We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fishing and great service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fishing and great service”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Me and my friend had a great time fishing Ascension Bay with the help of Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge. Please visit my blog www.jonasvildmark.se for pics.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jonasvildmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
27
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Me and my wife went to Pesca Maya in April and can't say enough great things about the experience. The location was beautiful and remote. The lodging was cool and comfortable. The food and service was impeccable. We want to thank Ricardo and the entire staff for taking such great care of us. My wife even enjoyed a message on the beach (thanks Rogelio) while I went fishing with a good friend who happened to be there at the same time. Most importantly the fishing was spectacular. Our guides were very skilled and put us in the right place all day. I swear these guys have superman eyes. We caught a lot of bones among other random species. I even had my shot at a Grand Slam turning the head of one permit and having shots at tarpon. We had the experience of a lifetime and hope to go back next year. We recommend this destination to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Had an awesome second trip after beeing away for 3 years. It was even better than before. Wilberth got us a shot at the Grand slam and although he did his job, I didn't do mine and missed 3 shots at a Tarpon.

Absolutely awesome place and trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCFlyFisher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I started going to pesca Maya 3 years ago,
And from the first time they treated me like a king...
You can not just call it a fishing lodge because the house service and food make you feel like your at a top notch hotel...
And the fishing is wonderful....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psalon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Had a very bad experience at the Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge on April 7th.
We booked fishing for 2 people at the booking-office and received e-mail confirmation
on fishing and pick-up at our Hotel.
We were picked up as arranged - we got our fishing licenses - but upon arrival at the Lodge we were met by a very negative attitude from Ricardo who said he had no booking
for us and therefore no boat or guide. The fact that we had a confirmation and were picked up at the hotel did not seem to bother him ! we sat 40 minutes at the terrasse while he provided a superb service to all the american tourists that apparatly had more luck with their bookings. Eventually we got a guide - 2 actually - and got out fishing.
The guides were useless and we ended up with a fisning day 1,5 hours shorter than
scheduled and were offered no rebate .
We will never set foot again in that place.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank phoej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbell river
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

What a day!! After a bumpy ride from tulum we arrived at pesca maya only to find flyfishing paradise.the area is absolutely breathtaking and the fishing nothing short of spectacular.
the guides are well trained in all things fly and gear fishing,and even though we were informed that due to cold weather fishing was a bit slow we managed to hook numerous bonefish ,a permit some jacks and had snook and barracuda follow our flies.we did not stay at the lodge that night but i cant wait to book a trip for next year,the lodge looks beautiful clean and well managed.A Flyfishing destination well worth checking into!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyguyCampbellriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Stayed at Pesca Maya Dec 5-12 2009. First the only bad part...the drive from Talum to Pesca Maya. It's a 1 1/2 hr ride on a VERY bumpy dirt road. But the staff, fishing and setting make up for the ride once you make it to the lodge. Our group caught Tarpon, Permit, Bonefish, Jacks, Snappers and even a 4ft saltwater crocodile. The food was excellent and the manager Jorge helped us with anything we needed. Ask to stay in the Robinson house. It's the newest house and the rooms are beautiful. I would highly recommend this fishing lodge.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaterpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
0.4 mi away
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
0.3 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#70 of 175 in Cancun
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antillano Hotel
Antillano Hotel
#112 of 175 in Cancun
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.0 mi away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 13 in Punta Allen
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oh! by Oasis
Oh! by Oasis
#32 of 175 in Cancun
400 reviews
78.1 mi away
Cabanas Costa del Sol Sian Kaan
Cabanas Costa del Sol Sian Kaan
#11 of 13 in Punta Allen
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge

Property: Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge
Address: carretera Tulum-Punta Allen km 42.5, Punta Allen 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Punta Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge opened its doors on January 1996 and has quickly become one of the Yucatan's most popular fishing destinations and with good reason. The lodge is located 90 miles south of Cancun in the 1.3 million acre Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve. Situated on a long, narrow strip of barrier beach, the lodge is virtually surrounded by water. There are 11 rooms in 3 buildings, all with A/C and private bathroom with walk-in showers, most with oceanview. Located in a solitary white sand beach, turquoise water and a magnificent coral reef at 90 yards from the beach. Serious fishing, exciting tours, beautiful spots, nice and comfortable accommodations, good food and personal attention is our mission. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pesca Maya Fishing Hotel Punta Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing