We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Barbados and the Coral Mist is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We have stayed at the Coral Mist and the Blue Orchid at least 10 times and find it delightful. The rooms at the Coral Mist all have balconies that open on to the beach. The roar of the ocean completely masks the busy road noise. The maid service is very good. If you like deluxe hotels with 200 rooms, swim up bars, and a disco, this hotel is not for you, but if you want friendly staff, a convenient location on the beach, a small kitchen and beautiful vistas, this is for you.

It is right on one of the most beautiful beaches in Barbados and is almost private as access is limited. The ocean can be somewhat rough depending on the weather, but Rockley Beach and the beaches at St Lawrence Gap are a short walk away. There are lots of casual inexpensive restaurants nearby. We never rent a car, the buses and jitneys take you everywhere and run frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarmichaelGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 526 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

Located right on the beach, very comfortable rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. We had never stayed on the South Coast before, but after 35 years of professional travelling around the world, this hotel gets my vote. The staff are great, the service is 5* but it's small enough to be personal. OK, It's not the Mandarin BKK, but the location and atmosphere make it very special. Try Champers restaurant nearby for excellent food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aviateur81130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We have just returned from a brief stopover at Coral Mist Hotel on our way home from another island in the Caribbean. This was our second stay at the hotel. I guess we forgot how noisy the road was. Coral Mist is in an excellent location on the island but unfortunately right beside the main road which seemed to be busy both day and night. The diesel fumes were dreadful. The pool is right beside the road.
The staff at Coral Mist is its greatest asset. They are all very friendly and helpful. However, we were not too thrilled that someone forgot our wake-up call; the manager insisted on power washing the walkway for what seemed like an eternity; the bar staff said they were still discussing the possibility of 'happy hour' (which they offered 2 years ago) and our room was not made up until 3 o'clock.
The rooms are pleasant and the kitchen well-equipped. However, the towels are pretty thin and one has to request more than one at a time. There are no light blankets on the beds and I am sure the bed spreads are not washed between guests.
The restaurant served an excellent, well-priced lunch.
This is a place to stay briefly. I would certainly not recommend it for a longer period unless you like noise and diesel fumes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canadiantravellers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Barbados is such a brilliant country that here we were, back for our 4th visit in as many years, 3rd time at the Coral Mist. We were greeted like old friends at the reception desk - a very welcome surprise!
We were given this time a room on the first floor, with a view directly over the adjoining sister hotel - initially a bit of a disappointment which turned out to be very fortuitous once Hurricane Tomas hit later in the holiday! Previously we had been in higher rooms further along which have a direct and unihibited view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.
The room was uniform with the ones we had had previously, very spacious, very clean, with a fully stocked kitchen including proper oven, microwave, kettle, and the all-important bottle opener!
When I first visited Barbados I thought there was no way we would be cooking on the oven - but as food and eating out is quite expensive, we had several lovely meals in the room with local food bought at the supermarket (which is just down the road).
The bathroom is huge with a large shower that is always the right temperature - no shuddering with blasts of icy water followed by a cascade of boiling water as in some hotels I've been in!
As soon as we arrived we nipped out to the Kan'ei Beach bar to the left of the hotel, for a 2 for 1 sundowner drink - heaven - although this beach bar has not got the friendliest staff, but the view is amazing across Rockley Beach, watching the golden sun slip down behind purple clouds.
The beach at the Coral Mist is little-used, but does seem to be getting smaller! There are free loungers and sun umbrellas, and the sea itself is warm, with sand underfoot if you do a little weave through the rocks which seem to have sprung up at the shoreline year on year. This year we even saw baby turtles hatching and scrambling down to the water - the eggs they hatch from look exactly like bashed up ping pong balls - fascinating!
We hired a car (they drive on the left hoorah!), and visited out favourite restaurant on the island - the Fish Pot at Good Little Harbour near (but not in) Speightstown. We sat at a table with an open window which is directly on the small beach and looks towards the glittering blue Caribbean Sea - it always reminds me of that Duran Duran video from the 80s - you expect to see Simon le Bon standing legs akimbo on a fast-moving yacht with waves crashing round the bows! Ok got a bit carried away there but it is a magical location - and this is near the area where all the multi-millionaires have homes - Cowell, Lloyd Webber, and of course the location for the famous Sandy Lane complex where the Royals go.
Halfway through our holiday though Hurricane Tomas hit - although it was officially still Tropical Storm Tomas when it barelled into Barbados, it was still very frightening - apparently the worst storm the island had seen in 44 years - typical to hit when we were there! We were in our room and initially had the TV still on, with the most laid-back presenter you could possibly imagine - he had a glass of rum punch next to him and was taking calls from distressed islanders whose homes were being blown apart in the wind - it was hysterical and so so different from British news reports which would have been total drama and hype - this was more 'Oh well, your roof has just blown off, don't worry man - chill and have a rum punch!'.
Then the TV and lights went off in the hotel and my partner battled his way downstairs (the walkways are exposed) to reception where only one member of staff had managed to get in - he just told him to stay in our room. We barricaded the double bed against the patio doors, as we were afraid they were going to blow in (along with the palm tree and the flying bin lids and bits of roof!) and we put water and chairs etc into the bathroom in case we had to escape into there. It was scary and you felt totally helpless. However, this was where the other hotel in front of us came in handy - it acted as a big concrete buffer to the elements. The hotel's generator kicked in for a while, which made us feel a bit safer, and after about 4 hours the all-clear was given. Other rooms on the ground floor had been totally flooded, so we were lucky. Hotel staff were great - new towels etc were provided, and as the warm sun came out the flooding miraculously disappeared in a matter of hours. We felt very ucky that the island had not been hit as badly as others in the area.
We tried Brown Sugar traditional Bajan restaurant one evening - I was so looking forward to it as I wanted to try the trad colonial cuisine - but although the atmosphere, service and decor was wonderful, the food although plentiful is very very rich, and sometimes a bit alien to western palates - pig's foot etc!
We also went to The Boatyard beach complex - with big blow up trampolines to bounce on in the water and a pier you can leap off. Food here is good, and the bar well-stocked - but best if you go when the cruise ships parties are not there - as then it gets very very busy! My partner also had a go at jet-skiing, disappearing round the bay to Bridgetown!
He also booked up at Zed's surfing school down beyond Oistins which is a lovely, hidden away area below the airport - great tuition and I lazed on a sunbed with my book under the shade of a palm tree and watched him do his Hawaii Five Oh impression (ish) on the crashing waves.
We took several strolls along the newly-built Boardwalk along from Worthing (where the Coral Mist is) to Hastings - when we first went to Barbados this area was quite run-down and looked like it had not been touched since the 1970s - but now the boardwalk has walkers, cyclists, runners and skaters zooming along it, and there are many restaurants to choose from.
I would thoroughly and completely recommend Barbados as a fab holiday - it is safe to walk around (unlike many Caribbean islands), and the reggae buses and local buses are cheap and frequent, and the taxis although quite expensive have very friendly drivers and are plentiful.
It's one of the few places I have been where we have not been hassled - the only place you get it is in Bridgetown from the taxi drivers trying to take you back to the cruise ships (even when you tell them you are not on a cruise!).
Reggie is still at the hotel organising cars, trips etc, with his usual chirpy chappy demeanour, and the pool is still lovely (although shut for a time when we were there after the storm - as most of the poolside furniture was floating in it!)
There is only one aspect of the Coral Mist which falls below par in my opinion and that is the restaurant - I think they are pretty surly and nonchalant and let the rest of the hotel staff down big-time! That's my only gripe.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allliemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed for 10 nights on the 18th January in a ground floor studio 110. Firstly the staff were all exceptional very efficient and friendly, wish all hotels were like that. The studio was very clean, large kingsize bed, table and chairs and doors opening onto the outside patio which is a stones throw from the sea. The kitchenette is adequate with a super large fridge/freezer. Our bathroom had only a shower fairly powerful, the only upgrading I would say needed is that the tiles could do with re-grouting. There is a door which you can shut between the main living area and the kitchenette, which also shuts off any sounds of the road at night. The main road is outside but only loud from the bathroom and not always. With the doors closed and the sound of the sea I slept very well and I am a light sleeper and also 5 months pregnant. Very good a quiet air conditioning. Only negative in our studio there was an interconnecting door to next doors 1 bed apt, if they were near the door you could hear them a bit, but you don't spend all day in! so benefits outweighed this. The pool is small, not for lapping the one next door is slightly bigger and set in shady gardens.
A tip for shopping turn right out of the hotel and walk 5 mins to the Shell garage, turn left (ignore the supermarket on the opposite side of the road), walk up until you see the 3 B'S supermarket sort of up behind the garage. Really good range of food like much you would get at home, being a veggie I was very happy to find veggie burgers etc and soya milk you can even make it back in time to get the ice cream in the freezer!
We did not walk to the gap but got a taxi $15 barbados dollars, though its not far to walk. Fantastic restaurant there called Harlequins good value for Barbados with large portions, but very popular, so book in advance (reception will do this for you). Went to Champers up the hill left out of hotel, good food but expensive £70 for two courses (no alcohol or dessert), again book in advance ask for a terrace table next to the sea.
Beaches- Worthing beach is quiet if you are there when it is high tide during the day you would be lucky to be able to sit on it. Quite rough at the Hotels end I did not venture in there due to condition, but swam at the other end.
Most days we went to Accra beach next door 5 min walk max, left out of the hotel.
Very calm sea, shelving very safe for children, you can hire sun loungers and umbrellas $15 for two all day, and we used to go back to the studio for lunch then return to them no problem just tell the chap that's what your doing. At the left of the beach you will see out at sea two funnels sticking out of the water, its a barge covered in coral and fish. Best to snorkel first thing when visibility is clear, easy snorkel no hidden currents, can be choppy at low tide.
Thoroughly recommend the Coral Mist as a reasonably priced place to stay and enjoy Barbados. Thank you to all the staff, especially Fiora for her smiles and for getting us a different room for a late check out so I could have a sleep. Hope to go back in a few years with the baby!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharliesGirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This was the fifth hotel we have stayed at in Barbados on the South Coast and this one has a great location near to Accra/Rockley beach with loads of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel is a typical 2/3 star Barbados hotel; basic rooms but with air conditioning and a great sea view if you upgrade to a studio; which had large fridge, cooker, microwave, toaster and plenty of crockery etc. Breakfast was reasonably good, but we didn't eat any other meals there because there is no point when in Barbados as everything along the south coast is within easy reach on foot or by bus (50p pp each way). Hotel beach is small but sandy and clean, however at high tide it almost disappears. Safety deposit boxes are in reception which is the only downside since they are only big enough for jewelery and money. Hotel has a lift which is unusual for this type of accommodation. Shares site with The Blue Orchids, both run by the same family. Hotel staff very friendly. In short if the price is right stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandkev19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed for a couple of weeks at the end of October and the beginning of September 2010.
The Hotel itself is not too bad, but probably not a lot more then that.

One of the problems that we had was with the cot that we needed for our baby son, which we had originally confirmed with the tour operator was included in the price.
When we arrived we were then told it was 10 US$ per night. Not a massive expense, but as far as we were concerned we'd already paid! The Hotel wouldn't budge which was pretty irritating and didn't bode well.

We had Hurricane Tomas hit the island hard during our stay and on that note they were excellent. We were moved to a bigger and better apartment due to damage sustained when our room became rather water soaked.
We also had illness in the Children and the staff were very quick to find us a choice of doctors etc.
Because my parents are from the island we always hire a car when we visit, to travel around and see family and friends etc and from that perspective the location is perfect as its on the main road into Bridgetown.

The Fitness centre is a single multigym, a bike and treadmill in a small room, so "Fitness Centre" is probably pushing the boundaries of truth!

On the whole a nice time, but do remember you get what you pay for and this hotel is reasonably priced by Barbados standards.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalleyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
1.2 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#24 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Mist Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Address: 7 Highway, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: $109 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Mist Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Mist Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Mist Beach
Coral Mist Hotel Barbados
Coral Mist Beach Christ Church
Coral Mist Beach Hotel Barbados/Worthing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing