyday and the cooks pretty much served as they pleased. We are not picky eaters, so we just told them to surprise us each meal as we were confident that everything would be amazing...and it was. Kitchens are fully functional and we did however make it feel like home by going to the Super Market and buying some food to cook for some of the meals we had.
THANKS AGAIN SECRET BAY FOR EVERYTHING. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room tip: Zabuco Villa - amazing villa.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

... literally.

My husband and I just returned from a mini trip to Secret Bay. Accustomed to traveling in luxury, we were both continually astounded by the beauty of the property, the surroundings and the dedicated people who make Secret Bay so very special.

Dominica is a Country to be cherished. We are but visitors to a very special place in the world that carries all of the precious characteristics of a simpler life many of us have long left behind. We also realized very quickly that we are mere visitors to an eco island unimaginable to describe in this review. Thus, the activities on the island are endless for those who wish to live life at its richest.

The Secret Bay team were there to make certain that our visit was flawless. Each morning began with a 7AM kayak to one of their two lovely beaches where we would spend about an hour exercising on the beach. Upon our return, we would be greeted with a morning smile by staff who wanted to ensure that we had enjoyed our experience. A leisurely breakfast was prepared and waiting to be served to us in our exquisite Zing Zing villa. The choice of activities during the day was endless. The staff hand pick a very professional and informative tour leader depending on which activity is chosen. Returning back to the resort, there is barely enough time for a short rest before you are either spoiled to another self selected home cooked meal or carried to a fabulous and memorable restaurant. One of the nicest touches was the escorted late night walk back to our villa. Not for security reasons, just to be reminded that you were there to be pampered.

The photographs on the Secret Bay website are highly representative of what you will experience at the resort. What you should expect is to be swept away the moment you arrive to the property. The reviews below are quite accurate. One could go on and on. We have already booked our second visit to Secret Bay and hope to make this an annual family holiday.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1WandR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Spectacular! The most intimate and detail oriented resort in the Caribbean--where luxury meets nature. Only by experiencing the resort are you able to capture how beautiful the location really is--we were happily surprised as the reality of it exceeded the expectations set by the web site.

Room tip: The Zabuco Honeymoon Villa is worth every penny! It is stocked with everything you could possibly imagine. It has enough cutlery and glassware to host a party of ten. You have the option to open a sliding glass door inside the shower which gives you the impression you're showering in nature on top of a cliff with an amazing breeze--we did this every day--amazing!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnzoGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Secret Bay Resort for our 5th year wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a better resort in all of the Caribbean! The moment we arrived, we were swept away with the scenery in and around the resort. The grounds were beautifully maintained with bright and colorful flowers and plants all around. The luxurious villas and bungalows were all set amongst the trees that it offered a true sense of privacy.

The resort has two beaches, one with black sand (Tibay beach) and one with white sand (Secret Beach) that is at your disposal to explore. We truly felt like these two beaches were all ours the week we were there! We especially were enamored with the scenery, privacy and serenity that Secret Beach offered as we often were the only ones on the beach!! It had clear and calm Caribbean waters along with terrific spots for snorkeling and a secret cave for exploring that was like nothing else we had ever experienced! The Secret Beach was a short and very scenic kayak trip just a few minutes from the shores of Tibay Beach.

We had the luck of booking the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa, which was simply amazing! It had a 180 degree view of the Caribbean sea on one side, while the other side had dramatic views of the rainforest in the distance, which was breathtaking. The villa was set atop the cliff right next to the ocean and had unsurpassed views of the sunset each evening. The Villa was chock full of luxurious amenities, but all the while maintaining a very natural and comfortable feel to it. We especially loved showering in the state of the art open-air shower, which had a door that you could slide open to have the Caribbean breeze blow through as you showered--each shower was such an amazing experience--no where else have we been able to shower with the view of the ocean and waves below us, the cliffs of Tibay beach in front of us, and the vistas of the lush tropical rainforest behind us--it is one that everyone needs to experience, for sure!!

The bedroom has a comfortable bathtub that faces west, so we soaked in beautiful sunsets while basking in the warm bubble baths. :) There is an air conditioner in the bedroom, so we slept comfortably as night and woke up refreshed every morning to the unbelievable panoramic view of the sea. Below the main floor of the villa is your very own infinity pool with lounge chairs, tables and even a super luxurious hammock to relax in while taking in the amazing views all around you. I could go on and on about the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa!

But, the other gem about Secret Bay Resort, besides their beaches and villas, are the WONDERFUL staff that work there! We had the luxury of having a cook for the week in our villa and absolutely loved every meal we had! We were really spoiled all week as they cooked breakfast and dinners, per our request! We even had a cooking lesson for lunch one day, and learned to make a yam pie, creole baked chicken, fresh dasheen chips and banana coconut chocolate chip brownies. It was such a fun and neat learning experience!! Delicious!! We also enjoyed the fresh organic fruit juices along with fresh coconuts that were given to us by the awesome staff--thanks again, Rose, Delo, Meagan and Paul!

In terms of excursions, Anna, from the beginning to the end, was simply amazing! She was so dedicated to making our stay at the resort and on the island of Dominica memorable, that she was always checking in on us, to make sure we had everything ready to go the night before an excursion or trip outside of the resort. Thanks to Anna, we were able to go on a waterfall madness day of hikes to some of the most beautiful waterfalls on the island. She also also made reservations and arranged transportation to a couple of dinners at local restaurants on the island. We went to Sunset Bay Restaurant our last night for lobster, and absolutely loved it! This restaurant is a must on the island of Dominica!! We also took a romantic trip down the Indian River, and went scuba diving as a couple for the first time with Cabrits Dive Center--all arranged by the wonderful Anna. :)

The added personal touch we also wanted to mention was the joy of meeting Sandra (she and her husband, Gregor, own Secret Bay) at the airport, who had cold lavender scented hand-towels, crisp cold water bottles and white umbrellas all ready to go right after we got through customs and outside of the little airport. For our departure from the resort, Gregor personally drove us back, and it was neat to learn more about the island and the history of Secret Bay Resort and their future plans. They are both such warm, friendly and welcoming people who are very passionate about making your stay a memorable, once in a lifetime experience.

We have not been able to stop talking about Secret Bay Resort, the people who work there, and the unforgettable adventures we had! This is a true gem that should be experienced at least once in a lifetime!!!!!

Room tip: Book the Zabuco Villa for the best views!!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SMH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews