We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming in our pee”
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Brandon B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Swimming in our pee”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our room was serviced only once out of 7 days we stayed.The bed sheets and mattresses were old and dirty. Poor lighting, with old carpet. The worst part was the toilet. which was falling apart, there was water everywhere and smell like pee really bad. Shower wasn't working properly either. They never replaced the coffee or the hand soap, or changed the towels. Breakfast which was included had a poor selection, besides it was served cold and you can tell it was not fresh. When we complain the manager or whatever he was, did not eve look at us, he rather ignored us and played with his cellphone pretending we were not there.

We travel through UK but this one was a joke, they shouldn't even be allowed to have a permit to run this awful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear AngelaCF,

It is not our policy to respond to Tripadvisor comments however having read your review we feel that we must due to information being inaccurate.

If you have stayed at the Bay Horse Inn, Brandon Village Durham then you must have your days confused because in the 9 weeks I have been manager here I have not had anybody stay for 7 nights.

Also the rooms are serviced by my wife every single day and are all extremeley clean. Coffee, tea and milks in rooms are also replenished daily and this is part of the housekeeping routine.

Breakfasts are cooked to order every morning and are certainly not served cold.

You have stated that the manager was playing with his 'cellphone' and ignoring you. I have not received a complaint and mobile telephones are not allowed to be used by staff while they are working. If you had stayed with us and made a complaint I can assure you that you would have received my full attention and your complaint would have hopefully been resolved.


You have also stated that the 'place is expensive' which is an unusual comment as drinks and food here represent excellent value for money and prices are lower than any other establishment in the area.

I would be very interested to hear from you to confirm that this is a genuine review and to discuss it further.

You can contact me on +44191 3780498 or vis facebook.com/bayhorsedh7.

Kind regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    144
    56
    26
    22
See reviews for
50
199
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on the Kgb deal did not know what to expect for the monies paid, but what a suprise yes the rooms are a little dated but were clean and warm we had a four poster bed in our room, it was great being able to park outside the door. We decided to have our meal on the first night this was included in the price, my husband and I both chose to have the steak Omg it had to be one of the best steaks that we have had for a long time the presentation and ingredients were delightful, we decided to have a desert once again delightful and portion sizes are not for the faint hearted,
The next day we had thought about eating out in Durham but after the meal on the previous night we decided to eat in the pub again once again the food was amazing. THANKS for a lovely weekend and we wish you well in the business we understand that you only took over 8 weeks ago but very well done to you and all your staff

Room Tip: We had room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My parents stay on a deal on a Tuesday and Wednesday in December. The food was excellent and my father said the steak pie was the best he has ever tasted! Quiz night was popular on Wednesday and all the regulars were very friendly.

Steak and breakfast were also great. Slight delay on breakfast one day but the extra portions served more than made up for this.

They would definitely return and I most admit I fancy a stay myself.

Special thanks to the new manager who made them very welcome and is doing a great job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Potts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay booked through a KGB deal at this excellent village pub. We have been to several places through this kind of deal over the past couple of years but in terms of value for money none were better!. The room was large, en suite and clean with a wonderful 4 poster bed. We ate on both nights in the pub and the portions were big (don't have a starter if you intend having a sweet!!) Food was very good indeed as was the complimentary bottle of shiraz included in the deal.
The pub itself is a great base for exploring places like Sunderland as well as Durham for which we used the good Park & Ride system.
Richard and Melissa are new to the pub and along with Stephen who served our food in the bar they were excellent hosts.The beer was excellent too. (I can recommend the Winter Warmer). All in all a great 2 day break. Thanks guys. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've just returned home after a 3 night stay in this friendly and welcoming village pub, using a KGB deal. Everything about the place deserves a 5 star award.
The food is well prepared and excellent value, both at breakfast and evening meal. The rooms are well fitted, with comfy beds and large shower room, and warm and cosy too. We were in number 1, which, along with the other rooms, were very close to the pub and yet physically separated from it ensuring a really quiet experience both in the day and particularly at night. Being able to park ones car right outside your room was a big plus point, especially in poor weather.
All the staff are friendly and most courteous and helpful. In fact we'd say it's better value all round than a 5 star hotel (well, the few we've stayed in).
Don't worry about car parking in Durham city itself; either use public transport or, as we did, drive to the "Park & Ride", only £2 return to the town centre.
The young manager is new to the pub and we wish him and his team every success in their venture.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harveysden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an old pub with separate accomodation at the back arranged in an "L" shape around the car park.The rooms are clean and warm with en-suite facilities.They are however more basic than luxurious.We spent 3 nights on a KGB voucher which also included a free meal and a bottle of wine on the first night.For the price we paid it was exceptional value.Being only a couple of miles from Durham City it is a good base to explore thelocal area.We also ate there on nights 2 and 3.The pub grub was cheap and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked a two night stay with KGB deal and was quite nervous about what to expect, but we really enjoyed it. The room was very dated, but clean and presentable. The ensuite was huge, but I feel the size of the shower could of been bigger, it looked lost in the corner and the shower itself wasn't the best. The free meal and bottle of wine on the first night was absolutely fantastic! Rich and all the staff were really friendly. The breakfasts weren't very well organised and we had to ask for milk for our coffee and a second tea spoon. The parking is brilliant, if you lucky you can park right outside your room. Was very close to Durham centre. Only negative thing I can comment on is that the central heating was set to come on at specific times, once in the evening and again in the morning, so when we arrived, it was freeeezing in the room and had to wait for a couple of hours before the heating came on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
2.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
3.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing