We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Wedding & Vacation Come True”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cecil, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Dream Wedding & Vacation Come True”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Me and my new wife spent two weeks at Hotel DeChamps in March this year in what was a most memorable weddiing and dream vacation. The owners Hans and Lesa have a small intimate hotel that caters to the vistor in every respect. The view from Dechamps is breath taking of the calm Carribean below and the gorgeous green mountains surrounding you. Every morning you will be treated to delightful breakfast by Manueala on the veranda which always includes fresh fruit and juice. You will soon be visited by Lesa who will make sure you have a days activity planned and a driver. The really nice touch is she will give you a complimentary cell phone with a direct link to her and the motel. Every day she made sure we went either snorkeling, touring the island, soaking in the hot sulpher springs, inner tubing down a river, fishing with a local fisherman, hiking to see waterfalls, whale watching and so many other adventures too numerous to mention. Point being she will make sure you have plenty of things to do and she will get you there and back.

The best thing about DeChamps are the people who work there. Our intent was to get married in Dominica while enjoying an intimate vacation were we could get to know the local culture and people. Well we hit the jackpot staying here. Hans and Lesa with their staff went so above and beyond what we ever could have imagined and became our family for our wedding. A few examples of how gracious they were to us.......the entire staff of 15 people walked over two miles to attend the ceremony with some of their children serving as the flower girl and ring bearer. Hans walked my bride down the aisle to me. The cooks stayed up to one in the morning the night before preparing wedding decorations, and one girl had to call Hans for a ride to the wedding because they would not let her ride the bus because she had too many flowers. We absolutely fell in love with everyone at DeChamps and it was a very tearful good bye when most of them made a special trip into work just to see us off. If you are looking for a close up personal experience look no further because the folks here are the real deal.

Mark & Cindy Kolb
Cecil, Wisconsin, USA

Room Tip: They all have a beautiful view but the upper level is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your great, thorough, and excellent 5-star rated review. It was our passion in letting your dream become a reality. Honestly, I wish we could turn back the hands of time and let your wedding happen all over again.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed yourselves to the best that you could. Thanks for complimenting all of my employees as they also enjoyed every bit of helping to plan your wedding at our Hotel.

It always feels so good to know that your hard work is recognized and appreciated by all. We hope to welcome you again in the future, to help you to have another excellent vacation.

Once more, belated congratulations with your marriage.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    56
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
79
142
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lakewood, ny
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We arrived very late but were welcomed warmly by Lise (the owner) who made sure that the dining room fed us. Our breakfasts were highlighted by Lise explaining where we shoud tour. The room was spacious and sp[otless, the food very good and the staff very helpful. We recommed The Champs Hotel.

Bruce & Joan

Room Tip: The higher floor has a bedtter view of the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbruceer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you felt satisfied with our level of service after your delayed arrival. We were happy to know that you appreciated our extensive meals and spacious clean rooms.

We felt very honored to serve you. Thank you for your great review and we hope to be able to welcome you at our Hotel in the future.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Lise is a sweetheart. The staff is wonderful. The room was comfortable. The view is incredible. I love that they give you rides into and from town. Beware of college students who have just completed finals, they're loud and like to party!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Kristin a lot of wonderful words thanks a lot. We where happy to have you as one of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our son is a student at Ross Medical School and this February my husband and I went to visit him. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Dominica and staying at The Champs for six nights was definitely a huge part of our wonderful trip! Lise and Hans (the owners) have a special place. We were picked up at the airport right on time. It was dark by the time we reached the hotel but we enjoyed a complimentary refreshment when we arrived. We awakened to a beautiful view of the Caribbean (Prince Rupert Bay) and enjoyed the delicious complimentary made to order breakfasts each morning! Lise was so very helpful in giving us suggestions (Fort Shirley, Whale watching, waterfall hikes, Indian River tour) to make the most of our time in Dominica. We really enjoyed our meals at the restaurant (My favorite was the "Lion fish" Fish and Chips!) The complimentary cell phone was very helpful when we needed to be picked up after walking to the Cabrits and around Fort Shirley. All of the staff were so very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens around the hotel and the hospitality was amazing!

Room Tip: We chose the garden level room as it was more reasonable- we had an amazing view anyway! Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Marcia, Great that you loved the Lion Fish. At The Champs we try to have a win win situation: the lion fish is killing all live in the ocean, divers from different dive centers in Dominica explained the fisher men how to catch and clean the lion fish so they can sell it to restaurants like The Champs. More live in the ocean will have a change to stay alive and divers from all over the world can keep visiting beautiful Dominica, the fisherman have an extra fish to catch and the hoteliers have a very tasty fish on their menu. We hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I spent nine nights at The Champs for a vacation planned after seeing a little bit of Dominica on a Cruise. The view from the hotel is fantastic, with long seemingly never ending sunsets in the evenings from the bar deck.

On arrival we were greeted by Lies one of the owners and given a cell phone for use while we were on the island, this proved to be a godsend as after a lot of hikes we couldn't face the walk up the hill to the hotel.

What makes The Champs a very special place to stay at is by far the staff. In all of our travels we have never been treated as well, ever. Polite and friendly understates them. Helpful, conscientious, always smiling, can't do enough for you and they never seem to fade. We were treated to a new level of hospitality. They have drivers who gladly take you anywhere locally and pick you up, all gratis. Restaurant recommendations are followed by " Do you need a ride?" Just call us and we'll pick you up when you're ready. Amazing for a small 5 room hotel to have this level of customer service.

The room we booked was a King Ocean View and it didn't disappoint, it was comfortable and spacious.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and we will be back, soon.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the largest and brightest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you Dave for your review, all the girls (ladies) send their regards. We all enjoyed the 9 days you stayed with us, it was always a pleasure to hear your adventures on the Island. Please come back and take friends with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in January 2014, I had a great experience one of the best family run hotels that I have stayed at. The scenery is to die for, you must visit the jacuzzi, you must visit Dominica as it is one f the most beautiful islands in the Caribbean . Big up to driver Jackie.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Eric,

We are indeed happy to know that your time spent at The Champs Hotel was very well spent. Thanks for your compliments of our Driver and scenery.

We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future. Thank you for your compliments and patronage.

Kind Regards
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at The Champs on two occasions to visit our daughter at Ross Univ. Medical school. The view is beautiful, the staff is very accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lise (the owner) is an outstanding host always treating us like family. My daughter became ill at one point in the semester, needed some help, and Lise helped out as if she was her own. The restaurant serves some of the best food we had on our visits. The complimentary breakfast is excellent. Lise provides a shuttle service since the hotel is up the hill. Very convenient and worth the trip just for the view. She will also provide advise about the island, and getting around. Looking forward to going back for our next visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Dear Tom,

We felt very honored to serve and accommodate yourself and your wife and would also like to thank you for such an excellent review.

It is good to know that you were happy with the advice from outstanding hostess lise. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your extensive breakfasts, the view and everything about our accommodation.

We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel on your next voyage to the island.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
488 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
855 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
148 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
227 reviews
7.9 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Property: The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing