We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay in the forest”
other travelers have booked this property
Private access, plenty of parking in a quiet location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private access, plenty of parking in a quiet location
A warm welcome awaits with fresh flowers, milk  and cakes! Plenty of safe, off road parking and complete privacy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Private access, plenty of parking in a quiet location
A warm welcome awaits with fresh flowers, milk  and cakes!
Plenty of safe, off road parking and complete privacy
Stairs up to the lounge
Relax in comfort while you plan your next sightseeing trip
Plenty of spacious off road parking
Bluebells in Spring are simply stunning!
Summertime is especially pretty with hundreds of picnic spots to choose from
Autumn colours are breathtaking!
We are open all year round for cosy winter breaks too!
Longer sunny days provide some spectacular sunsets!
Spotlessly clean and comfortable, wake up to morning sunshine!
Plenty of space to prepare meals to share and dine in comfort
Iconic view from nearby Symonds Yat overlooking the river Wye
Dogs are made very welcome with the use of their own bed, bowls and plenty of biscuits!
Nearby Puzzlewood, film location for the new blockbuster Star Wars film 'The Force Awakens'
See what previous guests have had to say about their stay
Wild boar run free through the forest but tend to hide away during the daylight hours!
Fancy a spot of fishing?
How about a family canoe trip?
Seeking thrills and adventure? We have it all in the Forest of Dean!
If you go down to the woods to day . . . . !
Adrenalin junkies will not be disappointed!
Nearby Tintern Abbey steeped in history
Seek out the Sculpture Trail opposite Speech House nearby
Dean Heritage Centre complete with cafe
Maybe a relaxing boat trip is more your thing?
Sit a while and enjoy the birdsong!
Plenty of thrilling MTB trails and you can cycle into the forest form here
Feed the ducks at nearby Cannop Ponds
Plenty of cycle trails for the whole family whatever your fitness level!
Second bedroom for little (or big) ones!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mclaurs
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in the forest”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We've just returned from a lovely long weekend staying at the Forest Coach House. Tracey was extremely welcoming and helpful. The place is lovely. Well presented and spotlessly clean. We couldn't have asked for more. We were even treated to cakes and wine upon arrival.

The Coach house is perfectly located for exploring the local area. We would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2014
It was lovely to meet you both. Long walks in the Forest are good fun whatever the weather but especially nice when the sun shines! Thanks for choosing the Forest Coach House and taking the time to share your lovely comments with everyone. Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happytrav...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Self Catering accommodation we've stayed in”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

You will not be disappointed should you choose to stay at the Forest Coach House . It is apparent on arrival just how much thought and care has been given to this holiday let .
It is beautifully decorated and furnished ,wonderfully warm , spotlessly clean and provides everything you could possibly need for a fantastic break .
We were met on arrival by a warm and friendly Tracey who showed us around the property and told us all we needed to know about the let , and the local area . Tracey had also left us blueberry muffins to enjoy with a cup of tea when we arrived , and a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge for later . Hadn't expected that - a very nice touch.
The property is great for dog owners , as the standard is much higher than any other dog friendly let we've been to before . Tracey leaves dog bowls , a bed , a new doggie toy ( which as I had actually forgotten to pack any was very welcome !) , and there is a very secure garden area to let your dog out into . Tilly our extremely timid cavalier even liked Ronnie and Mockie Tracey's dogs !
Would recommend visiting Goodrich Castle , Ross-on-Wye and Beechenhurst Sculpture Trail for days out .
Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and warm.
Liked least: Leaving to come home!!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2014
It's lovely meeting fellow dog owners, especially when their dog is so well behaved! I do hope to see you all back again soon and I know my two little ladies will look forward to seeing Tilly too! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review and I'm really glad you had a wonderful stay.
Best wishes
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BullyBirm...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for the Forest and area”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property is the perfect home from home base for the area. Tracey the owner has done this accommodation superbly well. She has thought of everything that you could possibly need. Tracey provided us and our dog with treats and really went the extra mile for us!
The property was very comfortable and very clean. A lovely king size bed and a beautiful bathroom. The lounge was cosy and comfortable with loads of leaflets to help you make the most of the area.
This really is the perfect base for exploring the area, either with or without a dog. There are facilities to lock up your mountain bike. Everything you could want.
If only more properties were so well appointed and as thoughtfully presented as this one.
Tracey should give master classes to other potential rental owners.
Brilliant well done

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Special welcoming treats
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. I am glad you had a great time and found the Forest Coach House a convenient place to stay. I like to make sure everything is provided so you can simply arrive, unpack and relax (nothing worse than having to scratch about trying to find a corkscrew!) Information about the local area is useful to help get the most out of a stay - however brief! I do hope you'll be back soon (with your mountain bikes next time - thousands of acres of woodland still left to explore!) Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jervis76
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a great stay at the Forest Coach House. Before and after booking Tracey responded to all of our emails and questions quickly and in a very friendly manner. On arrival there were freshly baked muffins and a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge as well as essentials such as milk, tea and coffee. There were other great little touches that made us feel at home, a sign outside the house welcoming us by name and a sign on the door to the single bedroom for our daughter.

There was lots of information on the local area and things to do in the house which was a great help. As well as the usual guest comments book Tracey also leaves a suggestions book for guests to comment on anything they think could be improved for the future; another great touch that shows how responsive she is to guests needs.

The house was clean, modern and well presented. Our daughter Mia also loved the owners two dogs and cat which she insisted we greeted every morning before we went out and every evening when we came back in. Although there isn't a great deal to see in Cinderford itself it's a great base for visiting the Forest of Dean, Wye Valley and beyond. We had a packed week and most of the attractions we visited were no more than a 30 minute drive away. Would recommend Puzzlewood, Dean Heritage Centre, Beechenhurst Lodge for a walk in the forest, Tintern Abbey and Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetland Trust in particular; all of which our (almost) 3 year old loved.

Would definitely recommend the Forest Coach House for a friendly and welcoming stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I am always delighted to hear from happy quests who have enjoyed themselves exploring the local area and beyond. I enjoy making the Forest Coach House clean and comfortable and the reviews really do make all the hard work very worthwhile. I am very proud to live in such a fabulous part of England. I will agree the town is very tired and could do with a boost - much like many towns up and down the country but what we lack in posh shops and wine bars we certainly make up for in rich heritage and friendly loyal foresters! Not to mention acres of woodland walks which are particularly spectacular when the beech trees start to turn gold from about mid-September through to Christmas. The dogs get very excited and love visitors as much as I do so we all hope to see you back again some day when you would be made very welcome. Best wishes, Tracey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapyong53
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our home in the UK”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful week staying at the coach house in July. The accommodation was lovely providing everything we could possibly need. We felt we were friends of Tracey well before we arrived in Cinderford as she emailed us regularly helping us to plan our time in the UK. We arrived tired and hungry and Tracey not only provided caked, tea,coffee and wine but gave us a light meal to tied us over to the morning. The easy proximity of so many wonderful sights and the ease of the bus service was excellent. We found the whole community friendly and welcoming but none more so than Tracey and Alfie. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the location
Liked least: Finding the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
It was a pleasure to finally meet you both and I am glad you had such a good time. Knowing that you would be so far from home, I wanted to make sure you had all the information to help you make the most of your time spent in the UK and you certainly managed to get around easily! The local buses provide an invaluable service for those wishing to leave the car behind for a relaxing journey saving you money on fuel & parking and giving you the chance to see the local area (and on top of the double deckers - a peep over the high hedges!) Best wishes to you both in Australia and thank you for choosing the Forest Coach House for your adventure in the UK, Tracey and family x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen r
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a lovely little house, perfect for two nights. All the extra touches made us feel really welcome. The dogs were a massive hit with my daughter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
It was lovely to meet you all and as you say a couple of nights is perfect at the Forest Coach House if, like yourselves you're passing through the area or for those simply wanting a quick break to recharge batteries. Our two dogs are very friendly and love meeting people so the admiration was most definitely mutual! Thank you for choosing the Forest Coach House and I hope to see you again if you're ever in the area. Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollysMum...
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just lovely...”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived to fresh muffins, flowers, milk in the fridge and a toy, treats and a dog bed for our dog. My daughter was so chuffed to see her name on her bedroom door and also the basket full of books, games and a clock. Such lovely touches that made us feel right at home. The apartment has been done so well with all homely touches throughout and everything you could think of that you might need. Tracey is only next door if you should need anything (not that we did). The information book was invaluable and had lots of local information about good walks etc. You do need to use your car to get to most of the best walks, but it is only a 5 minute drive and there are plenty of car parks. I would recommend the Gruffalo Trail and Sculpture Trail (both start at Beechenhurst Lodge) where you can take dogs and let them off the lead around the trails. Dog friendly pubs that we found were The Woodlands, which serves lovely home cooked food and amazing home made puddings, and The Speech House which also serves lovely food. Tracey made us feel very welcome and we hope to return again soon. Thank you - Dave, Kate, Holly and Tinkerbell :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you all and I am so glad Tinkerbell had so much fun in the woods (and at the pub!) The Forest of Dean is a fabulous place to explore - especially when you have a dog (and kids love it too!) Thanks for your comments, hope to see you back again when you can be sure of a warm welcome. Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing