We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Ramallah” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Hotel

Rocky Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramallah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Ramallah B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Ramallah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a really good hotel with excellent service and really nice rooms. The complimentary breakfast is really good and you get free coffee on demand. I will definitely come back and stay at Rocky hotel on my next visit to the west bank

Room Tip: My room on the third floor was really clean and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was booked on my behalf by my employer, so I have no idea how much it cost so cannot comment on its value for money. It is very simple, nothing fancy and only the basics are provided - bed, bedding, soap, shampoo (sachets, not very nice), towels. No kettle, hairdryer, anything like that, although there is free coffee in reception 24 hours a day. The beds were quite uncomfortable and only single beds were provided, and the only bedding was a quilt and a fleece blanket - no top sheet, which made me worry about cleanliness. The heating did not work, so the room was freezing most of the time. My partner is a wheelchair user and they did try to provide for his access needs - the room was accessible by lift to the 5th floor, and he could get into the room in his wheelchair. There was not really enough room to move around the room easily and the bathroom was not accessible at all. They accommodated him by placing a garden chair into the shower cubicle, which was tiny so he was very cramped and uncomfortable. The shower head was broken and didn't stay up by itself so I had to tie it up with string. The towels provided weren't great, and sometimes we were only given half-towels (standard towels cut in half and re-hemmed). We were provided food in a buffet style (we were there as part of a festival group, so I am not sure if food is normally provided or if this was a special instance); the food was very basic, for example roast chicken, boiled peas & carrots, rice, salad for dinner. Breakfast was hummus, salad, hard boiled eggs, bread, cornflakes, milk etc. The food was OK taste wise, but I am not sure about their sanitation and they did not provide adequate facilities for keeping food warm, so the buffet food was often tepid and thus much more likely to have accumulated bacteria. I did get quite sick after one of the dinners. Also, perhaps as a money saving measure, they seemed to turn off the hot water in the afternoon, so showering early in the morning was a must for a hot shower!
As Palestine is an area under occupation, perhaps it is hard times for all and this is the best quality that can be provided. I did not see or stay in any other hotels for comparison. If the hotel is cheap, perhaps it is a good option, it seemed safe and provided a basic place to stay, but I certainly would avoid it if you want luxury or even very good quality accommodation.

Room Tip: Go above the 3rd floor if possible, as they often party loud and late into the night on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmeMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow this hotel was fantastic it was just amazing the lobby was very fancy. I loved the price of my room and the way it looked. I stayed there for a whole week and i have to say i really felt comfortable in the enviorment. The owner was a nice guy. Last I liked the food arabic food is the bomb. This hotel gets the five stars it deserves nice job Rocky Hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotboy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel was a decent good price it was definately worth while in staying here I would give a shoutout to this hotel when i return home. So lets begin with the hotel details. People were great and the rooms were fantastic. The greatest part of this hotel was the elevator anyways AMAZING :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank One_Direction_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Food was just delicious, the rooms were huge at a good price and everything is near the amazing hotel no other words can explain how fun my trip was. Oh one last thing the owner is just a sweatheart very good generous man whatever you want he will provide with it and on top of that he wont take no money from you loved the people there im definatly customet now :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just spent 5 days at the ROCKY, the rooms are more than adequate I had a choice of three beds every time I came back to my room I expected to be greeted by the three bears .I had a large on suite bathroom, towels changed every day.the TV and satellite were a little awkward to operate, but the very helpful staff were great and gave me full instructions. I had taken a travel kettle but forgot to pack cups again the staff provided me with cups. The Manager can be found most days in the foyer area and is very helpful, if you need to know anything he is the man to ask.
Coffee is always available in the foyer this is strong Turkish coffee and is free just help yourself a couple of cups really gives you a caffeine high, strong enough to wake the dead .Breakfast is good cold European style buffet, cheese, sliced meat, boiled eggs a variety of spreads and breads and fruit, eat as much as you want.All in all a very good budget hotel, I will definitely stay again on my next visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed here two times, a year apart from each other for over a week each and there is just something special about this place. The rooms and everything about the building leave a bit to be desired, but the staff is amazingly friendly and accommodating. The rooms look like maybe there was a going out of business sale at another hotel about 20 years ago. There is wifi almost throughout the hotel, but it is only reliably fast in the lobby. The owner actually moved the router next to my room on my second visit to help. Breakfast is nearly non-existant, but there are a couple supermarkets just up the road and refrigerators in the rooms. The owner is a great guy, and if you spend enough time hanging out in the lobby he might invite you for a smoke, falafel, or to listen to some of his opinions on politics. There's an extra sense of security because the hotel lies on the Area A line and there are armed PA guards posted outside the hotel 24 hours. You can even see Jerusalem from the upstairs balcony. It's about a 15 minute easy walk into Al Manara, or a 10 sheckel taxi ride, or a 2.5 sheckel bus ride.

Room Tip: Higher rooms buffer the noise from occasional parties on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy27887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramallah hotels
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Hotel Ramallah
Casablanca Hotel Ramallah
#6 of 9 in Ramallah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Ramallah
0.0 mi away
St Andrew's Guesthouse Ramallah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taybeh Golden Hotel
Taybeh Golden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ramallah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Area D Hostel
Area D Hostel
#1 of 6 in Ramallah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Park Hotel
Grand Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramallah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Hotel

Property: Rocky Hotel
Address: Al Masion Heights | P.O. Box: 1229, Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Location: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Ramallah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ramallah
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Rocky Hotel Ramallah, Palestinian Territories

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing