We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accomodation with an amazing view”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Woodland Barn

 lounge / dining area look out upon view of River Severn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 lounge / dining area look out upon view of River Severn
Ground floor upper level leading in from driveway - Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
lounge / dining area look out upon view of River Severn
Ground floor upper level leading in from driveway - Kitchen
Ground floor upper level off the kitchen -Family Bathroom with bath and shower
Master Bedroom (double bed)
1st Floor Master bedroom En-suite with shower
Twin room
Dining area on the ground floor
Corner sofa in the living area - ground flour
Welcome pack  - fresh flowers, milk, chocolates & wine
Back of Woodland Barn with original forest stone
From Ground floor lower level to upper level external - Garden and gable end.
Secure lawned area
Patio and balcony with rural views
Winter scene
We welcome up to 2  well behaved dogs by arrangement - no extra cost!
View from master bedroom
Ground floor plan
First floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michaela...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing view.......But it doesn't make up for the grime”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Unfortunately this place is filthy. The dirtiest place I've ever stayed in 15 years of holiday lets. Hairs in the bath plughole, windows you can barely see through. Years worth of grime on skirting boards, kitchen tiles, kitchen units etc. The paintwork is scuffed and very tired. The worst was at the side of the chest of drawers, gross!! Take a look at the attached photos. All that said, the location was idyllic especially for dog owners, and the view was to die for.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The filth
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
We are disappointed that you did not contact us at any point during your stay to let us know that our property didn't meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on responding to our guests needs throughout their stay and would have put right anything that we agreed was necessary. We always encourage feedback and to this end have passed on your comments to our cleaning team. The property is given an overhaul each year during the off season including paintwork and general maintenance. We do not recognise in any way that our prestigious property is tired or unclean. We encourage those wishing to book with us to read other reviews received this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dieingo
1 review
“Beautiful accomodation with an amazing view”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Woodland Barn offers everything you want for a time out in a beautiful setting.
The accomodation is well sized, clean and very well equipped. Shops and activities are close by. The neighbours are very friendliy and it was a real joy to spend a week in such a lovely place. Our children loved the stay and the dog was happy too.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leenickyg...
Nailsea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed for a long weekend with a friend. Very comfortable and everything we needed was provided. Lovely views from the terrace and bedroom windows. Only quibble was finding the key to actually get in on arrival. My friend arrived first and couldn't find the key and had to call the owners to get clearer instructions. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonNigh...
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful cottage with fabulous views”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed a few days in this stunning area staying in Woodland Barn. It was very well equipped and the owners had clearly put a lot of thought into the decor and fittings. My only reservation was that there were several steps down from the kitchen to the living/dining area below and carrying hot food down wasn't easy.
Being able to take our dogs was a great bonus for us and the adjacent garden is secure which was very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, comfortable place and great views
Liked least: No grab rail near bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay,its got everything you need.”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a great time,travelled around the local area it suited our family needs plus the dog.knowing your coming back to a lovely place is a good feeling.Had a lovely chilled holiday.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish S
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cottage with a fantastic view”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is very warm and cosy in a quiet area. Absolutely everything has been thought of and provided for. A very generous and extensive welcome pack including wine chocolates and fresh veg which was much appreciated. Uninterrupted beautiful view of the valley right down to the River Severn from the cottage. Perfect for dog owners lots of walking opportunities. Safe garden where our young dog could play which would also be suitable for children too. Well situated for the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley. We would definitely rent this cottage again.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed and great view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingram715
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good base to explore the lovely Forest of Dean”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We enjoyed our stay here - very warm and comfortable. A small problem we had was quickly dealt with by the owners who were very quick to respond to any query. The view from the terrace is lovely and the private, contained garden was great for our inquisitive puppy!

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing