We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with Arab flavour architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of the Saga Seriously Sicily tour. It was a fantastic hotel and the food and dining room were particularly excellent. The sea font setting meant it was easy to stroll out and the seafront is in the process of being upgraded. The town itself is fascinating with its mix of Arab, Jewish, Catholic and African cultures Nd the thriving fishing port. Great choice fora few days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ruthpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 625 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and found it very comfortable. I guess it helps being out of season, as the price was good and the place not overcrowded. The rooms are spacious and the staff helpful. the hotel is also close to town so evening walks and finding new restaurants was very easy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Don't be fooled by the hotel name. Every weekend the pool are turns into a gigantic disco with a very talkative DJ. When confronted with guests' inability to sleep, the receptionist responded: "What can I do?".
The 10 euro disco entry fee (including 1 drink) seem to be the better deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
10  Thank FrkMM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel and many of the staff members were great especially the head of the restaurant and bar. The rooms were Simple And very clean. The bathroom was a pretty blue and had a seat in the shower. The pool is pretty and not crowded. The reason why I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars was that the beach is close by is not really usable and the nicer one is about a ten minute drive they also charge for beach towels €5 per day ....Maybe if they don't get them back but I thought it was steep and they charge €15 for two chairs and an umbrella.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loism21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is just ok, nothing more. It is more a 3* than a 4* hotel & wellness! The hotel offered the special price of 65 eur for a single room and I wouldn't pay more than 70 for what has been offered. Breakfast was not special but essentially everything was offered in a buffet. I confirm the coffee machine readed in the other review but it is not correct to base the evaluation on this. However I suggest the hotel managing office to improve the quality of the breakfast, coffee included. Room are clean and large, wifi connection is free but often of very poor signal, please improve the connection if possible, otherwise give a cable connection.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Antonello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel was lovely and very convenient. At first we thought it was a little distant from the town, but actually, the walk into town, to the railways station and to nearby restaurants was very pleasant and welcome.

The staff were friendly and helpful and very obliging, helping recommend places to go (especially Adriana) and we followed their recommendations. I would encourage them to take a trip to Trapani to go on to Erice, as we were told to get the train to Trapani, and then ask for directions to catch the bus to Erice. Our Italian was limited, and we found it difficult indeed to find the location for the bus to Erice, which was just beyond the train station (in a bar), so we were searching for about half an hour. If the staff had actually taken the trip, then they would be able to show guests on a map exactly where to go, which would be very helpful indeed.

Having said that, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much, and loved the town, which was very beautiful, and everywhere we went in the town, people were friendly, helpful and welcoming.

I am celiac and need gluten free food, and had no difficulty in the hotel, or in any of the restaurants and bars that we visited. In one bar, the staff cooked me some Sicilian panelle, which was totally delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I went in September which probably wasnt the best idea but I love this town.
The staff where freindly but absent and most of the hotel was closed I guess as its off season.
I only had the breakfast which was really good but to be fair if you like good quality food then you this is probably the best city on earth for it and you wont find poor quality anywhere.
A little expensive I thought for what it was and the decent beaches are about 10/15mins drive away and their swimming pool isnt huge.
The town and restaurents are very close just a few minutes walk which was good.

If you are going to this town its not a bad place to stay but I would reccommend renting a Villa which is often cheaper if your going for a week and eating at all the wonderful places in this remarkable oasis of fine food.

Room Tip: By luck we got a room right at the front of the hotel so when we opened the curtains each morning we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazara del Vallo
2.7 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
674 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,703 reviews
0.7 mi away
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
#4 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hopps
Hotel Hopps
#5 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greta Rooms Hotel
Greta Rooms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
140 reviews
2 mi away
D'Angelo Palace Hotel
D'Angelo Palace Hotel
#7 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahara Hotel & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahara Hotel & Wellness

Address: Lungomare San Vito 3, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range: $89 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahara Hotel & Wellness 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mahara Hotel & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahara Hotel And Wellness
Mahara Hotel Mazara Del Vallo
Mahara Hotel & Wellness Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing