We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking and Amazing Tuscan Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and Amazing Tuscan Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

This "farm / vineyard" is amazing. The location provides stunning panoramic views of Tuscany and peacful beauty. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, the property boasts a working windmill, award-winning restaurant, winery, olive groves, ceramic artisan shop, and horseback riding. The main house, Casabella, has rooms with great views, rustic but comfortable accommodations. There is no air conditioning, but it's not needed with the cool nights and open windows. The pool area is a great place to mingle with other guests. Faye, the owner is gracious and accommodating and the property is obviously her passion, which is well reflected in the tender restorations and attention to detail throughout the properties. It's a great place to unwind from a long journey and one could easily spend several days there taking advantage of the sprawling property. A big plus is the vineyard's wine -- incredible. And food -- good for a few add'l pounds :) I would DEFINITELY recommend and return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back and second and third floors of Cassabella have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRL217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavacchio, Guest Relations Manager at Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your comment. It's always a pleasure to have feedbacks! We just started the olive harvesting so hopefully you will come back for a taste!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    44
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
73
77
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great place for a family holidays in Tuscany. Fantastic surroundings, not far from Florence. Enjoy the nature and the culture. Kind service. Good food.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavacchio, Responsabile reception at Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Vilada,
thank you for your comment & kind words. It's always a pleasure to have feedbacks, we apreciate your effort in helping us make our standards better. We just started the olive harvesting so hopefully you will come back for a taste or visit us in September 2012 during the wine harvest and drink with us a glass of our organic wines!!
Kind regards
Valentina Parolai - Reservation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagoshima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

To the staff at Lavacchio, especially Faye and Naomi, thank you for a few wonderful days. We learned a lot about the enchanting Tuscany countryside and its wine culture, and also ate a lot (perhaps too much) of your wonderful food. We very much look forward to our next visit.
Liked best? That hillside setting and an ambience that was perfect for relaxation.
Liked least. The drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Talk to Naomi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoronivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavacchio, Responsabile reception at Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, we apreciate your effort in helping us make our standards better. We hope to be able to have you again for 2012!!!
Valentina Parolai - Reservation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I were so taken with this place. We spent 2 weeks in Italy and Paris and this was the highlight of our trip. It's every image you've ever seen of Tuscany. Casabella is a beautifully restored building surrounded by rolling hills of vineyards and olive groves. The wine was so incredible, I wish we could get it where we live. The people were wonderful and the food at the restaurant was amazing. But the highlight of our stay was the cooking class with Simona. We spoke a little Italian and she spoke some English, but that didn't matter. We had no problem communicating. She was an absolute joy and the food we cooked was fabulous. We made chicken cutlets, ravioli with spinach filling and tiramisu. Be sure to ride horses. There is nothing like galloping (if you choose the advanced course) through the vineyards and olive groves.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soonergirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavacchio, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind comment, it help us to improuve our services and standards. Simona our chef is very delighted, she sends her regards and will improve her english for the new cooking lessons' participants.
We hope to have you again with us in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I am a little behind in writing this review, but the memories are still very fresh. Our family of four and another family of three (3 teenagers total) decided to stay at Fattoria Lavacchio after seeing it featured in a PBS series on a DVD "Inside the Tuscan Hills." We had high expectations and we were not disappointed. We drove from Rome and used our apartment as a base for exploring northern tuscany (Siena, Florence, northern Chianti). Reviews on other sites mentioned having a little difficulty finding the Fattoria so my husband located the property on google maps to help him become familiar with the route. I think it helped our confidence level, although we followed the directions we were given and had no problem.

We arrived at Casa Bella (the main house and B&B) later than we anticipated, around 8pm and the pizza dinner was well under way on the outside patio. We offered to eat before checking in, but they said to take our time, there was no hurry. Wow! We were blown away when we sat down to eat about 9pm. Multiple types of pizza were served and kept coming until we insisted we could eat no more! There was also a table with salads, mostly made up of items grown on the property, I believe. And of course, plenty of wine. A great way to start our week at Fattoria Lavacchio!

Buffet breakfast is included if you stay in Casa Bella, if you stay in an apartment, it is not. Breakfast is served at Casa Bella and can be a little expensive for a family (currently 18 euros for an adult), but we did splurge a couple of the mornings. It is easy enough to pick up some pastry in your travels to have in your apartment. Our family stayed in the Malvasia with three floors, two bedrooms (the second bedroom had two beds and a pullout sofa) and two bathrooms (both with small, but adequate showers). Plenty of space for a family of 4 or 5.

We ate dinner at Mulino a Vento on the property one night. The views are incredible. The food was very good and also on the expensive side. One day we stopped at a grocery store in Pontassieve and purchased items for a picnic dinner. It was a beautiful evening and a picnic table is located right outside our apartment. There is a restaurant about 1/2 way down the "mountain" towards Pontassieve. I don't remember the name, but the food was excellent, prices reasonable, and it was very busy. Casa Bella serves two buffet-type dinners a week at the main house. The first was the Pizza Dinner and the second was a barbeque. Three or so meats were grilled or roasted with lots of side dishes all served family style. Very good!

I have not yet mentioned the jewel of Fattoria Lavacchio, Faye. As I understand it, she and her husband manage the property for her father. Faye's husband works on the vineyards while Faye seems to run everything else. She is quite the dynamo. We signed up for a tour of the wine making facilities and the olive groves/oil making. The tour was informative with as much detail for which you have an interest. Both tours were a highlight of our trip. The wine tasting was also a treat.

While the adults enjoyed the tours, the teenagers went horseback riding through the vineyards and olive groves. The barn is part of the property but managed separately. The riders were all beginners and were very comfortable. Remember to pack jeans if you plan to ride.

My favorite day was the day we sat by the pool all day. The other tourists staying at Frattoria Lavacchio were all from other countries. The bar not only served drinks but a simple and very satisfying lunch. The views in this area of the vineyards and the valley below are what Tuscan dreams are made of! I pinched myself more than once to be sure I wasn't dreaming. Be sure to bring your camera.

Unfortunately we did not have enough time to take part in the cooking class or ceramic classes. Next visit!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagsAreReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights in a self catering apartment on the farm. Whether you want to relax or sightsee, Fattoria Lavacchio is the perfect place to stay.

We spent 3 days relaxing by the magnificent pool, walking in the vineyards and horse riding. We also easily managed day trips to Siena and Pisa.

The farm wine is excellant (especially the Pachar), and without doubt I recommend you do the wine tour and tasting. Also if you are lucky enough to be there for a pizza night, then I suggest you starve yourself for the meal, as they easily made some of the best pizza we had in Italy and you won't want to stop eating.

Hope I can get back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavacchio, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Hasson,
we want to thank you for this review and positive comment of our best white organic wine, the Pachar.
We hope to see you again in the future and join us for a wine tasting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Everyone was so friendly and helpful! Made us feel like they truly wanted us there and were willing to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. They always have new activities and opened a pool side bar which was great! I would definately go back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbygally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontassieve
1.9 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Petrognano
Agriturismo Petrognano
#73 of 295 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Podere Vignola
Podere Vignola
#8 of 21 in Pontassieve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio

Property: Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
Address: Via Di Grignano 38 | Monterifrassine, 50065, Pontassieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Pontassieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Lavacchio is an ancient Organic Tuscan farm of the 16th century situated between the towns of Sieci and Pontassieve on the top of the "Montefiesole" hill (450 m), only 18Km distant from Florence. The Lavacchio Farm holiday resort is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, between incomparable landscapes and testifies the ancient presence of simple but great men, with fine taste. The landscape surrounding Casabella is well preserved and the ancient rural tradition has modernized itself in a moderate way. The farm has been completely redecorated and furnished with great care in order to ensure the most unforgettable and comfortable stay to our guests, it jhas been certified ecologic. With all its varied facilities, the Lavacchio farm holiday resort offers different vacation possibilities: either in comfortable rooms or suites with private bathroom or in independent fully equipped apartments, or in an independent villa with private pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio Pontassieve, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing