We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalos Costa del Sol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This beautiful beach property offers camping among the palm trees for around $18 usd a night (as well as individual cabañas/casitas for around $55 usd a night). While the place is very nice we weren't made very welcome (we are a Mexican family so communication wasn't an issue). We wanted to stay 3 nights but were told we probably wouldn't be able to because they were expecting other guests. We were never given any information about the restaurant so didn't eat there (we walked into to town, along the beach, instead). The shared toilets were clean but had no toilet seats and the shower had no hot water (the rooms do seem to have hot water). For the price we'd have expected more The weather was much cooler than we expected so we asked if they had a blanket we could borrow but were turned down.

Despite the lack of service, this hotel is probably the nicest place to stay in Punta Allen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very nice place to stay in rustic punta allen. Clean, comfortable, spacious, and good value. The grounds were also very picturesque with lots of hammocks and palm trees. The owner an ex- pro sport fisherman is very helpful and friendly however doesn't speak much English. The food that we tried here was also delicious the fish was exceptional one of the memorable dining experiences during a 5 week trip. The location was also good only a 5 min walk to punta allen centre.

About punta allen: Tourism has yet to catch here and it it is truly of the beaten track, however the road has recently been renewed (december 2012) so it is not as unpleasant or long as the guidebooks will have you imagine.While hear it is definitely worth going on a tour of the bioreseve. it was spectacular we saw turtles, dolphins, a manetee, beautiful nesting birds, and swam in a sandspit were there is crystal clear, luke warm, waist high water. The beach at punta allen is not really swimmable. Despite being within a bioreseve it is extremely littered with human rubbish which is a shame. Furthermore although completely natural there is allot of seaweed which gets washed up on the beach and the water is not very clear. Unless an avid fly fisher or bird watcher i would only recommend punta allen for a day trip or for a couple of days. We had a perfect two nights in punta but did feel that it was enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Bungalos Costa del Sol is a lesser known, hidden gem, just a 5-minute walk outside Punta Allen proper. The setting is lovely - right on the beach, with lots of old-growth palm trees to provide shade and areas where it's easy to swim. Accommodations are simple but comfortable, and the restaurant's somewhat limited menu offers well-prepared, delicious, mostly seafood based dishes. The Ancona family own and run the lodge, and Dona Juanita and Don Mario are genial hosts. Ours was a party of anglers and my friend June and I, left to our own devices while the guys were out on the flats, were welcomed into Dona Juanita's kitchen to learn her cooking secrets. Our group was treated to several meals off the menu which were fabulous and which June and I learned how to make. Everyone was friendly, requests were attended to immediately, and I can't recommend this place highly enough. Be sure to say hello to Nano and Chip, two of the smallest chihuahuas I've ever seen! Muchas gracias, Don Mario, Dona Juanita, Leo y Magnolia - muy, muy amable!

Room Tip: I would recommend either La Palometa or El Delfin as the "bungalos" of choice. They are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, WA
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We spent three glorious weeks at Costa del Sol. It was our third trip to Punta Allen and our second stay with the Ancona falmily. Again there are no words to describe the welcome atmosphere, food from the gods (the special Costa del Sol Fillet is our favorite!) and the beautiful grounds we are so lucky to call our "Home Away From Home".
If you're looking for tranquility and a perfect place to spend time with your family this is it. There are bicycles and an inflatable kayak to rent and enjoy the surrounding area or if you prefer to lay in a hammock in the shade and just relax look no further.
From the beautiful cabanas, rooms, and camping you will wake to the sounds of lapping waves and birds singing. Bring your own tent or rent one complete with bedding.
There are two ways to get to Punta Allen. If you drive, allow yourself three hours to get there from Tulum. The road is a bit rough in places but perfectly safe with beautiful views of Ascension Bay and the Caribbean Sea. If you are adventurous try bicycling. The alternative to driving is to take the "combi". It is an air conditioned van that leaves Tulum each day around 2:00PM, drives you in to the Sian Kaan, then takes you on a short boat ride to Punta Allen. The total time is appx. two to three hours.
We will stay with our "family" at Costa del Sol every chance we get. We miss them all and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DandMHalverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Ok. I didn't actually sleep here. But I sure wish we had! We didn't love where we were staying so we spent a day hanging here. The people were SO nice. We had the best meal we had in Mexico. The beach was wonderful, the shade of the palms amazing. My kids cried when we left to go back to our place. I would HIGHLY recommend checking this place out if you are going to Punta Allen. Two guys rode up on bikes from Tulum to camp there. It's small only a couple of cabanas and a couple of rooms, or you can camp. So quiet. So beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank alisaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I just thought I would share the new hotel website where you can make a reservation (b/c it took me 2 days to find...):
http://cabanascostadelsol.com/

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DIJASHVI_LTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, WA
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

No words can describe the welcome atmosphere and genuine kindness of our hosts.
The grounds are meticulously maintained and the beach and view from our cabana was truly out of this world. We will return to Costa del Sol as often as possible for the rest of our lives. For us, it is the ultimate retreat filled with wonderful fresh fish, beautiful fruits and vegetables, and of course plenty of cold cervesa to relax by the sea.
Thank you Mario and Juanita for allowing us to just be,"part of the family". We love you all.
Dale and Mary Halverson
Ashford, WA, USA

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandMHalverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
23.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
23.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 96 in Tulum
266 reviews
23.6 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#21 of 96 in Tulum
715 reviews
23.4 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
22.8 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#27 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalos Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalos Costa del Sol

Property: Bungalos Costa del Sol
Address: Punta Allen 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Punta Allen
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bungalos Costa Del Sol Hotel Punta Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing