We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sophia's”
Review of Sophia's - CLOSED

Sophia's
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super Sophia's”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Absolutely wonderful - really unusual dishes as well as the standard (but very high standard) pizzas and pasta. One of us had venison liver, one had pork with apricot stuffing, one had vegetarian pizza, all delicious and very large portions so don't go mad with the delicious breads on offer with the starters like we did! Prices are very reasonable. It's a bistro style restaurant with friendly, helpful staff, you can see them preparing the food - do give it a try if you are in the Forest of Dean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jilleastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just had dinner at Sophia's and even though they had a small technical hitch with their wood burning oven our food was absolutely amazing! couldnt fault it. We both had steak cooked to order with blue Shropshire sauce and it was really really yummy. All the sides were amazing too, home made potato wedges and onion rings to die for. Steak was supposed to be a small rump steak but it was more like a large perfectly charred fillet, there was barely any fat on mine and it was so tender. The Americans know how to cook their meat!

We also had out 21 month old daughter with us and the bent over backwards to make it a really enjoyable experience, brought her crayons and brought her food out early to keep her happy when she was fussing. She had a delicious home made spaghetti bolegnese with garlic flat bread and scoffed the lot!.

Really cant say enough nice things about this place, the food, the staff and the price were all really amazing. and £9.95 for a very good house red was the icing on the cake.

recommend highly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

was recommended by friend at work and needed somewhere local for anniversary meal. read the reviews so decided to find out for ourselves. Service was good, food was excellent, cooked fresh as the menu advertised. everything lovely and clean . Would certainly visit again, and again to try the different dishes. Come on Forest locals, you should be giving this place a visit, it is well worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank suechis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A weekend family treat!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was really good to be able to take our children out for pizza in cinderford on a Friday night; On first walking in we were greated by 'Shelly, who was very welcoming and friendly! We were offered crayons for the children and a drink within 2 mins of sitting down. We ordered 2 pizzas of which both were freshly made and tasted divine; The side dishes were exactly as the menu stated and really good, We waited approximately 15-20 minutes for our food to arrive as we wanted it all together; Shelly constantly made sure we had everything we needed; We met the chef/owner and his wife of which they were very friendly and keen to make sure our visit was pleasurable and that we enjoyed our food; Great food, great atmosphere and service excellent; would highly recommend it for families; The restaurant was quiet however takeaway service seemed to be busy so not sure what the service would be like if both were busy; But will definitely be going back! and for the previous reviews i had read prior to going about it being cold, i took my coat off!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank babydolltaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth coming to Cinderford for.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am on holiday so imagine my joy to find a cosmopolitan restaurant so high above sea level in the West Country. I ordered a new yorker pizza which turned out to be chicken, sweetcorn and mushroom pizza. It was divine, my taste buds were in heaven. My partner had a Hawaiian which was great as well. We had loads of drinks and as with the pizza they were very generous with their portions. The dessert was simply superb and normally when you get a dark forest gateau type affair is very heavy but this was light with some wonderful apricot sauce.
The staff were friendly and informative.
I absolutely loved this place. Superb. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MrAMCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's also viewed

Cinderford, Forest of Dean
Cinderford, Forest of Dean
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing