We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting”

Sian Kaan Visitors Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sian Kaan Visitors Center
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Reviewed September 24, 2006

My husband I spent two nights in the beach front tent cabins in September. We came from Cozumel to enjoy staying in a more "natural" setting. The tent cabins were simple but nicely furnished. The setting was beatiful and romantic. My husband enjoyed napping in the hammock and I enjoyed reading while overlooking the ocean. The bathrooms, although communal, were always kept clean. It was refreshing to be away from phones and even electricity. We enjoy camping regulary, but this was upscale camping since we had a very comfortable bed with all the linens. They provide candles and matches in each room and a battery operated lantern if you want one (although the battery only lasts about an hour or so). Bring a small flashlight from home in case you need to use the bathrooms at night.

We went on the all day mangrove excursion and thoroughly enjoyed the sights, the history, floating down the mangrove, exploring the lake and swimming in a cenote. It was a highlight of our trip. The food at the restaurant was delicious.

The staff was always friendly, professional and coureous. If you needed something, all you had to do was ask. While staying there, we experienced a mishap and the staff was very responsive and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of in every way possible.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank explorista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bellingham, WA
112
Reviewed February 26, 2006

We spent four nights in the tent "palapas" at Sian Kaan. Perched above the beach amidst palm trees, with the sea breeze to keep us cool, we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. The tents are basic but clean and comfortable, with hammocks on the deck. They were still re-thatching the roofs during out stay, and when the wind picked up, the un-thatched tents were pretty noisy. Shared bathrooms were clean but the showers were salty. Food at the restaurant,Cetli, was surprisingly gourmet. Delicious, though a bit pricey compared to the bargain accommodations. The beach is fabulous, and they provide boogie boards and snorkel gear if you have the energy to swim out to the reef. We rented kayaks and toured the lagoon, which was beautiful too. All in all, a wonderful setting and a great value if you don't mind "roughing it" a bit.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank Hélène C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mikel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
0.8 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
730 reviews
99.2 mi away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 12 in Punta Allen
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Allen
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
103.4 mi away
The Ascension Bay Bed and Breakfast
78.3 mi away
Cabanas Costa del Sol Sian Kaan
Cabanas Costa del Sol Sian Kaan
#11 of 12 in Punta Allen
7 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sian Kaan Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sian Kaan Visitors Center

Address: KM 15 Carretera | Tulum-Punta Allen, Punta Allen 77509, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Number of rooms: 165

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing