We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay in Toscana”
Review of Villa Cafaggiolo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontassieve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Cafaggiolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We enjoyed a week's stay at Villa Cafaggiolo in early spring. We stayed in the Brunelleschi apartment, 7 people aged 11-85, and it was wonderful. The Pucci family was very helpful in recommending restaurants and sight seeing. The location is great, very private but only a short trip into Florence. Would love to visit again.
Edda, Iceland

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EGBIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 182 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2009

Would recommend Villa Cafaggiolo to anyone. It is ideally located 7kms out of Florence in the Tuscany Hills. A small village called Rosana is 2ks away. A car would be recommended however it is close to everything and you wake up to the rooster crowing. The familly villa is absoluetly beautiful. We had a two bedroom, two story villa. A welcome pack is available and the family are adorable. Private tours can also be organised and recommended. Nothing like local knowledge. We stay one week and it was the highlight of our 6 week tour. Can not rave enough about it. Call Niccolo and book!! You wont regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JennyGAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

This rennovated villa is in a lovely setting and tended by a wonderful family. Niccolo and Paola Pucci are great hosts who make you feel like family. The location is close enough to drive to Florence or take the train( which we did). We drove around Tuscany as well as being"chauffered" through some very special Tuscan areas that we probably would never have found on our own, unless we had gotten lost and wasted a day or more. Niccolo is very knowledgable and loves Tuscany and shares it well. Paola his mom is delightful lady. Very attentive, no question is too small. She loves to practice her English. Sergio, her husband is the man in the background who makes a lot of things happen, but is the "silent type"

They provided us a great week!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calabashbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

we have stayed in Villa Cafaggiolo every year for the past 8 years.
This summer was the first we could not go due to family circumstances, but the 3 children and us are looking forward to going next summer. Villa Cafaggiolo gives you the best of both worlds. A tranquil oasis surrounded by vineyards and countryside and then less than 2 minute drive to the industrial town Pontassieve or less than 15 minute drive to Florence. Here we have the best of both worlds.
We as a family don't like too much travelling so most of the time we laze about by the swimming pool. Other guests have commented how the location of Villa Cafaggiolo is a great starting point for seeing the rest of Italy as you have close local access to the motorway which will take you in all directions or there is always the train from Pontassieve.
The Pucci family are wonderful , always very helpful but don't interfere with you. They have always been there to help us or advise us on eating out, shopping, places to visit etc.
One of the first jobs my daughter does in the morning is visit the stables to help feed their 3 horses and then in the evening we all hang out by the arena and watch Niccolo exercising the horses.
We love staying at Villa Cafaggiolo every summer and never tire of the place.

The only thing is that I would strongly recommend hiring a car to get around. It is not really viable otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pheasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I have stayed at Villa Cafaggiolo several times in the past 4 years. It is a beautiful property, perfectly situated on a commuter train line 20 minutes East of Florence. All of the apartments are charming and comfortable. It is easy to go anywhere in Tuscany by car from the Villa and one can go by train to Florence easily. The property itself is very picturesque with all of the buildings done in Tuscan farm style. There is a lovely swimming pool and a rose garden. But what makes the experience of visiting Cafaggiolo so memorable is the warmth and friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, the Pucci family. They are always ready with a recommendation of where to eat, what to see, where to get the best gelato in Florence,etc. They truly treat the guests as if they are family, and many guests are repeat customers. They love what they do, and it shows. They are the perfect innkeepers!

  • Stayed: March 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My family & I have just returned from a weeks holidays in Tuscany staying at Villa Cafaggiolo. The area is beautiful (up in the Tuscan hills - fab views) and Niccolo and his family were so welcoming, helpful and kind.

The apartments are lovely. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 4 children and we had plenty of space.

There is also plenty to do in the surrounding area with the added advantage of Florence being only about 10 miles away (and easily accessed by train from the nearby town of Pontassieve).

The off-season price for October was great value and we all had a great time there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ram101Munster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontassieve hotels
5.9 mi away
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
5.2 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Il Trebbiolo Relais
Il Trebbiolo Relais
#1 of 1 in Molino del Piano
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo I Villini
Albergo I Villini
#1 of 10 in Pontassieve
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa d'Arte Agri Resort
Villa d'Arte Agri Resort
#2 of 10 in Pontassieve
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cafaggiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cafaggiolo

Address: Localita Cafaggiolo 34 | Rosano-Firenze, 50100, Pontassieve, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Pontassieve
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIGHLIGHTS of VILLA CAFAGGIOLO - Excellent reviews on many web sites: a great warranty for you - Close to Florence: 15-20 minutes either by car or by train - Close to all amenities (2 km): supermarkets, banks, train station (in Pontassieve village) - Located on a very panoramic hill: enjoy great sunsets amid our olive trees and oak wood - Only 3 apartments: the pool and the gardens are never crowed, tranquility is assured - Air conditioning in all the apts. - Lots of interesting Services for you: cooking class, private Chef, farm foodstuffs, transfers… - Very quiet place: the access to the Villa is by private road - Private Garden: each apt. has a completely private garden, with patio & BBQ - Very clean and fully equipped apartments: they are comfortable & very charming - Huge park at your disposal: manicured gardens, large meadows, olive groves, oak wood - Friendly, family owned - Close to several Outlets: Gucci, Prada, Armani, Valentino… - 20 years experience in holiday rental acco ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Cafaggiolo Pontassieve, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing