We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 516 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

... literally.

My husband and I just returned from a mini trip to Secret Bay. Accustomed to traveling in luxury, we were both continually astounded by the beauty of the property, the surroundings and the dedicated people who make Secret Bay so very special.

Dominica is a Country to be cherished. We are but visitors to a very special place in the world that carries all of the precious characteristics of a simpler life many of us have long left behind. We also realized very quickly that we are mere visitors to an eco island unimaginable to describe in this review. Thus, the activities on the island are endless for those who wish to live life at its richest.

The Secret Bay team were there to make certain that our visit was flawless. Each morning began with a 7AM kayak to one of their two lovely beaches where we would spend about an hour exercising on the beach. Upon our return, we would be greeted with a morning smile by staff who wanted to ensure that we had enjoyed our experience. A leisurely breakfast was prepared and waiting to be served to us in our exquisite Zing Zing villa. The choice of activities during the day was endless. The staff hand pick a very professional and informative tour leader depending on which activity is chosen. Returning back to the resort, there is barely enough time for a short rest before you are either spoiled to another self selected home cooked meal or carried to a fabulous and memorable restaurant. One of the nicest touches was the escorted late night walk back to our villa. Not for security reasons, just to be reminded that you were there to be pampered.

The photographs on the Secret Bay website are highly representative of what you will experience at the resort. What you should expect is to be swept away the moment you arrive to the property. The reviews below are quite accurate. One could go on and on. We have already booked our second visit to Secret Bay and hope to make this an annual family holiday.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1WandR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Spectacular! The most intimate and detail oriented resort in the Caribbean--where luxury meets nature. Only by experiencing the resort are you able to capture how beautiful the location really is--we were happily surprised as the reality of it exceeded the expectations set by the web site.

Room tip: The Zabuco Honeymoon Villa is worth every penny! It is stocked with everything you could possibly imagine. It has enough cutlery and glassware to host a party of ten. You have the option to open a sliding glass door inside the shower which gives you the impression you're showering in nature on top of a cliff with an amazing breeze--we did this every day--amazing!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnzoGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Secret Bay Resort for our 5th year wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a better resort in all of the Caribbean! The moment we arrived, we were swept away with the scenery in and around the resort. The grounds were beautifully maintained with bright and colorful flowers and plants all around. The luxurious villas and bungalows were all set amongst the trees that it offered a true sense of privacy.

The resort has two beaches, one with black sand (Tibay beach) and one with white sand (Secret Beach) that is at your disposal to explore. We truly felt like these two beaches were all ours the week we were there! We especially were enamored with the scenery, privacy and serenity that Secret Beach offered as we often were the only ones on the beach!! It had clear and calm Caribbean waters along with terrific spots for snorkeling and a secret cave for exploring that was like nothing else we had ever experienced! The Secret Beach was a short and very scenic kayak trip just a few minutes from the shores of Tibay Beach.

We had the luck of booking the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa, which was simply amazing! It had a 180 degree view of the Caribbean sea on one side, while the other side had dramatic views of the rainforest in the distance, which was breathtaking. The villa was set atop the cliff right next to the ocean and had unsurpassed views of the sunset each evening. The Villa was chock full of luxurious amenities, but all the while maintaining a very natural and comfortable feel to it. We especially loved showering in the state of the art open-air shower, which had a door that you could slide open to have the Caribbean breeze blow through as you showered--each shower was such an amazing experience--no where else have we been able to shower with the view of the ocean and waves below us, the cliffs of Tibay beach in front of us, and the vistas of the lush tropical rainforest behind us--it is one that everyone needs to experience, for sure!!

The bedroom has a comfortable bathtub that faces west, so we soaked in beautiful sunsets while basking in the warm bubble baths. :) There is an air conditioner in the bedroom, so we slept comfortably as night and woke up refreshed every morning to the unbelievable panoramic view of the sea. Below the main floor of the villa is your very own infinity pool with lounge chairs, tables and even a super luxurious hammock to relax in while taking in the amazing views all around you. I could go on and on about the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa!

But, the other gem about Secret Bay Resort, besides their beaches and villas, are the WONDERFUL staff that work there! We had the luxury of having a cook for the week in our villa and absolutely loved every meal we had! We were really spoiled all week as they cooked breakfast and dinners, per our request! We even had a cooking lesson for lunch one day, and learned to make a yam pie, creole baked chicken, fresh dasheen chips and banana coconut chocolate chip brownies. It was such a fun and neat learning experience!! Delicious!! We also enjoyed the fresh organic fruit juices along with fresh coconuts that were given to us by the awesome staff--thanks again, Rose, Delo, Meagan and Paul!

In terms of excursions, Anna, from the beginning to the end, was simply amazing! She was so dedicated to making our stay at the resort and on the island of Dominica memorable, that she was always checking in on us, to make sure we had everything ready to go the night before an excursion or trip outside of the resort. Thanks to Anna, we were able to go on a waterfall madness day of hikes to some of the most beautiful waterfalls on the island. She also also made reservations and arranged transportation to a couple of dinners at local restaurants on the island. We went to Sunset Bay Restaurant our last night for lobster, and absolutely loved it! This restaurant is a must on the island of Dominica!! We also took a romantic trip down the Indian River, and went scuba diving as a couple for the first time with Cabrits Dive Center--all arranged by the wonderful Anna. :)

The added personal touch we also wanted to mention was the joy of meeting Sandra (she and her husband, Gregor, own Secret Bay) at the airport, who had cold lavender scented hand-towels, crisp cold water bottles and white umbrellas all ready to go right after we got through customs and outside of the little airport. For our departure from the resort, Gregor personally drove us back, and it was neat to learn more about the island and the history of Secret Bay Resort and their future plans. They are both such warm, friendly and welcoming people who are very passionate about making your stay a memorable, once in a lifetime experience.

We have not been able to stop talking about Secret Bay Resort, the people who work there, and the unforgettable adventures we had! This is a true gem that should be experienced at least once in a lifetime!!!!!

Room tip: Book the Zabuco Villa for the best views!!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SMH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Secret Bay for our honeymoon and we had an amazing experience. First of all, the location is beautiful with views of the Caribbean Sea and a quiet beach on property. The bungalows are marvelous, with many luxurious touches and plenty of space. Most importantly, the staff is friendly, generous, and accommodating. They go above and beyond anything we've experienced before and are the reason we will return to Secret Bay again.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

If city life is cramping your style then its time to head to the pristine island of Dominica, with Secret Bay Resort as your grand destination. Just about an 1 ½ hour flight from Puerto Rico will take you to one of the most “unspoiled natural beauty islands” in the Caribbean. If relaxation and or romance are what you are seeking or you just want to disconnect with the world, then Secret Bay is for you. Everything about the resort will WOW you from the accommodations, views, and friendly service.

There are no other accommodations like it in Dominica from what we have seen and previously experienced. From the architectural aspect of the villas as well as the floral and fauna of this location, everything is 5 star.

We rented both Villas during our stay. Zabuco Villa (The Honeymoon Villa) is spectacular. It is a very private, one bedroom villa with phenomenal ocean views and sunsets. Nicely appointed with every amenity you can imagine.
Zing Zing Villa is just as nice and has a river and a beach view. It does have 2 bedrooms and the same great amenities. Eating your meals on the decks is one of the best parts of both of the villas.

Just below Secret Bay Resort is Secret Beach. It is one of the best secluded beaches of the island. Quite and small but has great warm water and crystal clarity for snorkeling. You can kayak and paddleboard in the beautiful bay. Just under Zabuco Villa is a sea cave that is a great secret in itself to explore.

Part of Secret Bay is the wonderful concierge service they offer. We had impeccable service from the chefs, we enjoyed many local dishes cooked by them, they set up excursions such as hikes to the boiling lake and several other scenic waterfalls. Also if you need a massage or pedicure, they can set that up for you as well. They give you use of snorkel gear, kayaks, bicycles, coolers for your day excursions at no extra charge. For any of your needs, the staff was prompt, available and made your trip there as easy as possible.

We were here for a week and really didn’t feel like you had to leave the resort. The town of Portsmouth is quite and quaint. If you get a chance go to the Farmers Market early Saturday morning. Also if you want to eat a meal in town, try the Iguana Café. Don’t let the building leave you second-guessing yourself on eating here. It is small and you have to call to have the restaurant open to cook your dinner. It is well worth the trip into town to eat here.

If hiking is your passion, then try these guided trips to Tete Chien (the lava flow), Riviere Cyrique (rope climbing!) and Sari Sari falls.... we did these three hikes in one day. Also another hike that should be on your bucket list is to Boiling Lake (Only two boiling lakes in the world). This 16 mile, 6 hour hike is not for the feint of heart but well worth the trip.

You could make Secret Bay as active or relaxing as you like. If you are tired of the cruise ships and the crowds of the other islands and want to be pampered, then Secret Bay should be your future destination! Gregor and Sandra, the owners, have spent 15 years dreaming about this place and it shows with the all the details. If you have a chance to meet them you’ll feel the soul of the resort and that will make your trip even more special. But you better hurry since Secret Bay is no longer going to be “that” secret once word spreads about this fabulous place.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews