We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, local and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballymote
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, local and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here visiting family and friends in the area and was treated very well. The hotel and bar was well kept and had nice food for dinner and breakfast. The room we had was the last one so we got a discount as it was a bit more basic than the others, but it was clean and good size beds and bathrooms. To be honest, the best thing about it is that you close to town, you get to meet the locals and it is a good base to visit the area. We will be staying again. This is the only hotel in Ballymote, and as such is the heart of the town...if you make sure that you stay here with that in mind, you cannot go wrong. We drove all around the area from here and was able to sort out a hire car easily.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teflwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

It isn't the Georges V in Paris, or The Ritz in London; it's the Coach House in Ballymote. As long as you remember that! You'll be delighted with this hotel. Clare and Feargal couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. If a score of 10 was available for service, I would have given them an 11. If you're in this part of Ireland you have to stay there. We will be going back in October

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blutac_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Coach House Hotel from 27/07/011 - 01/08/11, unlike the review below we did not have as negative an experience as they did. We were booked in for a double room and were happy to be put in in a room with a double bed and a separate single (plenty of space to put our bags!). The room was well appointed, adequately equipped and cleaned thoroughly each and every morning.
I think certain things also need to be put in to perspective, Ballymote is not a vast metropolis, it is a small market town. Yes the front desk wasn't always manned but that's what the large silver bell is for. Both my partner and I found the staff (Claire) to be pleasant and helpful and especially appreciated the breakfast times from 9am -12pm for those days when the night before had taken its toll. In terms of food we again found breakfast to be to a good standard, my partner is vegetarian and there was no issues in accommodating this. We only ever had to say which of us had tea and coffee once on our first day and the same member of staff (Claire again!) would promptly bring over two large pots each throughout our stay. There was also a generous discount on evening meals for residents which can't be sniffed at given the comparative prices in Ireland and again the food was to a good standard.
The reason for our trip was for a surprise 60th party for my partners father, we had a lovely buffet and (extra)large cake provided by staff and were well looked after throughout the night. We went to others bars in Ballymote but were also at the Coach House for the live music.
Finally on our last day we asked with sore heads from the night before what time we had to check out, you cannot put a price on being told "oh don't worry about that, you leave when your ready". With all that in mind I would have no hesitation in recommending a pleasant stay at the Coach House along with a nod of the head towards the management and staff that make it so.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ockendon essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arrived at hotel, waited 10 minutes to be seen to check in, although hotel was quiet at the time !
We were approached by an unfriendly, unprofessional woman and checked in !
We had previously booked a double room (as 2 of us) some few months prior to arriving.
We were not told until we saw the room that it was a family room ! (3 single beds) !
When we questioned this we were told (rudely) that all the rooms were full.
We had to ask about the breakfast times ourselves.
When we inspected the bathroom, it was dirty,hairs in the bath, toilet roll holder was hanging off wall, shower head broken, wouldn't stay in place, very small sink with NO plug ! There was Only a half of toilet roll supplied ! (hence in future bring your own)
In the bedroom carpet needed a proper hoover !
Beds were scruffily made.
When we had finished settling into the room, we were told that every time we left the hotel we had to leave the key at reception and wait approx. 5 mins every time to get the key back, despite being told "there is always somebody at reception", the opposite proved to be the case !
At breakfast; We ordered our food, which was almost messed up, only for the fact I repeated what I wanted. The food was very scarce and not well cooked.
We will NEVER stay there again while present management are there !
I would strongly recommend that you DON'T stay there, not value for money,also very unfriendly staff at front of house ! (Reception)

Room Tip: You probably won't get the type of room requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susan5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The room was filthy and no chef to cook evening meals, @ 6:30 pm in the evening, imagine that! The town of Ballymote is very nice indeed and it has alot of history to it but I'm afraid I cannot say the same for this hotel. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

My partner, myself and our nearly 2 year old stayed here for 2 nights for a relatives wedding, and what a great experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and made our stay a delight.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeytoesKerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

we stayed here for weekend for a party. check in was the quickest ive ever seen, place smelled lovely when came in door, staff were very friendly, as friendly as i have ever witnessed in a hotel, met all our needs, very comfortable and warm surroundings, food excellent and entertainment in bar good, goog atmosphere and room rate was deal of the century.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seancdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymote
13.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
14.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
15.2 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
12.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Grattan Street, Ballymote, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballymote
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballymote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing