We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Handy for ferry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barakaldo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Handy for ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have used this hotel for stopping overnight after arriving at Bilbao from Portsmouth. It is relatively easy to find coming from the ferry terminal and is close to the main motorways to enable a quick start to be made in the morning. Clean pleasant rooms and a very handy underground carpark make it a good place to start or end your trip to Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPW413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy to know that you appreciated our hotel service and facilities.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    324
    176
    59
    22
See reviews for
378
163
32
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

good location for shopping and exibition centre. lovely pool area and safe basement parking. clean tidy hotel

easy access to motorway. no problem in chosing to use again if needed

big hotel so reception can get busy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy to know that you appreciated our hotel service and facilities.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We only stayed one night on our travels from the algarve to Cherbourg. The hotel is situated very near the Guggenheim BEC centre and also amoungst quite a few big named shops! Its in quite a nice area. When we arrived we were shown the underground car parking which was a must with our car stuffed to capacity. It does cost 12 euros but its worth it. We were looked after very quickly at reception, told what we needed to know and then we went to our room. We had booked a room with a double bed and a bed for our daughter which was a double sofa bed. Room is'nt the biggest in the world but it did us for the short stay. Bathroom lovely and clean. There is an outdoor pool which is FREEZING but we gave it a shot. No changing area which was'nt great as you have to walk through the hotel to get changed in your room. As with alot of hotels we noticed here too they have doors that bang on closing and the walls seemed to be paper thin. But we had a good sleep with no real distrubstances. Breakfast was lovely and served until 11am. All in all I would stay here again, the staff were nice especially Mr, Gnomes on reception, the hotel was clean and modern and the area was just fine.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I would like to thank you for for taking the time to write your comments concerning your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy that you had a nice stay and you appreciated the service and facilities proposed by the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

All hotels in Bilbao were busy so we booked this hotel approx. 7km from Bilbao city centre. It cost € 18 to get to the centre by taxi.
It is an excellent hotel at a reasonable price. Breakfast for € 14 was worth the money. The restaurant way above average quality and better than what we could experience in Bilbao city centre.
The mattresses in the bed were made of foam rubber and our backs did not like that, but for one night it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelissimoMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy to know that you appreciated our hotel service and facilities.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed there a couple of days during a business trip to the exhibition centre. It is very close by, which is convenient. This part of Bilbao is easily accesible through the metro. The Barakaldo city centre is perhaps less exciting than the main one, but there are some restaurants. The hotel was clean with normal sized rooms. I had working internet connection and the breakfast was rather nice. I didn't try dinner at the hotel.

The price is acceptable, but not particularly cheap. Friendly and helpful staff!

Overall, ok hotel! Good if you need to go to the exhibition centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am happy to know that you had a nice stay and you appreciated our hotel service and facilities. Be sure I'll inform the Team about your postive feedback.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the way through to Portugal and back again when returning to Calais. The access to the secure car parking was a real challenge to find (one way system meant you had to travel up the road and come around the back - took us two attemtps with instructions) and the 12 euro charge was really unnecessary. No response to a poorly maintained sliding door (I was the only one in our family that could push it open just!) during our first stay didn't leave the best first impression - reported to reception early on arrival and on leaving. We asked for a more suitable bed/seatee (similar to those in La Rochelle, Novotel with two separate beds are built into the same seatee) to split up our Son and Daughter sleeping together however no options were available when the reception was asked.

Reception staff were very helpful especially when we had asked about the location of our next Novotel booked in Poitners in France and providing a replacement for our TV remote control that didn't work.

The breakfast room was very spacious and there was an excellent choice of options for our family.

Small swimming pool at the rear was not used on our two stays - maybe next time!

Handy MacDonalds within five mins walk from the Hotel if you fancy a change from the Hotel menu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. We take in account your appreciations and keep working on improving the quality of our facilities and services. Please, be sure I'll pass your positive comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed there one night as part of a COSMOS tour, the room was a nice surprise, it was spacious, had a couch and the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower. You can always tell what a breakfast is going to be like by the quality of the orange juice, in this case it was freshly squeezed. The pool was fairly small and the weather didnt make it inviting enough to go in and try it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovBio, General Manager at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center. I am delighted to know that you appreciated our hotel service and facilities.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barakaldo
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
#1 of 3 in Barakaldo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bilbao Barakaldo
4.8 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
4.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao
3.0 mi away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center

Property: Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
Address: Rio Castanos, 2, 48903 Barakaldo, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Barakaldo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barakaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bilbao Barakaldo is located across from the Bilbao Exhibition Centre (BEC), 15 minutes from Loiu airport and 10 minutes from the centre of Bilbao. Easy to reach via the A8 Santander Bilbao motorway, the hotel is 200 m from the train station and close to the MAX CENTER shopping complex. This 4 star hotel is ideal for business or leisure travel and features 203 rooms, 6 meeting rooms, the Mediterranean restaurant Claravia and the Ibaia bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Hotel Barakaldo
Accor Bilbao Barakaldo
Novotel Barakaldo
Barakaldo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing