We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Millhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millhouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballymote B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Millhouse was a wonderful place to stay. It was neat as a pin. The breakfasts were wonderful. My wife especially enjoyed the scones. Our bath was somewhat smallish but we weren't there to bathe. Peter and Noreen were terrific hosts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Millhouse is indeed a hidden gem, somewhat off the beaten path I think. I would like to have stayed more than one night. Peter kindly recommended nearby restaurants within walking distance for dinner. Our room was spacious and spotless and overlooked the tennis court. One convenience we appreciated was a good-sized sink and mirror in the main bedroom with another smaller sink and facilities in the actual bathroom. The home's interior reflects the couple's quiet elegance, I think, and the lawns and gardens were perfect. Delicious omelets and fresh fruit breakfasts are served in the pretty conservatory overlooking their gardens. Just a truly lovely respite!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaineCouple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

My father and I stayed at Millhouse because it was near where we were searching our roots. It is a beautiful home, has lovely custom made breakfasts, has wonderful gardens to sit in, and has the most wonderful family running it. Peter and Noreen are so helpful. They directed us to a taxi driver we hired to take us where we needed to go, gave us suggestions of who to talk to to get information about our roots, suggested meals in town and the laundromat, and the list goes on. Their 3 children are also very friendly and obliging. We enjoyed our week there so much we changed our plans and went back for another 3 days at the end of our holiday. I can't say enough about how taken care of we were.

Helpful?
1 Thank PerkyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

We have just returned from a visit to the west of Ireland where we spent two nights at the Millhouse B&B in Ballymote. This B&B is a gem - a place to which we will certainly return on a future visit. When we arrived we were greeted by a very helpful young lady who provided us with tea in the living room. She offered us some great advice on places to go for sightseeing and dining. Our room was large and spotless and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent (lots of variety and flexibility) and served in a delightful room overlooking a lush garden. The location is quite convenient - within walking distance of most pubs and restaurants in a quaint little town. The quality of this B&B was top notch and great value for money.

  • Liked — Convenient location, cleanliness and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayobrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

Just arrived home from a long weekend doing some family history research in Ballymote and was highly impressed with this gem of a B&B in Ballymote. The Mill House scores high on quality, cleanliness and friendliness. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and our host was extremly helpful with local knowledge.This is a lovely house in a beautiful setting and I can confidently recommend it.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank salfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Warm welcome from smiling young lady who brought us tea in the lounge before showing us to a delightful room overlooking lovely garden and a tennis court! The room was small but extremely clean with small ensuite. The breakfast was great- we could have a choice of cereals, porridge (delicious made with cream and cinnamon), fried bacon and eggs, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (also delicious) and several other things. Freshly made toast and pot of coffee, all taken in lovely glass walled conservatory looking out at the garden. Ballymote is a pleasant little town about 5 miles to the SW of Sligo town.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymote
0.0 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballymote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rowanville Lodge
Rowanville Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coopershill House
Coopershill House
#1 of 1 in Riverstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benbulben Farmhouse B&B
Benbulben Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 3 in Drumcliff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Coolaney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millhouse B&B

Property: Millhouse B&B
Address: Ballymote, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballymote
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millhouse B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millhouse is an awarding winning Bed and Breakfast situated in Ballymote town County Sligo and within walking distance of pubs and restaurants. Millhouse B&B has won the A.I.B. best overall award winning superb family home. Galtee Breakfast award and Recommended by Brittany Ferries & Mitchlen, recipient of a merit award in 2004 Failte Ireland Irish Welcome Awards. It has a private tennis court, TV in bedrooms. An ideal touring base for Northwest Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Millhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing