We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Sol Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Caribe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We've been visiting the Yucatan Peninsula for many years, and taking groups down with us to the Tulum area for many of them. Sol Caribe, under the management of Yvonne and Mauricio, has far surpassed any of our previous experiences. This is a peaceful, impeccably clean and beautiful place. The food is amazing! The staff are sweet, completely helpful, yet nonintrusive.
All of our needs were flexibly and graciously met. Yvonne arranged snorkeling and other trips out for us, and they were magical. Our Art of Peace group had a wonderful experience, and we WILL be back! (We wish we were going right now!)

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Just tell Yvonne what you need and you will be happy with your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is an amazingly beautiful place. Yvonne and Marizio made me feel home from the start of the stay. The rooms are spacious and very well cared for. The food is stunning and varied. It is situated in a remote place. Transportation needs to be planned beforehand. You cannot just wave down a taxi. Trips by boat are very beautiful in this nature reserve with loads of wild life.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

beautiful place. the staff were warm and welcoming. service was great. food was great. thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Sol Caribe is situated in a place just outside the main touristic area; it might take a little longer to get there, yet this quickly becomes part of the charm that surrounds this place. Seated by the blue Ocean with very fine sand (in two weeks time, I only wore shoes to leave the venue), and right at the edge of the Jungle, this is also a heaven for animals: Birds from very big to small and iguanas in particular.
It is a place that still feels true and untouched by human consumptionism - and yet with very high standard accommodation, impeccable maintenance and nurturing meals. A place that reflects the beauty and warm-hearted caring dedication of Yvonne, Mauricio and their staff, for this land and visitors alike - always keen to respond to any needs, from sipping fresh coconut to organising the most amazing boat trips. I also appreciated how they followed our needs as a group, adjusting their rhythm to ours.
This is a one-in-a-lifetime experience, which I am keen to revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanikha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I haven't spent so much time in my bathing suit since I was 10! No shoes needed! The accommodations were spacious and supremely comfortable, and so was the service! Yvonne, Mauricio and their staff made me feel like beloved family. For a get-away-from-it all resort, you won't beat this one. Yvonne is also very skilled at arranging transportation from the airport to Sol Caribe and for boat trips in and around Sian Ka'an biosphere wildlife preserve. Go!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaSunSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I've just returned home from a luscious 11 day stint at beautiful Sol Caribe in Punta Allen and can't find enough superlatives for the place and the people. The property is lovely and very quiet, situated with the beautiful blue ocean on one side and a stunning lagoon and nature preserve on the other. In addition to having a beautiful location, the property is very well managed with great customer service. Everything is good. The foods is delicious. The rooms are spacious, scrupulously clean and the beds are comfortable. . .quality linens and amenities and big. fluffy bath towels. ..the kind only find in 5 star hotels. However it is the people that make this venue truly special. Proprietors Yvonne and Mauricio are warm and welcoming and the entire staff is gracious and accommodating.

Birdwatchers will love the abundant bird live in the ajacent Sian Ka'an. I'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and the 2nd floor of the Jungle Cabanas are a favorite. The room is HUGE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenKimseyHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The natural beauty of Sol Caribe is stunning and restorative. The gated property is situated on a long stretch of beach that is continually kissed by a warm ocean . The property is impeccably managed by Yvonne and Mauricio and their caring and attentive staffs. The food was consistently local, plentiful, and delicious! The large rooms have firm beds, quality linens, and cozy beach towels that are changed daily and a large shower stall with continuous hot water and strong pressure. I returned home feeling deeply rested and grateful for the loving care I was privileged to receive. I very much look forward to returning to this ideal vacation spot soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeborahJColman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
20.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
915 reviews
21 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
19.2 mi away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#67 of 101 in Tulum
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#49 of 101 in Tulum
283 reviews
22.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#24 of 101 in Tulum
1,377 reviews
19.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Caribe

Address: Punta Allen 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Punta Allen
Price Range: $171 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, tranquil, secluded and relaxed, Sol Caribe is a small, exclusive, beachfront resort with private cabanas and suites, on the Caribbean Sea side of Mexico’s Yucatan peninsula; in the state of Quintana Roo… it is one of the last untouched corners of the Mayan Riviera with a desert island feel. Just 35 km south of the town of Tulum and 8 km from the village of Punta Allen, Sol Caribe is located within a protected oasis of extraordinary natural beauty, the Sian Ka’an Biosphere Reserve, Mexico’s largest wetland nature reserve and one of the world’s greatest fly fishing spots on Ascension Bay (Bahia de la Ascension). Explore the Mayan ruins dotting the jungle landscape, snorkel in the Great Meso-American Barrier Reef just off the beach, enjoy the fresh seafood in our beachfront restaurant,watch the sea turtles swimming in the waves… or just relax under a palapa on a white sandy beach that you have all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sol Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Caribe Hotel Punta Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing