We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New year break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of SANDERS COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View of the woods from Sanders Cottage
Doggy Heaven.Harry enjoying his walk through the bluebells in the wood opposite Sanders Cottage..
Access to the woods via wooden bridge 2 minute walk from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Escape674...
1 review
“New year break”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A very comfortable cottage with everything needed for a family stay with a dog. Conveniently located for a relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S
1 review
“Lovely cottage with Forest of Dean on the door stop”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Really nice cottage. Clean and comfortable with everything you need. Milk and biscuits provided which was a nice touch. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Log burner was great since temperature dropped to -6 on two nights, but even without this the cottage was nice and warm. My dog just loved having the Forest of Dean over the road - we had some fantastic morning walks.
Highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review.
We are pleased to hear that you found Sanders Cottage warm and comfortable.The cottage is ideal for walking with access to the woods just a two minute walk down a no through road.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you needed
Liked least: Travel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sanders Cottage and found it well equipped and comfortable.
Sanders Cottage is situated opposite woodland which is accessed by a wooden bridge a two minute walk from the cottage.Cycle trails can be picked up easily from the cottage if you bring your own cycles.
The Forest of Dean is beautiful and we are so lucky that the Wye Valley is close by.There are buses but a car makes it easier to visit all the attractions available in the Forest of Dean and surrounding area.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.We value feedback from our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
annanjim
Stocksbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage right on the edge of the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights with Tilly, our Patterdale Terrier. This converted miner's cottage is a good size and has been refurbished throughout with good quality fittings (e.g. solid pine doors and brass handles) and the owners were very welcoming and only too happy to help make our stay a pleasant one.

The cottage has a sizeable lounge which has a small dining area, a small flat-screen TV, a wood-burner with a plentiful supply of logs and french windows which open out on to the garden at the front (the rear of the cottage has skylights rather than windows as it is built into a slope). Just off the lounge is a small study with a bureau which is packed with books and tourist information. The cottage includes it's own WiFi router and I never had any problems with the bandwidth - fast response always.

The kitchen is well appointed with a built-in cooker, hob, fridge and dishwasher; there is also a fridge freezer in an adjacent room along with a microwave cooker. A family bathroom completes the ground floor. Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms, one with twin beds and one with a double bed and an en-suite shower room (which has a lovely walk-in shower with plenty of water pressure); it has plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

It is located in a cul-de-sac and about 100 yards down the lane is a footbridge which takes you over a small stream straight into the Forest of Dean, though accessing the forest from this side, the paths are quite steep. Alternatively, if you turn left at the end of the road, the "Welcome to the Forest of Dean" sign is about 200 yards up the main road.
Also, just off the main road (B4226) is the entrance to the Cinderford Linear Park which has a long, flat footpath, ideal for taking our dog a walk.

We didn't really use the cooking facilities as we ate out every night and there was no shortage of pubs which were dog friendly. The best of these was the Fountain Inn at Park end, though we had to wait a few minutes to get a table in the bar area, as dogs were not allowed in the restaurant area; the Fountain also had the best choice of meals for my wife who is vegetarian. The Rising Sun was also good, but not as good on the vegetarian offerings.

Top of the list for places we visited was Symonds Yat Rock, but Tintern Abbey was a close second. The Wye Valley is a lovely part of the world and well worth a visit - recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: En-suite shower
Liked least: TV was a bit small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sanders Cottage.
Once you have accessed the forest via the small wooden bridge you can turn left and follow the stream which is flatter and is a lovely walk.
For those of you who like to wash your clothes before travelling home we also have a washing machine and tumble dryer which can be found in the boot room.
Once again thank you taking the time to write us a lovely review.
Best wishes,
Alan & Liz Sanders
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I along with our two young children stopped at Sanders cottage for a week over Easter and were very impressed. The owner was very helpful and friendly from the moment we booked our holiday, the house had everything we needed plus more, we found it very spacious, clean and family friendly. It even has a reading room full of informative information. The price charged is extremely reasonable for the quality you get in return.

The location of Sanders cottage is perfect for exploring the area and is on a nice quiet lane next to the forest. There is so much to do in the area and we did not have time to see everything we wanted so we will be back.

I would recommend the cottage to anyone and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
We try to make sure that the cottage is comfortable and meets the needs of our guests.We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanders Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRS03...
Corscombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Super Cottage, every convenience”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

There was nothing that was not there, even down to hand soap and dishwasher tablets, not forgetting the welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, sugar and biscuits. The cottage was clean, except for the odd cobweb - but then it is that time of year, and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The owners, Liz and Alan, could not have been more helpful.
Ideally placed for both the Forest of Dean and the Wye valley.
The only thing that stops me giving it a 5* is the upstairs floorboards (downstairs is tiled) - they creak and creak, one person only has to get out during the night and the whole house is awake! Shame.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipster2...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very charming cottage ieally located for the Forest of Dean. Very well equipped, we were a family of four with bikes and it was ideal for us. Not far from local shops (would recommend the Palace cinema for a value for money cinema trip). Would love to return to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sanders Cottage and would love to welcome you back.
Best wishes,
Liz & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing