We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced”

Sian Kaan Visitors Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sian Kaan Visitors Center
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

So, when you arrive at the gates of the reserve, the reps on the gate say that this is the only tour and will charge you up to U$70 per person for a 3 hour tour. This includes a boat trip to some pretty average ruins, a float trip down a river (this was fun), and 30 mins viewing Manatees. Although it was fun, it was totally over-priced. Why not drive down the road to Punta Allen and go see dolphins, turtles, amazing birds and snorkel for less than half the price?

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tadams977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

The Visitor Center at Sian Ka'an seemed like a great idea- right in the middle of the reserve with great beach access and ecotourist activities. The reality of the place leave much to be desired, though....It is VERY PRIMITIVE and not that I would mind except it is outrageously expensive on top of that. It doesn't include anything in the price- even cleaning services for your room or breakfast (which is expensive also). The rooms were thach- leaking rain and bugs all night and the lights went out around 9pm every night so you needed a flashlight (which we didn't have). It is also located at the end of a VERY bumpy, long road to Tulum so to eat anything or get water you have to drive about half an hour at 5 mph (I would recommend 4 wheel drive). That being said the scenery is incredible- the lagoon is a short walk away and there are kayaks available (for a price....) and an undeveloped beach is also a short walk. I would say you could spend one night here but no more....and be prepared to rough it and empty your wallet (at least during the high season)

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ecogreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Allen hotels

Marin, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

My husband I spent two nights in the beach front tent cabins in September. We came from Cozumel to enjoy staying in a more "natural" setting. The tent cabins were simple but nicely furnished. The setting was beatiful and romantic. My husband enjoyed napping in the hammock and I enjoyed reading while overlooking the ocean. The bathrooms, although communal, were always kept clean. It was refreshing to be away from phones and even electricity. We enjoy camping regulary, but this was upscale camping since we had a very comfortable bed with all the linens. They provide candles and matches in each room and a battery operated lantern if you want one (although the battery only lasts about an hour or so). Bring a small flashlight from home in case you need to use the bathrooms at night.

We went on the all day mangrove excursion and thoroughly enjoyed the sights, the history, floating down the mangrove, exploring the lake and swimming in a cenote. It was a highlight of our trip. The food at the restaurant was delicious.

The staff was always friendly, professional and coureous. If you needed something, all you had to do was ask. While staying there, we experienced a mishap and the staff was very responsive and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of in every way possible.

  • Liked — location & atmosphere
  • Disliked — no place to lock things up
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank explorista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2006

We spent four nights in the tent "palapas" at Sian Kaan. Perched above the beach amidst palm trees, with the sea breeze to keep us cool, we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. The tents are basic but clean and comfortable, with hammocks on the deck. They were still re-thatching the roofs during out stay, and when the wind picked up, the un-thatched tents were pretty noisy. Shared bathrooms were clean but the showers were salty. Food at the restaurant,Cetli, was surprisingly gourmet. Delicious, though a bit pricey compared to the bargain accommodations. The beach is fabulous, and they provide boogie boards and snorkel gear if you have the energy to swim out to the reef. We rented kayaks and toured the lagoon, which was beautiful too. All in all, a wonderful setting and a great value if you don't mind "roughing it" a bit.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 175 in Cancun
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#70 of 175 in Cancun
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Caribe Hotel
Plaza Caribe Hotel
#88 of 175 in Cancun
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.2 mi away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 13 in Punta Allen
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Allen
7 reviews
78.3 mi away
Cabanas Costa del Sol Sian Kaan
Cabanas Costa del Sol Sian Kaan
#11 of 13 in Punta Allen
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sian Kaan Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sian Kaan Visitors Center

Property: Sian Kaan Visitors Center
Address: KM 15 Carretera | Tulum-Punta Allen, Punta Allen 77509, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Number of rooms: 165

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing