We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I can highly recommend. Located on the hill with a beautiful view. Excellent service provided by the owners, the best home made wine I have ever had, organic and home made food...My two-year-old daughter loved the animals on the farm and the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
131
70
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) had a memorable vacation at Podere il Poggiolo. Serena and Alesandro are excellent hosts. Serena is an incredible chef who was able to handle our complex food allergy issues (gluten free, cane sugar free, vegetarian, etc). The rooms were extremely clean and had a nice rustic charm. We felt so spoiled with our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Italy and we chose to go to Florence as suggested by a friend. He was also the one who suggest we stay at Podere il Poggiolo. Although hard to find - about an hours drive from Florence city centre, the drive was worth it!
The drive up to the villa was initially tough but once you get used to it, it is quite a breeze. The property is a charm - old farm charm up in the mountainous range. Serena and Alessandro are the owners and Serena is also a great cook at that! More of that later.
The villa we stayed in was good for four of us - my two teenage sons, my wife and I. The price we paid for included breakfast and dinner (half board). Great value for money!
From the moment we checked in, Serena was a wonderful hostess showing us around the property. Alessandro helped us with our luggages and showed us our rooms which was a comfortable villa with our own bathroom.
The morning after we checked in was wonderful - the clouds were just covering the property and when we walk out of the villa, we could see the cloud cover at the horizon with the sun shining. Breakfast was a full Italian breakfast with bread, cheese and several types of ham and salami.
The property is clean and the dining area was somewhat special - instead of hard flooring, they used granite pebbles as flooring - unique!
I must say that Serena is a great cook - we enjoyed every meal while we were there, especially looking forward to dinner. Pasta was home-made and every dish was cooked by Serena. Although we did not have the bistecca alla fiorentina (we don't eat beef), I heard great comments from friends whom I had recommended to stay there. They say it is one of the best beef they had. During dinner, we were served freshly pressed olive oil and also organic Chianti. Alessandro explained that the wine was organic and made around their area. The wine was smooth as silk and although organic did not lose its "Tuscan" characteristic. Serena will explain every dish to you - what goes into cooking it and how it is actually cooked.
The whole property is as one would expect from a "farm stay". There are 3-4 villas (I think), a dining area separate from the villas and Serena cooks in her own kitchen across from the dining area. There is even a small shed with some animals - a donkey, some dogs and pigs too. There is an outdoor pool but because we were there in December, we did not have a chance to use it.

Around the area
1. Shopping - The Florence Outlet Mall is around 30 minutes away by car. Plenty of high end brands like Ferragamo, Gucci, Valentino, Tods, Bottega Venetta etc. You can spend one day just shopping there. Suggest you go there first thing in the morning at opening (10am) and then grab lunch before the main crowd comes in at noon and then continue shopping while they lunch.
2. San Gimignano - a nice drive away from Podere il Poggiolo is the town of San Gimignano. Beautiful castle and a nice drive around the Tuscan Valley.
3. Montalcino - From San Gimignano, we drove to Montalcino to soak in the wine making region that makes the famous Brunello di Montalcino and Russo di Montalcino.
Both San Gimignano and Montalcino has a rustic charm that we loved. Old castles, unexplored church grounds, great pizzas, pasta and gelato etc.

The only downside is the drive up the villas. It tales at least 20-30 minutes from the foot of the hill up some windy road. But once you can overcome that, the drive up is worth it - definitely! I will recommend any family to stay at Podere il Poggiolo for that special experience.
Serena is a great hostess and an excellent chef. If you like, ask her about picking olives and pressing olive oil. I am sure she will oblige if you are willing.

Truth be told - we visited Podere il Poggiolo in December of 2010 but only came to writing this review now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiesng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at Podere iL Poggiolo for 4 nights from 9/29/12- 10/02/12. We were very pleased. First, Serena and Alessandro are wonderful people and wonderful hosts. The property is beautiful, the accomodations very nice and the food, especially the Tuscan dinner was just amazing. You will definitely need a car, but it is well worth it. This is a truly special Tuscan experience. We would return without question. A great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just had a week at Podere il Poggiolo - Myself, my husband, daughter, son-in-law and 1 year old grand-daughter Polly. A wonderful location with amazing views. The owners Alessandro and Serena are such a lovely couple, so welcoming and hospitable and passionate about their home and their business, and they want to share it with you. You can choose to self-cater, bed and breakfast or have half-board. We self-catered, as we had friends we were visiting in the area, but when we did have meals in their rustic, atmospheric restaurant, they were just superb, particularly the evening meal, which 'keeps coming, and keeps coming'!! Good job we only had a short distance to walk to our truly Tuscan apartment! Their land is so lovely for walking in, the vineyards, the vegetable garden, visiting the animals etc. And the pool, where we spent a lot of time relaxing. We hope to make it a regular holiday destination - as it is an oasis of calm in this busy world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicah38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My sister & I visited this place about 2 weeks ago..Serena & Alessandro (the owners) are the best!! they made us feel like home =* I bet Serena & Alessandro won't forget me & my sis who screamed when their dogs (Chika & Arno) tried to get to know us the moment we arrived there... :))
the food was excellent and the dining room was pretty...not to mention the atmosphere of the dining room really really made us wanted to eat a lot ;p........and what amazed us, there were a donkey, a pig & a pony in 1 cage...very funny!!..and the donkey (geppeto -- is that the correct spelling, Serena?? ;p) is so cute ;p
the room we stayed is lavanda...very clean..and very cozy .. there was a kitchen too (all complete with plates and so on)..there was a table & chairs outside the room, so we could sit & enjoy the view ..very relaxing..
it's highly recommended to visit this place...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ita_Irawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We loved staying at this homey argruiturismo. The food was wonderful for breakfasts and dinner. We enjoyed the numerous courses for dinner in a candle lit room and with Italian music playing in the background. We had our own apartment which had a kitchenette, a refrigerator, a table and chairs and a small bed in one room, bathroom and bedroom. Right outside the apartment are fig trees and olive trees and nearby was a peach tree. The owners are wonderful and helpful. You do need a car to get to this place as it is high up from the town below. The view from the place is gorgeous. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KindwomanFA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontassieve
0.8 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
96 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
324 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
560 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 412 in Florence
1,112 reviews
9.4 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo

Property: Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
Address: Via San Eustachio in Acone 45, 50065, Pontassieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Pontassieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in Chianti Rufina . The farm position is wonderful because is on the hill with panoramic view on olive growe ... We are just 23 km from Firenze and 3 km from the nearest station train, so in few time you can arrive in the historical centre of Firenze by train too. We produce wine, extra vergin olive oil and we have a kitchen garden, everything with organic method , runed by us : me, my husband and Vittorio (18 years)Our farm is composed in just 5 apartament and 2 doublerooms, so the atmosfera is very quite and relaxing. Each apartament is totaly indipendent with its private entrance, view on olivegrowe . In the farm you find a big swimmingpool ( 13,5 x 6 mt) and a big and new HORSE RIDINGS arena with horses . restaurant for the farm guests with tuscan recipies hand made every accomodation has : indipendent entrance, space outside private, wi-fi , air condition, cable tv. we are happy to host you and give you a charming , magic and tasting Holiday in TOSCANA ciao!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Podere Il Poggiolo Pontassieve, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing