We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely restful break”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marcay, Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
42Yaya
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restful break”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

An absolutely delightful place to stay.

The owners, whose home is on site, made us feel welcome and were on hand should we need anything but were not intrusive in any way.

The property, in real life, is a good as it appears in the photographs. It is very well appointed and presented, providing everything you could possible need.

We would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
It was good to see guests taking time to relax in the cottage and garden, enjoying the change in scenery and atmosphere.
Many thanks for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornogso...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful rural retreat”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely farmhouse conversion in the middle of the Loire countryside. The pictures on Tripadvisor really do not do this place justice. It is an immaculate and extremely comfortable base from which to explore the nearby attractions and Jacques and Sandi could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
It's a pleasure to see that guests have appreciated all that both this part of the Loire valley and the Cottage have to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pod1965
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a place in the perfect location”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent an idyllic week in the Loire Valley with my parents and really didn't want to come home. We didn't know the area well but Chinon seemed like a fairly central place and so it was by chance that we landed on Domaine de Beauvais. We are so glad that we did. The gite is absolutely beautiful, the cleanliness and attention to detail is second to none and there was nothing that we could want that wasn't provided. we even had fresh cherries for breakfast everyday from the tree in the garden. As others have said the stairs to the bedrooms are steep and there are low beams which give the gite its character, but with careful allocation of bedrooms both my elderly parents and my 6'6" husband all managed fine!
Jacques and Sandy are lovely and the perfect hosts. Always there if you want them but not in constant attendance - and a great source of knowledge on where to go for - including for the best wine in the area (Easy when there is such a superb producer - Bruno Preveaux - right on the doorstep.)
We could have spent the whole week just in the gite gardens moving from one beautiful seating area to another and taking in the views, but it is also an ideal location for exploring the Loire valley. If you want to go to some of the better known and more touristy chateaux such as Amboise and Chenonceau then it can be a long day out (About 1.5 hours each way unless you take the scenic route) but well worth doing. However there are numerous lesser known and therefore less busy Chateaux and Abbeys right on the doorstep as well as markets, vineyards and troglodyte dwellings.
All in all we can't wait to go back and stay again.. and to try some more of Bruno's wine!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
This is a truly interesting and pleasant part of France and it is good to read that our guests were able to appreciate it and the Gîte. There is more to explore so we look forward to your Return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia D
1 review
“Wow! This was the best vacation place ever!!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The accommodations: Mind-blowing, fantastic, gorgeous setting. The main house dates to the 1200's and serves as home to the two owners, Jacques & Sandi, who lovingly restored the place. Ivy covered ancient stone walls and flowers galore! The guest house is yours – with a full kitchen, dining room, living room and two bedrooms with adjacent bathrooms upstairs (via separate spiral staircases), awesome! It is surrounded by fields of barley, distant hills and neighboring farm houses. We would sit outside on the delightful patio, have our wine and cheese, and watch the sunset over the beautiful view at 9:30pm! The owners are delightful people who you will want to keep in your lives.

The setting: It’s in the middle of wine country in the heart of the Loire Valley, surrounded by rolling hills, vineyards, small storybook towns, chateaus, abbeys, and castles! Glorious!

Easy to get to from De Gaulle airport in your rental car (get a hybrid!), just a few hours drive. Easy access to sites in every direction, from local vineyards and chateaus, to more distant fortresses, abbeys, cathedrals and the coast.

Nearby supermarket with endless supply of fresh French bread, cheeses, wine!

Thanks to Jacques and Sandi and their extraordinary Domaine du Beauvais, we had the best vacation of our lives! We intend to return….

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind and generous comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of what is a very nice part of France. Hopefully we will see you again and look forward to it.
All our best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril L
1 review
“Beautiful & peaceful”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have spent 5 days in Ms and Mr Mesner's property in April. The house is absolutely beautiful, well maintained, nicely furnished. It is also very peaceful, an ideal place to forget about hectic lifestyle we are used to. We enjoyed the garden and the view very much, after a busy day spent visiting castles and Abbeys. Mr Mesner gave us a lot of insightful advice on places to see. It was a trip filled with history and wonder, reflected as well in the solid stone walls of the property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Allways good the hear that guests had a good time, appreciated the house and were able to experience some of the great things the area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful Domaine de Beauvais beautiful property in beautiful area top marks.”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our friends , my wife and I had a lovely holiday based in the Domaine de Beauvais which is located about 10 kilometers ( 10 mins drive) South of the charming town of Chinon in the middle of the Loire valley.
We chose the cottage for our stay because there were two bedrooms both with en-suit bathrooms ( a rare find anywhere let alone France!). We also chose it because of the trip advisor reviews and thus expected a high standard of accommodation and fittings. We were not disappointed, the cottage was spacious, comfortable with outstanding kitchen facilities and equipment. If you planned to do your own cooking you would easily be able to produce many tasty meals from the wide range of fresh local produce. We enjoyed lazy breakfasts ( fresh bread, croissant, patisseries, cheese and cold meats, fresh melons, apricots, and peaches etc.etc. ) visited interesting Chateaux during the day. After relaxing ( drinkies) in the garden or on one of the two patios we then enjoyed excellent evening meals in several of the Chinon Restaurants.
We received a lovely welcome from our hosts Jacques and Sandi who not only made us feel at home but were generous with their time when advising us about the local area, chateaus and helping by advising and booking tables at the local restaurants.
Too good to be true you're thinking there's got to be a down side? if you have mobility problems then you need to be aware of the wooden spiral style stairs (to both bedrooms and thus toilets) and low beams in the smaller bedroom which although "quaint" does restrict movement about the room.( see pics).
If you're reasonably active then this shouldn't be an issue and you will have a relaxing and enjoyable stay as the guests of Jacquesand Sandi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall setting of comfortable cottage with the grounds.
Liked least: Restricted second bedroom. No door between bedroom and en-suit area.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As you point out, the area around is great to explore and enjoy all that is available, as well as just relaxing. Your comments re the stairs and beams are noted. When one restores old buildings the choices that invariably have to be made between the period elements and modern use lead to compromises that may not always be ideal and that hopefully dont distract from ones enjoyment of the place
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Gaz...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage with lovely garden areas”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four throughly enjoyed our weeks stay at Domaine de Beauvais. The house is beautifully decorated to a high standard with a good size lounge area with two zones, one for reading overlooking the open fireplace and one for TV. The kitchen is well planned with quality appliances, including a good quality coffee machine. Both bedrooms are a good size and very comfortable with quality linen and each with a stylish ensuite. The only note to make is that the bedrooms are at opposite end of the house, this worked fine with our kids as they are confident on stairs and not too fussed being too far away from us, but I would exercise caution with very young children. The dining room is large and great for meals with glass doors opening onto a paved outdoor eating area and huge garden. We also had use of the laundry which was useful. Jacques our host was incredibly helpful and had a great knowledge and printed resources covering the area and what it has to offer. Each day we took a trip (chateaus, nearby towns, the zoo, wine tasting, tank museum) and by night we enjoyed sitting by the fire relaxing. There was so much to do in the area that we really could have done with and extra 2-3 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate presentation and cosy atmosphere. The garden in summer will be fabulous!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate both the area and the Domaine de Beauvais. Your remark regarding very young children is noted, we will be sure to warn potential customers when we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing