We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my family stayed there this easter and the owners are very nice people. The staff lazia and Rita was nice making breakfast and cleaning rooms. Winston the day manager was excellent dropping us from the hotel to the beach and picking us up when we are ready. Also the night manager Barbara was good as well

Room Tip: The higher floors are much better as you get more of a view but if your in the lower one then you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great review. It was very good to know that you found our staff so very helpful and organized.

It is always good to know that your time was well spent and that you enjoyed every bit of our service. It would be a great to have you spend some time with us again.


Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel location is convenient if you are somehow related to the Ross University. The hotel is cosy and the rooms spacious and clean with great view from the balcony over the bay. The stuff was extremely helpful and service was excellent. The negative thing is that the music and partying from the hotel restaurant by the university students may disturb your sleep, but on the other hand the food in the hotel was very nice. During our stay there were plumbing issues in the hotel and in our room one sink was leaking and one was blocked. This obviously was not nice but was hopefully only temporarily.

Room Tip: Ask rooms from the upper levels to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Leena152, thank you for your review we are happy you loved our service and view. I will pass the message to our staff. As for the plumbing I can assure you this is solved, we apoligize if this caused any inconvenience. If I remember well we were changing maintenance staff and indeed had some challanges solving the problem, nevertheless plumbing issues should be solved immediately so once again we would like to apologize for this.
Best Regards, Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at "The Champs" on the recommendation of our daughter , who works at Ross University and we certainly were not disappointed. From the the minute Jackie picked us up at the airport till our return there two weeks later we couldn't fault anything at all about our stay.Lise and Hans work really hard to make this a friendly ,well run hotel where customer service is number one.
Breakfast overlooking St Rupert Bay was amazing and Lazias cheery face and eggs were well worth getting out of bed for!
Well worth mentioning is watching the sunset from the deck with one of Tarnitas cocktails. Nothing is too much trouble for all of the staff and we were able to see most of the island with the help of Lise and Hans organising our trips.We would have no hesitation in recommending " The Champs" and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks a lot for the great review, it was a pleasure to have you in our Hotel. And I can assure you Lazia loved to serve you her amazing breakfast in the mornings. If I remember well she tried to put some variations in every morning. Hope to see you all again in Dominica in The Champs. Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a truly wonderful holiday staying at de champs for 15nights. Lisse and all her staff made us very welcome. Latiza made breakfast fun and we liked our surprises. Tartanita made fab cocktails which i will miss. Food was great. Must thank Lisse for arranging our tubing adventure it was fun. We wish both Lisse and Hans the very best from Scotland. Plus points for the pickup and mobile telephone service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks guys, I loved the tubing to. We miss you all in the bar/restaurant were Tarnita is still making her amazing cocktails. I will pass the message to Lazia and Tarnita, thanks a lot. Hope to see you back.
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staying at The Champs is like staying with family. From the moment you land at the airport, to the moment you leave Dominica, you are family and loved as such.
Coming each time is like coming home.
The restaurant & bar are first class. The staff is first class also.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else.
A perfect place for parents of Ross Medical School parents to visit.
Lise & Hans make sure your visit to Dominica is filled with what you want to see & do.
Always look forward to returning to The Champs & one of the most beautiful islands ever.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2014

Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for sending us such a great, well organized review. We are happy to know that you feel at home when you stay with us at The Champs Hotel.

We were very happy to serve you. Thanks for the compliments of all our staff. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am currently a student at Ross University, so I am very familiar with De Champs. I stayed there when I was visiting the school in June of 2013 and have eaten many dinners there as well.

What makes the hotel and restaurant so amazing is that fact that the owners, Lise and Hans, are extremely involved in the business. Whether you are staying there for a week or only coming up for dinner, they make you feel like family. The rooms are very clean, with great air conditioners, and modern, Western bathrooms. The shuttle service and phone service is invaluable. The hotel will arrange islands tours, dive trips and even fishing trips.

Two of the best things to do when staying at De Champs is to have breakfast in their "breakfast nook" and eat at their Friday Fine Dining.

The breakfast nook gives you the ultimate relaxation. You hear the birds chirping, feel a gentle breeze, and have your choice of breakfast cooked right then and there. Your hot breakfast will be accompanied by fresh local fruit and tropical juices. You can see the gorgeous bay, the historical Fort Shirley, as well as the occasional hummingbird flitting about.

The Fine Dining at De Champs is probably the best food on the island. It is elegantly made by Chef Eric. There are paired wine choices, succulent steak and an amazing chocolate torte. You will also have a view of the sun setting over the Caribbean sea, truly perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. They all have a porch with deck chairs that are perfect for quietly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for such a great review. It is good that you could write such a very excellent review about your time spent here with us.

We are happy to know that you loved our view, enjoyed our extensive breakfasts, and was a part of our Friday Fine Dinings. You really seemed to enjoy every bit of the service that we provided you with.

It would be good to have you visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Outstanding experience. With Dominica being a nature-island, more travelers' support is needed which De Champ does an excellent job providing! This includes airport pickup, travel in and about Picard, and outstanding island tours. They will schedule all your activities for you, such as diving and fishing. The concierge/duty manager of the day takes great care of every detail; you're never left without total support on the island. Restaurant on site is outstanding. Food is always good, in particular Friday night fine dining and Saturday brunch is a must! Best food on the island. De Champ really increases your enjoyment of the island considerably. It's a great value for all you receive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear George K,
Thanks a lot for you raving review. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments from our guests.
We will try hard to keep our standards at the highest possible level.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
19.4 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $131 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing