We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Cardo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel del Cardo
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Valdidentro
Certificate of Excellence
sasso marconi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely people.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have been there various times and I have always found a nice environment, good food and a more yhan reasonable price.
Well, itsn't so close to the main centers, like Bormio, (a distance of 3.4 Km.) or Livigno (7-8 Km.), but one can reach both places in a few minutes, with the advantage of not being in the caos of those centers. This is a definite advantage for those people who like to relax and a disadvantage for those who like to share day and night life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    69
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
56
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

It was one of my best ski holidays. The stuff is very kind, they do their best to make your holiday as perfect as it can be.
We had a room in the old building. It was clean and comfortable, but a bit old fashioned.
The kitchen is absolutely the best I've ever tasted in such a hotel. If we had any special wish, it was on our plate for the next day.
I felt myself as I was at one of my friends place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Encus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We have just spent 3 days at the Hotel del Cardo and here are our thoughts:

The room:
We had a room in the old building facing the street (room 104).
The room was clean but well worn, 25 years out-of-date and uncomfortably small. The bathroom was almost too tight to change clothes in. All day long huge motorcycles were roaring up and down the busy street just a few meters away (contrary to their web page which mentiones "Hospitality, joy and quietness"). One motorcycle was so loud it set off car-alarms as it passed. On the positive side, the view from our balcony was very nice.

The food:
We had breakfast and dinner included in our plan... again because of the enticing web page we had high hopes but in reality there were no "eggs, cheese, sausages and fruit" or "bread just taken out of the oven" at the breakfast bar as promised. The breakfast bar was very disappointing. Dinner was OK. Again not nearly what we were expecting from the description on the web page. There simply was no "vegetable and salad buffet" . We had a choice from 2 courses not 4 (the first night there were no choices at all... the food was just served to us as it came out of the kitchen). The "one of many tempting sweets" turned out to be a choice between 2 desserts on the last night. The other nights we just got what they served. Bottom line: the food was home cooked and wholesome but not inspired or particularly abundant.

The staff:
Friendly and helpful and we fell in love with Giulio the cat.

In summary:
I have no idea how this hotel received 3 stars. It is not that it is unpleasant...it is really more of a budget level hotel that is dated and slighty dumpy. It was a fair value but the web page is completely deceptive and that makes us unhappy with the experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edorovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monfalcone, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

We had to book a halfboard, even if we really didn't need it.
The dinner food was awful, and the service as well.
To be a 3 stars rated, the room were just as normal, not special(we got the renovated ones).
The breakfast was miserable, and coffe cannot be called like this.
Clearnes smoke everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ciply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdidentro hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#9 of 12 in Valdidentro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpen Hotel Chalet
Alpen Hotel Chalet
#1 of 12 in Valdidentro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Interalpen
Hotel Interalpen
#4 of 12 in Valdidentro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#5 of 12 in Valdidentro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Li Arnoga
Hotel Li Arnoga
#8 of 12 in Valdidentro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence La Val
Hotel Residence La Val
#7 of 12 in Valdidentro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Cardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Cardo

Property: Hotel del Cardo
Address: Via Cima Piazzi 80 | Semogo, 23038, Valdidentro, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Valdidentro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Valdidentro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valdidentro
#5 Spa Hotel in Valdidentro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Cardo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel del Cardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Cardo Italy/Valdidentro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing