We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Luces
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2010

great food, great service, fabulous views, lovely architecture. Great with kids. 2 adjoining room both very spacious. Great pool. Very quiet but not in a strange way. VERY clean

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank converted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed here in August 2008 and I cannot understand its five star rating.

The hotel is pervaded by the smell of cow manure from a nearby farm, there is piped music in all the areas - swimming pool, outside the swimming pool area, in the corridors and in the restuarant.

The rooms are fine - and the bathrooms are great, but it is expensive. Including the evening meal I spent 400 euros for one night, in comparison to what I spent in other 5 and 4 star hotels in the area this is more than double.

Finally, the service in the restaurant and at breakfast is atrocious - it is slow and not attentive. This is the type of restaurant that does not leave the water and wine on the table, so you are dependent on a waitress noticing when your glass is empty. The food is also not very good. The menu looks very similar to all other menus in this area but is double the price. Given the fact that this was a 5 star hotel and the prices were double I had high expectations of the food. They weren't met!

At breakfast I waited over 20 minutes for someone to offer me tea or coffee, before I walked out. Who knows how long I would have waited? I will say that the Spanish people and the table of Germans did get much better service than me.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LazyMcLazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We spent two weeks in this luxurious five-star hotel. Situated outside the small town of Lastres, the hotel is beautifully designed in a modern style. The whole impression is one of space, mostly created by the floor-to-ceiling windows, through which you get stunning views of the Picos de Europa.

Throughout, in the rooms, the restaurant, the lobby, the attention to detail is astonishing. I have rarely had the privilege of staying in such an elegant place anywhere in the world.

Generally the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Special praise to Delfina, the head of reception, who is of a calibre and professionalism to match the best hotels in the world. But there was also a genuine warmth and interest in our well-being from all the staff. For example, I needed to get something for my computer (the wi-fi link in the hotel worked perfectly, whether in the common areas, in the rooms, or out on the terrace) and asked reception where I could buy the part in Gijon, the nearest city (35km away). The next thing I knew they had arranged for someone to buy the part for me and bring it to the hotel.

We ate several times in the restaurant, and enjoyed the dishes, although we might have eaten there even more had the menu changed more frequently.

The Asturian weather was not up to much, and, presumably as a direct result of this, the local sports facilities are rather low key (no decent tennis courts within 40km radius, and the hotel only has no outdoor swimming pool).

But it is worth staying in this hotel for its own sake and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank LondonItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed five nights here with two teenage children. I had thought it might be full of elderly couples, but there were plenty of Spanish families. The place has only been open a few months, which explains why it is not on all the websites yet. Asturias is very full in summer and I was lucky to find this.

The building is a really beautifully restored old mansion. The rooms are impeccable.

The food in the restaurant is superb. Breakfast very good too. My one moan is that coffee was sometimes slow in coming. The restaurant has views to die for through huge slabs of glass, floor to ceiling.

Location is superb near magnificent beaches, attractive towns and wonderful mountains.

The staff were extremely helpful. There is free wifi in the public rooms and they will lend you a laptop. Every detail is under control - my husband shook a sandy towel out of our window and ten seconds later we got a call asking if we had a problem. It was rather alarming to think we were under CCTV at all times.

Really, this hotel could hardly be bettered. When I asked for honey at breakfast, they got me some from the farm next door.

This is not a resort hotel. It has excellent rooms and service, an excellent restaurant and an excellent location and the price is accordingly high. If you can get a special offer outside peak season, snap it up. One small bonus - breakfast is half price for children, even voracious 14 year old boys.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This is a new built hotel, with an old part from the 15th century. All rooms are very nice. It is really a 5-star hotel. One of the best I have seen in spain. The stuff is very friendly and pleasant. They gave us an upgrade to a junior suite with sea view. It is a very quiet and nice place with views to the mountains and the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MRenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Raquel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoloresBlanco, Gerente at Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luces
7.8 mi away
Puebloastur Eco-Resort Wellness & Spa
10.2 mi away
Hosteria de Torazo
Hosteria de Torazo
#1 of 2 in Torazo
287 reviews
13.7 mi away
BAL Hotel & Spa
BAL Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quintueles
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Eutimio
Casa Eutimio
#1 of 1 in Lastres
133 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
990 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Ctra AS - 257 s/n, 33328 Luces, Colunga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Colunga > Luces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Luces
Price Range: $200 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Hotel Luces

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing