We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like we had come home to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Zaccaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Luciana and Angelo were perfect hosts and made us feel like family. They are ex-teachers who have travelled Sicily and know where to go and what to see, and they are happy to share their experience and expertise. Luciana speaks English and French and, of course, Italian. Angelo speaks Italian but is quite fluent in English, which he speaks "with his hands". They both went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.
The rooms are clean and spacious. The B&B is located in the old city where everything is nearby. Breakfasts were feasts of pastries, fresh fruit, and home made sandwiches which changed every day - along with coffee, tea, and the best orange juice you've ever had. The sandwiches were enhanced by olive oil pressed from their own trees.
What a treat to meet such wonderful people. We hope we can come back again soon.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bcieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast Zaccaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 287 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed inm Mazara del vallo for one night 15/16 July 2013, and was struck by the Centro Storicos autentic beauty with narrow streets, huged churces and small tunisian neighborhoods. We stayed at B&B Zaccaria, owned by Angelo and Luciana, and it was splendid with nice room and tasty breakfast. Luciana also gave us an historical overview of Mazara del vallo, as well as the different churces and museums we could visit there. Especially the story about the Satiro struck us, so we ent to that museum. The historical lecture gave us important reference points. We loved it and would like to reccomend it to everyone at Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Egil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

B&B Zaccaria was terrific. I could tell from the emails I exchanged with Angelo before going that they would be fantastic hosts. The B&B is in its own compound with a lovely arched courtyard. Our 'double room' turned out to be an apartment with a living area. There was a kitchen too which you could use for an extra 10 euro a night. Breakfasts on the terrace were lovely - abundant and delicious (croissants stuffed with the ricotta and chocolate chips they use in cannoli...., fresh little panini, fruit, etc). While eating Angelo and Luciana would tell us about the city and give tips where to go and they have also prepared written information on outings you can do (e.g. to Selinunte). Nothing was too much trouble and Angelo would regularly drop everything to guide us in and out of the maze of streets.

Mazara itself was a surprise - as another reviewer said it has an amazingly rich culture and history. We were there two nights and given that we spent one day at Selinunte and the Foce del Belice we could have easily spent longer there.

The only negative thing was that on our first night someone tried to break into our car - a rather eye-catching British car. Later on we were told by other locals that the area is a little unsavoury - not unsafe but unsavoury - and Angelo also told us he's had something like eight bikes stolen in four years. If we'd known about that we would never have left it on the street and as it turned out Angelo has an arrangement with a carpark nearby. It would have been nice to be warned though we understand that they don't want to alarm you on arrival. Apart from that we had no problems and loved every minute of our stay apart from finding our car windows bent on our first morning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stay 4 nights in this hotel, and we understand that is not enough to visit all places which can describe Luciana and not enough the nights to visit all restourants recomended by Angelo. And if you not find specialities of Sicily in the restaurants, dont worry in the next morning in nice terassa you will find all you can even not expect, the breakfast was better then in 5 stars hotel with serve of Luciana and Angelo, and deserts so sweet, and the owners so friendly, that we stay for the breakfast time till two houres!
This hotel we recommend for people which want to test the Sicily food, to meet nice people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Audrius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a good stay in Mazara del Vallo for 3 nights. The B & B Zaccaria is a very good place in the heart of the old town. We found nice rooms and very much engaged and warmhearted hosts.
The breakfast from Luciana was very delicious. Angelo and Luciana assisted us for planning the sight seeing in Mazara and the follow trip through Sicily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 446Henning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

When you leave this place you realize that Human Race still be in great shape and we still have hope that the World isn't just what we know from the news...
So all depend about you if you want use a room only saying good morning or good night and leave or to relate with Angelo and Luciana appreciating their knoledge about all you want to know about Sicily at its very best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gianni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A good location, excellent breakfast, quite and comfortable with charming hosts. Luciana and Angelo look after you and the facilities are relaxing and in the heart of the old town. They are happy to assist you in planning your sight seeing and onward travel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazara del Vallo hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greta Rooms Hotel
Greta Rooms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
#4 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
D'Angelo Palace Hotel
D'Angelo Palace Hotel
#7 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Mazara B&B
Prestige Mazara B&B
#3 of 35 in Mazara del Vallo
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Cortile Sant'Agostino
B&B Cortile Sant'Agostino
#5 of 35 in Mazara del Vallo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Zaccaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Zaccaria

Address: Via Sant'Agostino 5, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range: $69 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed e breakfast zaccaria is located in the heart of the historical center of Mazara del vallo. It is in old restored palace with internal courtyards in a very quiet area, a few steps from all of the major monuments and museums in the city. We offer very comfortable bedrooms with private living and bath rooms in a very familiar atmosphere.We have many open spaces and a spacious roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Zaccaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Zaccaria Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing