We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco Masterpiece” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manicou River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manicou River
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eco Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Where do I start? My wife and I only stayed here two nights but we really got the sense that with a little planning we could have been here for much longer. I'll start off by saying that the views are outstanding perhaps the best that you don't have to hike to. The kitchen inside is pretty well stocked with all the pots, pans, and utensils (lacking a french press) but otherwise has everything you will need to cook for yourself and with fresh ingredients at the bottom of the hill and in Portsmouth literally a 10 min drive you will do well to provide for yourself rather than go out for every single meal. If you don't cook there is a great creole restaurant at the bottom of the hill as well and plenty more in Portsmouth. The shower is great provided you make sure you understand solar, the water bed is very comfortable-you will be surprised! the layout of the tree house is a splendid octagon constructed above ground out of local wood (no scarring the landscape here) Many places claim to be "eco" but Manicou is the real deal. There is plenty to do locally even at the bottom of the hill-fantastic snorkeling on Douglas Bay, the trails at the Cabrits national park etc. etc. plus Portsmouth is a fairly lively place and not far from Morne Diaboltin national park which is a fantastic hiking/scenic option and nowhere as busy as the Roseau valley. The owners Tess and Kevin are truly genuine about wanting their guests to enjoy themselves and although you will feel alone in your private tree house you feel good knowing that they and their sweet dogs are around. FYI try not be in your treehouse in the late afternoon as the sun will be beaming directly on you. Also don't be intimidated by the road up there after the first time it seems like an ordinary road in Dominica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnNae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
97
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

What a fabulous accommodation - a perfect combination of the Caribbean, and mountains with the feel of the jungle! I found myself deeply breathing it all in. From my perch up the mountain, I saw a magnificent sunset and the first thing to greet my eyes in the morning was the Caribbean AND a beautiful rainbow. I loved the wooden octagonal treehouse.and the landscaping - it was a work of art and love by two very dedicated souls. The owners are a fun,engaging, knowledgeable couple.who are eager to make sure you love Dominica as much as they do!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My accommodation was fabulous and the design perfect. Combining a high-end resort (for Dominica) with a true conservation approach has culminated in a wonderful place to stay. Hanging out in a hammock high above the sea in the realms of a truly beautiful tree houses you cannot help but relax.

Also, snorkeling at Manicou River Eco Resort was fantastic. The locations of the reefs are a swim away from a secret beach that the resort discovered. It was sandy and safe for kids in my opinion.

I would definitely come back to this little paradise. It’s hard to put into words the feeling this stunning setting gives you.

I ‘unplugged and recharged’ as someone said here earlier and it felt great. All done with the smallest impact possible on the local environment. A true Eco Resort.

Room Tip: The red cedar cottage has an extra bed that would come in handy for 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBillBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Breathtaking … is the only way to describe the experience as we entered our private tree house. None of the pictures on the website could possibly do it justice. The incredible views over this paradise island ranging from the highest mountains, The Caribbean sea to the isles of Guadeloupe had me immediately enchanted.

The tree houses are hand crafted with love and it shows in the generous floor-space, king size bed, large bathroom and open air rainwater shower. There is enough room to relax, to practice yoga or just lie in a hammock as the Caribbean Sea beckons below. Care has been taken to furnish the tree houses with everything you need for your off-grid stay; bright lanterns, candles, headlamps, and a free battery charging service for your phones or cameras.

We were shown the secret Manicou beach that was both sandy and deserted. The snorkeling a brisk swim away was spectacular. The beautiful fish, coral gardens and sea horses were incredible, not to mention the rainbow of colors with Barracuda as long as my arms would stretch. The area is a must for all snorkelers and divers, especially underwater photographers-do not miss out.

As for excursions, we opted for horse trekking through the lush jungle slopes with Yasmin at Brandy Manor and also showered under a River as it falls 100ft down from the cliffs above and onto the beach below … honestly, it was amazing and worth the swim ashore through small surf from the covered boat. We spent a day with the Kalinago (Caribe) people, we went with the Manicou’s own gardener Conrad, himself a Kalinago and met his family, the tribal chief who is his uncle and viewpoints that no other guide could have uncovered for us. They treated us really kindly and kept giving and giving.

Privacy is assured here, but a relaxed attentiveness purveys throughout the estate. If you are looking for a self-sustaining, intimate, off-grid Eco experience in a natural setting, I would highly recommend Manicou River Eco Resort. If you do not stay here you will miss the best that Dominica has to offer.

My only gripe is that the resort was full so we could only stay for 5 days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tengen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful resort. It is run by a very friendly English couple, we did not know us before, but we left as friends. The view is spectacular, everthing very private without any other disturbing noisy guests. There is no electricity but we did not miss it all, the shower is run by the sun. Best of all is this very comfortable water bed. Everyone who was dissapointed with this resort should better stay at home, I cannot imagine anything better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you so for this 5 star review guys. You are always welcome here anytime and you really made Christmas special.

We hope to see you sometime in Germany.

Regards

Tess Hunneybell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

this unplugged paradise is perfect for adventurers looking for more than just a pina colada and calypso music. from secret beaches down rocky paths to lanternside cooking with limited portsmouth produce, manicou river and her nearby town are perfect for foragers and explorers. Days filled with pothole strewn roads winding through villages filled with waving natives, nights punctuated by the heavy artillery of sheeting rain on the treehouse tin roof: bring soundproof earplugs! proprietor theresa hunneybell is hilarious and gives meaning to hospitality, and her proud comrades conrad and mrs. christmas are as warm and enchanting as they sound.

Room Tip: be sure to arrive on dominica with plenty of time to stock up on food at the saturday market. there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurenkgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Thanks for spending Christmas with us. I know it is a once a year event and so to be chosen as your preferred destination was a compliment.

Beanie weenies? LOL. I assure you that nobody uses dog meat on this island ... even the dogs ... it is actually cheaper to buy fresh Tuna steaks than dog food ... so you would have had to pay more if that was true.

That was actually a can of French Cassoulet and was being sold out of the back of a car trunk. How DID you find that? LOL.

Come back anytime guys. Whenever you need to have break from NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

This place is amazing. The treehouses are made from beautifully carved wood, and the views of Cabrits Park and Douglas Bay are spectacular. The water bed was a little strange, but comfortable nonetheless. The kitchen area was perfect and allowed us to cook a lot of our own meals so we weren’t rushed to get up and go for breakfast in the morning. The bathroom was great and if you made it home early enough the water would still be hot (it’s solar heated). Although the one rainy day we had the sun did not come out and the shower did not get hot….but for us this was not a problem at all. Also there is no electricity but there were tons of candles in the house that provided more than enough light. We loved just laying in the hammock at night reading and looking out into the night. I will say it would have been nice to have 2 hammocks so we could both have our own. And there were no bugs! Other than the occasional grasshopper or little beetle at night we had no bugs to speak of. We spent a few days at a similar open concept treehouse in Panama last year and there were a ton of bugs there. I was always worried about what I would wake up with there! But not here at all.
The owners are very friendly and Tess seemed to really want us to experience Dominica and its natural beauty, she was great and always helpful suggesting activities. We drove all over the north side of Dominica visiting rivers, swimming holes, jungles, ruins and snorkeling. And the diving here was phenomenal!
The only only only downside, which is in no way under Tess and Kevin’s control, is the neighbors dogs. The treehouses were not as isolated as I envisioned and there were a few neighbors down the hill. They all had dogs who barked and howled and yelped and barked some more. Sometimes for hours. Barking dogs is one of the sounds I just can’t stand so at times it really got to me. Even with earplugs in you could hear them clearly. I will say they usually quieted down at around bed time and didn’t really wake me up in the night.
Overall, the place was fantastic. It’s definitely geared to the independent traveller. You’ll need a car to get there and you’ll want to do some of your own cooking probably. But really, there is no better way to see Dominica than by renting a car and driving yourself. Driving was a little sketchy at first, but not as bad as we had imagined and after a couple days we were used to it. Though we were really glad we had arrived on the island in daylight. Driving at night did not seem like it would be a good experience on those windy roads with barely room for 2 vehicles to pass.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank copikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you both for such a great review. Also big thanks from CALLS, the second chance charity school in Portsmouth that I teach at for the book & cards that you very kindly brought out from Canada.

You are always welcome back here.
Tess Hunneybell xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
4.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
8.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.2 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manicou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manicou River

Property: Manicou River
Address: Tanetane, Portsmouth, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manicou River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT SINCE APRIL 2013. Manicou River is a collection of hand-crafted wooden cottages perched on the mountainside high above Douglas Bay and the Cabrits National Park on the beautiful, pristine island of Dominica. Our view is one of the best on the island, taking in mountains, the Caribbean Sea and the small town of Portsmouth below. We offer a simple, relaxing, nature experience with just the right touches of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manicou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manicou River Eco Hotel Portsmouth
Manicou River Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing