We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Woodland Barn

 lounge / dining area look out upon view of River Severn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 lounge / dining area look out upon view of River Severn
Ground floor upper level leading in from driveway - Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
lounge / dining area look out upon view of River Severn
Ground floor upper level leading in from driveway - Kitchen
Ground floor upper level off the kitchen -Family Bathroom with bath and shower
Master Bedroom (double bed)
1st Floor Master bedroom En-suite with shower
Twin room
Dining area on the ground floor
Corner sofa in the living area - ground flour
Welcome pack  - fresh flowers, milk, chocolates & wine
Back of Woodland Barn with original forest stone
From Ground floor lower level to upper level external - Garden and gable end.
Secure lawned area
Patio and balcony with rural views
Winter scene
We welcome up to 2  well behaved dogs by arrangement - no extra cost!
View from master bedroom
Ground floor plan
First floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oscarliam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Love Woodland Barn. So cosy and peaceful. Beautifully decorated with absolutely everything you could possibly need there. Lovely garden and terrace for sitting in the sun.
Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Woodland Barn and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime.
Zoe & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy1993
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very well equipped barn, with fantastic views”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The barn was just right for our stay. Very cosy and as others has said, everything you need to hand. Though they did not bother us too much, the bedroom's velux windows could do with blackout blinds during Spring/Summer months as sun rises early! Wonderful views of surrounding landscape.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Hi Susan,

Thank you for your review. We have black out blinds on order and should be delivered sometime this week. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again sometime (black out blinds will be in situ!)

Best Wishes,
Zoe & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again sometime soon.

Zoe & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SueRobJoh...
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant dog friendly cottage with amazing view.”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Barn is tucked away at the edge of the town of Cinderford in a quite location with wonderful views. We arrived at sunset but as the cottage faces East the terrace was in the shade, it would have been so nice to sit out there with the bottle of wine which comes long with chocolates and flowers as a rather nice welcome from the owners.
The cottage is well equipped the only slight issue we had was one of our party found the single beds to small though he is well over 6 ft, no problem here with low beams though!
You enter the barn through the kitchen and then there is one short but steep flight of about 5 steps down to a lovely cozy lounge dinner ( table seats 6)
Also from the kitchen is another short flight of about 4 steps to both bedrooms.
One double with small but perfectly formed ensuite with a lovely powerful shower.
The other is a twin room both bedrooms have wonderful views over the Severn. The only downside to the bedrooms is they both have velux windows but no blackout blind, as they are East facing be prepared for early mornings or take eyeshades! The 2 nd again lovely bathroom is downstairs off the kitchen it has a large double ended Bath but it only has a hand held shower, so you all may need to share the shower in the master bedroom as we did.
Those of you with dogs will find there is room for an extra large dog crate and at the side of the settee room for a large dog bed as well. The outside space is ideal for dogs and children with large terrace and a lawned area to the side which can be easily blocked of by the patio chairs if required.
The location is ideal for the many Forest of Dean walks, we also went to Chepstow - closed on Sundays! Monmouth most shops open on Sundays! We also went to Symonds Yat rock and followed a walk down the rock - very steep and slippy then along the river crossing the swinging bridge to the other side where you continue the walk. There is in the loosest terms a "ferry" to get you back across the river where a cream tea awaits or a pint. Gloucester also worth a visit.
We only ate out one evening, we went to Speech House and ate in the Orangery food very good. This is a dog friendly restaurant and even has a water bowl for them.
Thoughly enjoyed our break and we know our 5 month old Labrador Retriever pup did!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Thank you for your 5* review. We hope that we can welcome you again sometime. Zoe & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation, wonderful surroundings!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Wow, can't thank you enough. We had such a fantastic time together in your beautifully presented barn and amazing dog friendly surroundings. We will be recommending to family & friends and hoping to book again in the very near future. Huge thanks once again

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay ~ Zoe & James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We hope that we can welcome you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
petal799
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay with stunning views ”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a very lovely barn with absolutely amazing views.

This is a nice base to explore the surrounding Forest of Dean and all it has to offer. I wouldn't say the village it's located in is particularly picturesque but the position of the barn makes views it offers simply stunning.

The Barn is very well equipped and tastefully decorated including a high chair and travel cot. The barn does have a number of stairs from the kitchen to the living room which my two year old mastered after the first day, however stair gates were available.

We had fresh flowers, chocolates, wine and fresh vegetables as a welcome gift for when we arrived which was a very nice surprise and helped her the holiday off to a good start.

Nice garden for the children to play in and he dog to have a run around with a nice seating area too.

We had a issue when we couldn't turn the heating down and the owners didn't hesitate in popping over to rectify which we really appreciated.

I would recommend this holiday home to anyone who wanted to explore the Forest of Dean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing