We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good but......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Marcay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau de Marcay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good but......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Usually one of my favourite places (and the pool area, when quiet, still is!), we arrived at the Chateau de Marcay after a long and tiring drive to be assailed on all sides by screaming children...so much for the much looked forward to oasis of calm. "Not their fault" said my friend - well, certainly not mine as I wisely and considerately decided not to have any.....

However there are definite up sides. Our room was for three - what a sensible idea - with the second room a small single up some stairs in the chateau's turret.....delightfully romantic! There was also a large, well-equipped bathroom but both the bathroom and the main bedroom lacked the 'wow' factor and seem to have seen better days.

What the Chateau de Marcay is about is food and again, though lovely, it was slightly subdued and without 'star' (literally!) quality. The amuse-bouche was a rather fishy tasting sardine which did not get my juices going! The first course was a lovely gambas tartare on an apple jelly (how chefs love their jellies and their foams) then locally reared pork (cooked sous-vide....ditto)
Finally a delicious rasberry pudding with very undelicious, over sweet chocolate blobs.

The barman was fabulous (I think our Bloody Marys were the high point of our evening), the sommelier ditto (and what great wines we had at his suggestion) and the lady maitre d' utterly charming.

Not sure whether I'll be going again-probably but they have to up their game (slightly) if they want to be in the 'completely unmissable' league.

Room Tip: If you want a room for 3, ask for room 21-it has a dellightful extra single room (very small, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for taking time to write a comment. We are glad you appreciated your room and our property. We are really sorry for the noise made by children at the pool, do not hesitate to tell us at the time so we can say a few words to parents... We regret that the kitchen has not answered all your expectations, despite the fact that all our products are fresh and prepared on request
We hope to welcome you again at the Château de Marçay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    140
    34
    16
    5
See reviews for
74
313
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Oh my!!! We stayed in Room 45. After all the hustle and bustle of Paris, this was so welcoming!! Truly, in the countryside, corn, wheat, sunflower fields and vineyards surround the Chateau. The grounds are immaculate. Our room was very spacious and we also had a small courtyard to sit in the evenings. The people there were very friendly and helpful as well. Stephanie, the general manager made us feel most welcome and we could tell she pours her heart and soul (and a lot of sweat, a very hard worker) into the Chateau. Their Michelin rated restaurant was most amazing. I think we enjoyed a 6 course meal. Our second to last course was a cheese cart with at least 20 different cheeses on it. Very impressed!!! The only thing that was somewhat of a problem was the people above us had small children and would run through the room very early in the mornings and it sounded like elephants were up there. We should have said something, but didn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardigrasmama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Mardigrasmama_10,
I would like to thank you very much for your nice comment, I share with my team.
We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the children, do not hesitate to tell us next time so we could act accordingly and make your stay a perfect time.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

A homey chateau, located in a quiet town with vast fields. Perfect for a relaxing weekend getaway. We stayed in a superior room, which is surpisingly spaceous. The bathroom is huge and lovely. The only negative points though are there's no internet connection in the bedrooms (common areas only) and no air conditioner (which is not ideal during summer). The breakfast/brunch is heavenly. Servers and staffers are warm and friendly, almost felt like you're not in France.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dora_d_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Dora_d_explorer,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write this so nice comment. We are pleased you had a relaxing stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you.
Indeed, it is very difficult to integrate WiFi in this beautiful old castle (the walls are incredibly thick and we have no possible technical solution to this day). And it is the same reasons for air conditioning.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Quite simply, this was not worth the €265 a night we paid. The chateau is incredibly beautiful from the outside but the service and facilities inside falls very short. As we entered the chateau the first time, we were greeted rudely at the front desk who treated us as though we should't have come in the first place. He then sent an over worked girl to help with our bags, which meant putting the bags in a lift which could only fit 2 of our bags. It was so small that no one could go in it, they could only send the 2 bags up. If you have a buggy, well, you might want to leave it in the car. On top of all that it was sweltering hot inside and outside this castle. After all the wonderful hotels we had stayed at in France we thought this chateau would be the pinnacle of our stay. We were wrong.
Its worth taking note, its a castle, it has no air conditioning. We stayed just last week when it was incredibly hot, needless to say the room was boiling. There was only one window and a fan in the room - there was no way to cool the room down. We asked if there were air conditioned rooms in the chateau, the staff looked at me incredulously and said " This is a castle". For the price I imagined a good night's sleep and good hospitality was a guarantee.
There is no kettle to boil water either in the room. They did provide us with a bottle warmer to warm out baby's bottle up though.
The next morning, housekeeping knocked on our door to clean our room. I asked very nicely to please come back later. She then angrily asked when she should come back (I am not exaggerating) I said we will be out in an hour (which was 11am) , she looked shocked, shrugged her shoulder and told me rudely ok. I really did not understand why this was such a big deal. Keep in mind this is meant to be a top notch facility according to the website.
In essence when you go to stay somewhere the last thing you want to worry about is the front desk, the staff, housekeeping etc. A stay is meant to be hassle-free and seamless. Especially at these prices. All I can say is we felt unwelcome, unhappy, tired because of the sleepless nights in our hot room, unsatisfied and ripped off because there was nobody we could approach to help us.
I am giving the 1 star because it was a beautiful chateau to look at from the pool, which was lovely to swim in during the warm summer days.
I would advise you to check and double check if they have all you think you will have for what you are paying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Svanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Svanie,
Thank you for taking the time to write a post on our Château.
We are sorry if your stay did not meet your expectations. Indeed, it was so hot for a week and we have not air conditioning, it is in fact technically very complicated in a castle like ours to install a system.
We regret that the housekeepers awakened you, and we apologize for that.
I am personally every day without exception the castle and the restaurant, I regret that you have not informed me because I might be able to do something. The satisfaction of our clients is our priority even if some failures may occur, we do my best to find solutions
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way south with our two children, check in was smooth and professional and our room was gorgeous we had our own garden which was a nice thing for our children.
The quality of the furnishings and the personal touches in the room were very good ,the pool was lovely very warm and very nice gin and tonic was only a phone call away using the pool side phone.
Service is excellent throughout our evening meal served on the terrace was very good drinks beforehand were served on the bar terrace wine choice is very good and food was first rate, our children were catered for very well and made to feel welcome by all the staff.
Breakfast was very good the usual fare served in nice surroundings.
Would I return? Without a doubt, was it expensive well you get what you pay for and this is a slice of luxury, go and enjoy this wonderful chateau.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden are great for family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stewarttayl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Expona,
We really would like to thank you for taking time to write this so nice comment. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you again on your next stay in Touraine.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here as part of a bicycling trip in the Loire Valley the middle of July. Riding through the vineyards and sun flower fields and coming to the chateau in the late afternoon with dark clouds in the distance, and the sun shining on the chateau took my breath away. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room on the third floor, (fourth floor in France) was clean, quiet and comfortable. The only sounds we heard were the pigeons under the rafters. The bathroom, up a step into the turret, was very large, modern with rustic details of exposed wood beams of the turret roof. We did use the heated pool and then relaxed with a glass of wine in the lounge. We also walked around the grounds and found the back kitchen garden in gorgeous full-bloom. Dinner a prix fixe menu was very good. The wine list was fairly extensive including wines of the chateau vineyard. We chose to have a wine from the chateau vineyard. It was a good choice. Breakfast across the courtyard in a stone building had many typical items to choose from including pastries, eggs, meats, and cheeses. My only regret-- we stayed here only one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Clients,
We really would like to thank you for taking time to write this so nice comment. We are pleased you had a good stay at the Château de Marçay, and if your only regret is for staying just one night, please come visit us again!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I just got back from almost 3 weeks in France, starting in Paris and ending in Nice. We stayed at various hotels and chateaus along our trip and Château de Marçay was one of our favorites. Our room was very large on the first floor with a private courtyard. Everyone was very nice, the food was great and it is in a good central location for site seeing. It is in very quiet, calm setting which we enjoyed. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSmith13875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Clients,
We really would like to thank you for taking time to write this so nice comment. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you! We hope to see you again on your next stay at the Château de Marçay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcay
4.7 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
21.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
24.9 mi away
Chateau de Beauvois
Chateau de Beauvois
#2 of 2 in Luynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Marcay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Marcay

Property: Chateau de Marcay
Address: Route du Chateau, 37500 Marcay, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon > Marcay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Marcay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau De Marcay is located in the village of Marcay. The hotel has extensive gardens and an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and gastronomic restaurant. The 15th century Chateau offers large guestrooms with traditional upholstery and free Wi-Fi. The Chateau De Marcay's restaurant serves gourmet cuisine with seasonal ingredients from the kitchen garden. Guests can tour the Chateau's 12 000 bottle cellar and sample the fine wines. The Chateau De Marcay is 8 kilometres from Chinon's ancient fort on the river Vienne. It's also an ideal base for hiking and cycling routes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Marcay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Marcay Chinon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing