We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the BEST on the Island of Dominica!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST on the Island of Dominica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Secret Bay Resort for our 5th year wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a better resort in all of the Caribbean! The moment we arrived, we were swept away with the scenery in and around the resort. The grounds were beautifully maintained with bright and colorful flowers and plants all around. The luxurious villas and bungalows were all set amongst the trees that it offered a true sense of privacy.

The resort has two beaches, one with black sand (Tibay beach) and one with white sand (Secret Beach) that is at your disposal to explore. We truly felt like these two beaches were all ours the week we were there! We especially were enamored with the scenery, privacy and serenity that Secret Beach offered as we often were the only ones on the beach!! It had clear and calm Caribbean waters along with terrific spots for snorkeling and a secret cave for exploring that was like nothing else we had ever experienced! The Secret Beach was a short and very scenic kayak trip just a few minutes from the shores of Tibay Beach.

We had the luck of booking the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa, which was simply amazing! It had a 180 degree view of the Caribbean sea on one side, while the other side had dramatic views of the rainforest in the distance, which was breathtaking. The villa was set atop the cliff right next to the ocean and had unsurpassed views of the sunset each evening. The Villa was chock full of luxurious amenities, but all the while maintaining a very natural and comfortable feel to it. We especially loved showering in the state of the art open-air shower, which had a door that you could slide open to have the Caribbean breeze blow through as you showered--each shower was such an amazing experience--no where else have we been able to shower with the view of the ocean and waves below us, the cliffs of Tibay beach in front of us, and the vistas of the lush tropical rainforest behind us--it is one that everyone needs to experience, for sure!!

The bedroom has a comfortable bathtub that faces west, so we soaked in beautiful sunsets while basking in the warm bubble baths. :) There is an air conditioner in the bedroom, so we slept comfortably as night and woke up refreshed every morning to the unbelievable panoramic view of the sea. Below the main floor of the villa is your very own infinity pool with lounge chairs, tables and even a super luxurious hammock to relax in while taking in the amazing views all around you. I could go on and on about the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa!

But, the other gem about Secret Bay Resort, besides their beaches and villas, are the WONDERFUL staff that work there! We had the luxury of having a cook for the week in our villa and absolutely loved every meal we had! We were really spoiled all week as they cooked breakfast and dinners, per our request! We even had a cooking lesson for lunch one day, and learned to make a yam pie, creole baked chicken, fresh dasheen chips and banana coconut chocolate chip brownies. It was such a fun and neat learning experience!! Delicious!! We also enjoyed the fresh organic fruit juices along with fresh coconuts that were given to us by the awesome staff--thanks again, Rose, Delo, Meagan and Paul!

In terms of excursions, Anna, from the beginning to the end, was simply amazing! She was so dedicated to making our stay at the resort and on the island of Dominica memorable, that she was always checking in on us, to make sure we had everything ready to go the night before an excursion or trip outside of the resort. Thanks to Anna, we were able to go on a waterfall madness day of hikes to some of the most beautiful waterfalls on the island. She also also made reservations and arranged transportation to a couple of dinners at local restaurants on the island. We went to Sunset Bay Restaurant our last night for lobster, and absolutely loved it! This restaurant is a must on the island of Dominica!! We also took a romantic trip down the Indian River, and went scuba diving as a couple for the first time with Cabrits Dive Center--all arranged by the wonderful Anna. :)

The added personal touch we also wanted to mention was the joy of meeting Sandra (she and her husband, Gregor, own Secret Bay) at the airport, who had cold lavender scented hand-towels, crisp cold water bottles and white umbrellas all ready to go right after we got through customs and outside of the little airport. For our departure from the resort, Gregor personally drove us back, and it was neat to learn more about the island and the history of Secret Bay Resort and their future plans. They are both such warm, friendly and welcoming people who are very passionate about making your stay a memorable, once in a lifetime experience.

We have not been able to stop talking about Secret Bay Resort, the people who work there, and the unforgettable adventures we had! This is a true gem that should be experienced at least once in a lifetime!!!!!

Room Tip: Book the Zabuco Villa for the best views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SMH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Secret Bay for our honeymoon and we had an amazing experience. First of all, the location is beautiful with views of the Caribbean Sea and a quiet beach on property. The bungalows are marvelous, with many luxurious touches and plenty of space. Most importantly, the staff is friendly, generous, and accommodating. They go above and beyond anything we've experienced before and are the reason we will return to Secret Bay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

If city life is cramping your style then its time to head to the pristine island of Dominica, with Secret Bay Resort as your grand destination. Just about an 1 ½ hour flight from Puerto Rico will take you to one of the most “unspoiled natural beauty islands” in the Caribbean. If relaxation and or romance are what you are seeking or you just want to disconnect with the world, then Secret Bay is for you. Everything about the resort will WOW you from the accommodations, views, and friendly service.

There are no other accommodations like it in Dominica from what we have seen and previously experienced. From the architectural aspect of the villas as well as the floral and fauna of this location, everything is 5 star.

We rented both Villas during our stay. Zabuco Villa (The Honeymoon Villa) is spectacular. It is a very private, one bedroom villa with phenomenal ocean views and sunsets. Nicely appointed with every amenity you can imagine.
Zing Zing Villa is just as nice and has a river and a beach view. It does have 2 bedrooms and the same great amenities. Eating your meals on the decks is one of the best parts of both of the villas.

Just below Secret Bay Resort is Secret Beach. It is one of the best secluded beaches of the island. Quite and small but has great warm water and crystal clarity for snorkeling. You can kayak and paddleboard in the beautiful bay. Just under Zabuco Villa is a sea cave that is a great secret in itself to explore.

Part of Secret Bay is the wonderful concierge service they offer. We had impeccable service from the chefs, we enjoyed many local dishes cooked by them, they set up excursions such as hikes to the boiling lake and several other scenic waterfalls. Also if you need a massage or pedicure, they can set that up for you as well. They give you use of snorkel gear, kayaks, bicycles, coolers for your day excursions at no extra charge. For any of your needs, the staff was prompt, available and made your trip there as easy as possible.

We were here for a week and really didn’t feel like you had to leave the resort. The town of Portsmouth is quite and quaint. If you get a chance go to the Farmers Market early Saturday morning. Also if you want to eat a meal in town, try the Iguana Café. Don’t let the building leave you second-guessing yourself on eating here. It is small and you have to call to have the restaurant open to cook your dinner. It is well worth the trip into town to eat here.

If hiking is your passion, then try these guided trips to Tete Chien (the lava flow), Riviere Cyrique (rope climbing!) and Sari Sari falls.... we did these three hikes in one day. Also another hike that should be on your bucket list is to Boiling Lake (Only two boiling lakes in the world). This 16 mile, 6 hour hike is not for the feint of heart but well worth the trip.

You could make Secret Bay as active or relaxing as you like. If you are tired of the cruise ships and the crowds of the other islands and want to be pampered, then Secret Bay should be your future destination! Gregor and Sandra, the owners, have spent 15 years dreaming about this place and it shows with the all the details. If you have a chance to meet them you’ll feel the soul of the resort and that will make your trip even more special. But you better hurry since Secret Bay is no longer going to be “that” secret once word spreads about this fabulous place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just had a magical visit to Secret Bay in Dominica. Four of our family shared a beautiful 2-bedroom villa overlooking the water. The villa was built of local woods and equipped with all modern appliances and conveniences. I walked down the hill in the morning with a cup of coffee and admired the view and peace. The staff met every need we had - they were charming and gracious. We went kayaking, visited a small cave with a guide and went snorkeling. The water was crystal clear and warm - and the colorful tropical fish were amazing. We have stayed at many hotels and inns - Secret Bay provided us with a wonderful experience second to none.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and i were visiting the island of Dominica and decided to take a few days off to visit the north of the island. We did a little research and asked a few locals for their advise. There were a range of options as Dominica seems to be growing in the number of boutique hotels offered around the island. Our final choice was Secrete Bay and i don't think we could have made a better choice. What beauty!!! We felt like we were in our own little paradise...............the honeymoon suite was so serene, calming and spacious. We had our own personal caretakers and cooks who were excellent. Fresh fish, the most delicious home-made yogurt, fresh fruits, all catered to our request. We ventured on a kayak trip to vist the bay which greeted us with crystal clear blue water. Even better we were the only one there at the time. Sometimes we all just need to get away and relax and Secret Bay definitely fulfilled that desire.

Room Tip: Heaven on earth!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank candy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Going to Secret Bay afforded my wife and I some good quality time to unwind at this beautiful and serene property. We went there in early July 2011 and stayed in their beautiful Zabuco Honeymoon Villa. The villa itself had gorgeous views from all angles. It is also quite spacious and well appointed. The villa also came with it’s own private infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean sea.

The service at Secret Bay was very personal and charming. We were provided our own personal cook, who prepared delightful customized meals, which made for a romantic dinner overlooking the ocean and secret beach. The staff was eager to help us enjoy all that Secret Bay had to offer.

We also enjoyed one of the many terraced outdoor decks and watch a beautiful sunset in the Caribbean Sea. The decks were comfortably and nicely furnished which allowed us to really enjoy the sunset.

The facility had great amenities which we utilized daily. We used the kayaks and kayaked to a beautiful secluded beach, called secret beach. While at secret beach we snorkeled and enjoyed the beautiful nature of Dominica below the sea. It was great!

The location provided a true sense of beautiful fauna, breathtaking views and a secluded location. If you are ever in the Caribbean and you are looking for a beautiful romantic place to stay, Secret Bay is it. We had a great time.




Going to Secret Bay afforded my wife and I some good quality time to unwind at this beautiful and serene property. We went there in early July 2011 and stayed in their beautiful Zabuco Honeymoon Villa. The villa itself had gorgeous views from all angles. It is also quite spacious and well appointed. The villa also came with it’s own private infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean sea.

The service at Secret Bay was very personal and charming. We were provided our own personal cook, who prepared delightful customized meals, which made for a romantic dinner overlooking the ocean and secret beach. The staff was eager to help us enjoy all that Secret Bay had to offer.

We also enjoyed one of the many terraced outdoor decks and watch a beautiful sunset in the Caribbean Sea. The decks were comfortably and nicely furnished which allowed us to really enjoy the sunset.

The facility had great amenities which we utilized daily. We used the kayaks and kayaked to a beautiful secluded beach, called secret beach. While at secret beach we snorkeled and enjoyed the beautiful nature of Dominica below the sea. It was great!

The location provided a true sense of beautiful fauna, breathtaking views and a secluded location. If you are ever in the Caribbean and you are looking for a beautiful romantic place to stay, Secret Bay is it. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muggygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

“Secret Bay” will always be in my memory as a beautiful and great experience!

Secret Bay is a piece of Paradise on earth! these beautiful bungalows bind perfectly to the beauty of the rainforest.

Surrounded by forest and the sea, Secret Bay is unique among its peers of the West Indies, the perfect place to meditate and day dream under the shade of the trees, the songs of the waves and birds.

This is one of the most amazing the architectural expression of the Venezuelan genius Fruto Vivas.

Secret Bay is the ideal place for couples in love of all ages. Finally Sandra & Gregor, were always courteous and pleasant to the highest degree.

All the Best to "Secret Bay"

Franco Gonnella

Venezuela

franco_gonnella@hotmail.com

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chicho_gonnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing