We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windmill Farm”
Review of Fattoria Lavacchio

Fattoria Lavacchio
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.63*
and up
Wind Mill Visit and Olive Oil Tasting
More Info
$23.75*
and up
Wine Tour with Wine Tasting
More Info
$83.14*
and up
Tuscan Cooking Class with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Pontassieve
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The farm is located on the top of the Montefiesole hill at 450 meters above sea level, only 18 km from Florence. It is situated in the charming landscape of the gentle hills of the Chianti Rufina area, rich with vineyards and olive groves.
Bronx
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The Windmill Farm”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is a must visit when visiting Tuscany (Pontassieve Italy). I went here with a group of eleven friends to attend cooking school. The owner was super friendly and came out to greet us and serve us espresso and cappuccino to start. After this we were introduce to our Instructor and phenomenal chef Michelo. This guy spoke decent English and was very entertaining. We prepared Tiramisu, Fresh Pasta with artichoke in season, Artichoke in lemon with cheese appetizer and a pork roast with potatoes and veggies. A meal fit for a king. The atmosphere was very relaxed and of course wine was served. The place is spotless and has views to dream about of the Tuscan country side. After all the preparation we toured the property and met a resident artist who makes beautiful Pottery creations. After an extensive tour we went back to the restaurant to enjoy our Lunch which we helped with. On the property is also a windmill that has been refurbished based on designs of Leonardo Da Vinci and you can go inside. The whole experience was fantastic and I highly recommend the cooking school or just lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    3
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ask the Serious Griller!!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fresh, organis, biologic, home made...etc etc. service and the vieuw are great. Home made pasta`s... The Wines like Pachar and Cedro Riserva are to die for!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenBosWijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Amazing place, amazing position, amazing staff, amazing food!!!
Here you can taste some of the best Tuscany dishes with a chef's personal interpretation.
A little expensive but it is worth.
Every time I go there I go home satisfied and happy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dedda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan food”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lovely restaurant on a hill, with a beautiful view. Large outside terrace. They serve Tuscan food, organic and biological as much as possible. Especially great is the huge fireplace where Sergio (Serial Griller) grills the meat. Portions are large, so we struggled with the antipasti, primi, secondi, it was just too much. We went here twice while staying at Fattoria Lavacchio, and it was great. Thank you Sonia for the Limoncello recipe, we will def. try to make it at home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaatje2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fantastic food, some of the best during our 3 week stay in Italy and France. Yummy courgette flowers, truffle ravioli, sausage and fennel pasta and great steaks. If you are staying at Fattoria Lavacchio (highly recommended) then you must try the restaurant...and the wine. Fantastic food, service great, although at the chilled out Italian pace expected!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fattoria Lavacchio also viewed

Pontassieve, Province of Florence
 
Pelago, Province of Florence
Pontassieve, Province of Florence
 

Been to Fattoria Lavacchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing