We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word says it all: impareggiabile!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello del Trebbio
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 854 helpful votes
“One word says it all: impareggiabile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Chateau holiday in own cottage.

Castello del Trebbio, a fantastic chateau located in the mountains 15 km outside Florence, hires out a number of newly renovated luxury holiday cottages.

A brief historical introduction:

”Castello del Trebbio was built in 1184 by a family of bankers, the Pazzis, notorious for planning the assassination of the Medici brothers, Lorenzo og Guiliano (the Medicis was a powerful and influential family in the Florence region). The Pazzis went down in history as the guilty party of this evil act. In reality, however, they were nothing but a willing tool in the scheming of Pope Sixtus IV planning to appoint his sister’s son, Riario, as head of Florence and, subsequently, to annex the region to the Papal States. The assassination plot was only partly successful as the attempt on Lorenzo’s life failed, and this sealed the fate and demise of the Pazzi family. This fascinating story is told in detail during a conducted tour of the castle also comprising a wine tasting event.”

Over the years, Castello del Trebbio has won a number of awards: “great wine capitals“, wine cellar experience (2006), architecture (2007), and wine restaurants (2010).
The latter, the “Wine restaurant”, was awarded to the chateau restaurant. Here, they provide high-quality Italian gourmet food on a daily basis. Also, the place commands a view not found much greater elsewhere in the world. Remember to book a table.

The cottages, all tastefully decorated, are equipped with pizza oven, all domestic appliances, swimming pool and Wi-fi. Some of them even boast their own wine cellar stocked with the chateau‘s great primary Chianti. You settle at your departure; and I suppose it was a good thing that our cottage was without such a wine cellar – otherwise, I would most probably have been ruined long before the departure day.

The luxuriant and fabulous nature of the area is ideal for long walks; there is only 3 km to shopping facilities; the distance to Florence is 15 km; and a wealth of local restaurants are scattered all over the mountains.

Before this holiday, I loved Italy. But now, having experienced the Castello del Trebbio, my love – in particular of Tuscany – has grown to such an extent that I know it will not be long before I buy a house of my own – in Tuscany.

My entire experience at Castello del Trebbio is easily summed up – one word says it all: impareggiabile!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at Castello del Trebbio from September 7th through the 14th. The vineyards, olive groves and the mountains were just beautiful. Alberto was a big help with whatever was needed. Please make sure you visit Santa Brigida. It is a quaint little town. Make sure you do the castle tour as well. WeI definately would go back. There were ten of us in a villa and we all had plenty of room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in November 2012. This was a weekend trip to plan our wedding in June 2013. It is simply magical. It has an amazing flair and charming rooms. We stayed in Panicale C with a lovely view of the vineyard. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the premises "La Sosta del Gusto" offers a wide range of dishes made of fresh local ingredients of the season. I still dream of the Crème Brulee. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 and I cannot recommend the place highly enough.. The location is perfect as it is in the countryside but within a ten minute drive to the local town, the people there were fantastic to deal with and nothing was too much trouble and each and every room in the villa and apartments were exactly (if not better) than advertised.

I shall definitely be returning to this place asap...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fittonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjørkelangen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Castello del Trebbio has become our Paradise. We married there in the beginning of September 2012, and stayed there for a week with our family and friends. Everyone was very pleased with their stay, and found the sorroundings amazing. Being 38 people at the most we rented almost all the apartments connected to the castle, and all of them were well equiped, clean and with a pleasant Tuscan atmosphere.

The restaurant "la Sosta del Gusto" made delicious dinner for us at our wedding day, situated in the sunset on the terrace in front of the restaurant and castle. Sabrina in the restaurant made sure everything according to the dinner and party afterwards went smooth.

One thing we really have to recommend is a tour around the castle with Alberto as your guide. He took us and all our guests on a one hour long guided trip around the wine and olive cellars of the castle, sharing the amazing story and interresting facts of Trebbio. We never heard our guest so quiet for so long during our week there:-) Alberto also make our stay perfect with excellent service both in front and during our stay. His warmth and genuine interrest in making everyone pleased was something all of our guest made comments of.

Castello del Trebbio is for sure a place we are going back to. Our children at 4, 9 and 12 have actually wished for an annual vacation there. We strongly reccomend Castello del Trebbio as a place to go to both for occations as weddings etc, but also for a normal vacation in beatyful Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Tuscany is a great spot in Italy, del Trebbio is a great spot in Tuscany. Run by people who really know what guests need. Rural accomodation in genuine surroundings. The Castle runs several guest houses and rooms besides being a working wine and olive oil manufacturer. Even a good Tuscan restaurant om premises. Make sure you take the castle tour with Manager Alberto Peroni. Great area foor walking but must have a car to get around and visit sights and cities. PS! Del Trebbio is a popular place to get married and celebrate!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We loved our week here. It is a special place that I would highly recommend to anyone. We stayed in Panicale A (myself, my husband, our 8-year-old son with my cousin, her husband, and their 10-year-old-son). We enjoyed learning the history of the castello, relaxing by the pool in the afternoon, making homemade pasta in our kitchen, and exploring the land (especially the orchard) at our leisure. It was a chance to get an authentic taste of Tuscan living while still being a short distance from Florence, Pisa, and San Gimignano. It was easy to go into the nearest little town to pick up groceries.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank c_recoskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontassieve hotels
4.8 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Il Trebbiolo Relais
Il Trebbiolo Relais
#1 of 1 in Molino del Piano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tenuta dei Cavalieri
Tenuta dei Cavalieri
#5 of 10 in Pontassieve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.0 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
4.5 mi away
Podere Vignola
Podere Vignola
#8 of 21 in Pontassieve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Trebbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Trebbio

Property: Castello del Trebbio
Address: Via Santa Brigida 9, 50065, Pontassieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Pontassieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castello del Trebbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Trebbio Pontassieve, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing