We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel however surreal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Giardino di Costanza Resort
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel however surreal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this hotel knowing that Kempinski hotels are always of a high standard. The added attraction was the indoor swimming pool in case the weather was not good as we were travelling early November as well as a kiddies club allowing us time to enjoy the spa. Well as per some other reviews, when you first arrive one wonders where you are going having driven through some non-descript built up areas from Trapani airport as you enter the interior of western Sicily. The hotel is located in the midst of vineyards and olive groves with little else around however in our opinion this only adds to the charm of the resort. A car is a must to make the most out of the area.

From when we arrived until we left we all thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. As it was a quiet time for the hotel we were upgraded which was very nice. The service was excellent, staff was very friendly, food and wine was excellent, facilities were great and the children loved the kiddies club (Thank you Gaya!) to the extent they wanted to stay there rather than go sightseeing with us.

This is a perfect hideaway hotel for total relaxation and we certainly plan to make a return visit.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are very large and spaceious especially suitable if you are having an extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarberA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    154
    48
    30
    17
See reviews for
112
307
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Let's start with the minus. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, half an hour away from the closest beach. Apart from that the staff, service, rooms, facilities are as good as they come. If you don't expect to make nice walks outside of the hotel then this is a great place. The spa is nice and the inside pool as well.

Room Tip: Get a room facing one of the quiet gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNKetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Sicily is a beautiful island--so why is this hotel plunked down in the middle of nondescript flat farmland near a decrepit town? It is not convenient to any tourist spots or nice beaches or anything else. I was at least expecting really nice grounds. There is some nice landscaping around the pools but the rest is barebones and neglected. Our garden view was some grass, outbuildings and two bushes. The front entrance is filled with hundreds of dandelions and crabgrass. The outdoor pool is nice but unheated, the indoor pool is very warm.Fitness room is good and wifi is excellent. Breakfast was good but the dinner restaurant is in the same nondescript room and is grossly overpriced. A taxi to town is 70 Euros roundtrip for four. The town has some good, inexpensive restaurants. The hotel was nearly empty so we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was great in every way. The staff was good but stuffy and formal. In other words, this hotel has no idea why it is where it is and what it is supposed to be. It is nice to ride a bike or walk the country roads. It is an hour and a half to Segesta and Erice so I would think there are more conveneint optons.

Room Tip: Make sure you join the Global Hotel Alliance beforehand to get free wifi and possibly help with upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is a rather big hotel on a small route at seven km from Mazzara del Vallo, in the south coast of Sicily. Good place to explore Segesta, Selinunte, Trapani and Erice. It has a big garden and a good swimming pool. Everything looks very good but it is a little bit pretentious and the common areas are unconfortable. The rooms are excellent, the Spa is dissaponting and the restaurant is acceptable. The best thing is the staff which provide a courteous and efficient service. The hotel charges 20 € per day for the wi-fi. Unbelievable!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We hired a car and glad we did as the drive from the Catanya Airport was over 4 hours in duration! Ample car park, porter even offered to park our car for us!

We were welcomed by Reception Staff and a very welcome non-alcoholic drink! Large bedroom on the first floor with poolside view. Large bathroom with twin sinks, separate wc and shower room! Very clean indeed with new sheets, towels daily and free chocolates nighly! Fresh fruit and water which was free also.

Bar drinks expensive but this was to be expected as it is a 5 star Hotel! Pool Bar served hot/cold drinks throughout day and an outdoor restaurant overlooking pool served ample portions for the hearty eaters!

We had gone bed and breakfast so only had the lunch a couple of times. Service good, friendly staff who overall could not do enough for you.

The evening entertainment consisted a pianist playing melodic tunes nighly. We ate outside in the Restaurant. The food was excellent and the waiters/waitresses on hand to help you with meal choices. Wines we drank throughout our stay were local and were not available in the shops!

We ate out only once as the food was so good and we were disappointed with the Restaurant in town.

The Pool was inviting and clean and we drove to the Hotel's Beach, a 10 minute drive away. The Beach Bar was open but the Restaurant was closed. The Beach Bar served adequate snacks and drinks. The Beach area although fairly small had ample loungers to choose from. The Beach Staff again on hand to help and also arranged your towels on your loungers!! Two lifeguards also were on hand. The sea was roped off in certain areas as the sea bed was rocky. A courtesy Hotel Bus ran several times a day. Changing rooms and toilets on site.

Would very much recommend this Hotel and certainly return to the Hotel. Next visit will try and use Palermo Airport as the drive would only taken 1 hour 30 minutes in duration.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool as the evening sun makes the room cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with our 2 kids for 4 nights. We got there exhausted after a sunloaded day of sightseeing (Villa Romana, Agrigento, Scala dei Turchi) and this was like arriving at an oasis of water (we needed that!), calm, elegance, friendliness and great food. Room (Jr Suite) was large and very elegant, and had a huge bathroom (seperate shower and bath, 2 sinks) and a large, sunny terrace with a view of the hotel courtyard and pool. Hotel location is quite remote and all the facilities are within the hotel walls, so there's not much relation to the surrounding country side. Good thing that this hotel is so well-appointed (25m pool with adjacent nice Kids Club, large lobby, live jazz during dinner, adequate private beach with pretty beach bar about 15 min away); a car is needed to explore this side of Sicily. What really sets this hotel apart however, is the outstanding service. Everyone seemed to really do his/hers utmost to offer their clients the best possible holiday experience. We never had to ask for a baby-chair (they just immediately went to get it), they helped to cary items from the breakfast buffet to our table, they stored our luggage in the car the last morning,... these 'details' are important, and definitely made our stay here very memorable. Also the restaurant is outstanding, with fish couscous deserving a special recommendation!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tripcat900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This Kempinski is a beautiful property in a vineyard country. The rooms are big and very well appointed in traditional italian style, wonderful bathrooms and amenities. There's a great relaxing outdoor area with garden and pools, a big and well equipped spa. The staff is corteous, good breakfast.
The only downside is the location: Mazara itself is not a very touristic region and the hotel is some kilometers away from town. This gives quite a desolate feel to the hotel, as it is also reinforced by the very few guests. But there are no negative points in itself.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are better, be it for the pool or country views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazara del Vallo
4.8 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
34.1 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
79.6 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
50.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino di Costanza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino di Costanza Resort

Property: Giardino di Costanza Resort
Address: Via Salemi Km 7100, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giardino di Costanza Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Giardino di Costanza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Giardino Di Costanza Hotel Mazara Del Vallo
Giardino Di Costanza Resort Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing