We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fisherman Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sol Caribe(Punta Allen)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mukan Resort(Punta Allen)
$336
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel MangleX(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$79
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Malca(Tulum)
$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$641
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
99
10
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
10
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub grand slamhis wifeascension bayfishcaptain gregnon judgmentalwater taximolelodging experienceshallow waterthese guysbeach sidebucket listin decembergreat hostsboat ridegreat cook
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 113 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very peasant week. Super friendly, first rate establishment. Safe and clean. I've been fishing at Pt Allen for over 15 years, clearly things have evolved a lot. The entire experience was great!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great week. Missed the slam, but had multiple mult-fish days even with high winds. Guides are total pros.
Greg and Lupita treat you like long-time friends.

Food and post-fishing Margaritas outstanding!

Jon57fishing

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Thank Lupita and Greg for being such great hosts. If you go ask for Antonino, he is a very dedicated guide and love to fish!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

From the minute we arrived at Club Grand Slam and were greated our hosts Greg and Lupita we were treated more like friends than guests. The rooms in this hotel are spacious and very clean. Large patios on the upper and lower deck are excellent places to meet other guests and enjoy a cool drink after a day fishing. Lupita and Maria make every meal an exotic treat with many Mayan dishes withlocal i ngredients. It is not very often that I have found myself chasing after large permit and tarpon in a late afternoon and stopping to imagine what might be on the menu for dinner. It is truly the best food I have experienced anywhere in Mexico and also anywhere else for that matter. Fishing days start early with coffee and breakfast on the patio at about 6:30. Our guides, Fransico and Antonio stop by at 7 and with Greg we plan the days destinations based on what we would like to target that day as well as wind,weather and tides. Based on over 20 years fishing in Ascension Bay, Fransico was able to put us on top of bonefish, tarpon and permit on a regular basis. Many of the flats in Ascension Bay are ideal for extended wading hunts which is particularly exciting when stalking permit. Tarpon and snook are typically located in the mangrove forests of Santa Rosa. The fishing in these locations is from the boat as the water is a little deeper and the bottom is soft. While we were able to cast to several dozen tarpon they all seemed to have lock jaw. We jumped a couple but none to hand. Oh well, the bonefish and permit made up for this and more. The location is outstanding with a wide variety of birds and marine life on display thoughout the bay. At the end of six days of fishing we had experienced talented and experienced guides, comfortable accomodation, great food and friendly hosts. I plan to return to Ascension Bay and will definately be staying at Club Grand Slam.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent a week at Club Grand Slam in December of '11 and had such a good time that we came back for two weeks at the end of March. The accommodations, food, and fishing were as good as the first time. Well, not really. Due to the help I got from our guides on the first trip, I returned a better fisherman and got into many more fish, so that part was better.

Folks thinking of staying at Club Grand Slam should note that a recently opened hotel in Punta Allen decided to name their place Grand Slam Lodge. I'm guessing they hoped to trade on the excellent reputation that Club Grand Slam has developed over the years. They are two very different places. The Lodge is a high priced hotel with very nice, beach-side accommodations that also offers fishing to guests who want that. They dip into the pool of licensed guides in Punta Allen on an as-needed basis and, because Punta Allen guides are so good, usually hook up clients with good guides. Club Grand Slam, on the other hand is primarily a fishing operation. It's located right on the boat basin and it is owned by the guides. These particular guides--brothers who's family also own one of the town's three tiendas-- were among the very first folks in Punta Allen to take up fly fishing and the guiding of fly fishermen.They really know what they're doing. You see it in your opportunities to catch fish, but also from the respect that other guides in Punta Allen show to them.

Finally, despite the above, I'd like to say that Punta Allen is too far, and not cool, so don't go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLucky1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews