We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest truth the O for Oceania stands for Outstanding”
Review of Ikos Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ikos Oceania
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Certificate of Excellence
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Honest truth the O for Oceania stands for Outstanding”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as repeat guests on 4 May for 12 nights. This hotel continues to amaze me with both the small and major improvements it makes year on year.To be honest it must cost a fortune. Example the branded cans of soft drinks in the mini bar (new this year) & the refurbishment of all the furniture in the reception / bar areas (certainly cost loads). The standards are high and continually improving. To be honest they are experts in how customer service should be and other AI hotels should take note. This is were I have to disagree with Xina1981London & Ben C from London as a) the Greek restaurant Erodious in town is still provided by the hotel, the food is exceptional and typically Greek as it is a Greek restaurant in the local Village of Neo Moudania b) I have been to Turkey and have not found any hotel to be of the standard of Oceania especially when you look at their service level which is second to none. Sorry guys but at least be honest about this as this is one of the many things that make this hotel excel.The service from all staff at this hotel is second to none even with rude guests so cant see were u could possibly complain on that front.C) The service at this hotel is second to none and the most picky eater can find a great choice of good quality food to choice from.
The management lead by example and are hands on, in doing so the employees are an extended family, which in my view is why they retain such good staff. Well done for that because that is not easy in this business.
Special mention to Maria front office manager and all of her staff, you are all amazing please don't change. Timo, Dionissis & Livui as you lead this team to a very high stand. The smiles on your staff say it all, they obviously enjoy their jobs.
We stayed in block 5 with the private pool which is highly recommended as you have all day snacks provided on demand by Veggelis the chef (who is amazing even when you want to make a change to the set menu). Eva & George who really word hard and cannot do enough for you running around the sunbeds constantly they could make you dizzy and in that heat. Not to mention Radu this place would not be the same without you (you are part of the funiture).
The unsong heroes in my opinion are the maids & ground staff that work effortlessly with a smile on their face all day long. This is the best hotel in the med in our opinion and what a welcome you receive from start to finish. A few names to point out were Victoria in the Thelassa Dining room, Anna in the Italian, Margarita in the Asain and Daffy, George, Otto, Theona, Mai and the chef in the Greek Panos. Timo where the hell do you find such good staff, you should bottle this and sell it to other countries! Special thanks to Yannis the executive chef & Thomas the Sous chef, they cook and display the food to the highest standards . Please take note here if you have special food requirements they are the men to ask and can point you in the right direction.
To sum this place up it ticks all the boxes in our eyes and the standards are set higher year on year, how else do you get repeat guests year on year? Well done Oceania for another unforgettable holiday.
We will see you in September and are hoping Almost30sometjing from Essex and Xina1981London and Ben C from London please find a place they are happy with because we are picky but couldn't fault you. Keep up the good work! You are all fantastic and dont let anything get you down!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KFox1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,306
    420
    101
    20
    4
See reviews for
1,250
1,146
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is lovely. The all inclusive option is certainly worth it. We booked with Thomsons and the hotel room was nice. We were in block 1 on the third floor and had a great sea view. there is a complimentary mini bar in the room with soft drinks, beer, wine and spirits. We originally had a bottle of red wine, a litre bottle of absolute vodka and a bottle of ouzo. This was exchanged on the third day by the hotel for miniature bottles of varied spirits which suited us better as this meant we also got gin. Speaking of alcohol the bars served international spirits if you asked for them and the staff regularly came round the pool/beach to serve you.
The pool area was spotless and the pool was cool but refreshing once in! You could have pool towels changed daily so you don't need to take your own.
The beach was popular but we only walked along it and paddled. There were rocks but they had made a walkway of sandbags to get you out over them to the sandy part.
All of the staff in the resort were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.
The food was superb, the buffet had a huge variety of food which was never the same on an evening. We tended to eat breakfast and lunch at the Greek Taverna by the pool and George and all the staff there were so attentive.
You can have 3 visits per week to the a la carte restaurants and we ate in all 3 on site. Here you chose your food and wine from a menu like you would in a usual restaurant. We preferred the Italian and the Greek restaurant.
The neck, shoulder and back massage at the spa is to be recommended and was about 36 euro with a 20% discount that the hotel had on last week.
The only negatives were there were quite a few children that were allowed to run around the bar in reception on an evening whilst their parents took advantage of the all inclusive alcohol!
Also there was not much to do in the surrounding area. The nearby town was a bit run down as you approached it but improved the further in you went. there were a few bars and restaurants but we only stopped for a beer so can't really recommend anywhere.
Twice a week the entertainment staff put on shows and mama Mia was worth watching.
I would definitely consider this hotel again. If you are after a relaxing break with good food and attentive staff this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a 1 week holiday to the Oceania Club.

Firstly, I must comment that overall it was a very pleasant holiday (apart from the weather). However, if it is sold to you as a 5* resort, then don't believe this - it is not. It is worthy of 4* or 4*+ at very best.

What lets this hotel down is food and service.

Rooms - perfectly nice, comfortable, clean, fairly modern. Wi Fi signal not very strong in the room, but not too bad. But the walls and ceilings were paper thin - you could here people talking I. The room next door, every movement above you - this was annoying. And people that we met on holiday said the same for their rooms. Greek soundproofing perhaps not up to UK standards?!

Pools - nice, big, clean. But be aware that the large pool is freezing! Or fresh, at least! Personally I quite like that, but it can be a bit prohibitively cold for some people. It is not a heated pool, so maybe it was just cold as went in early June rather than in August/September? However, it was a lovely infinity pool whee you can swim to the edge and look over the ocean, so that is great. Sunbeds/parasols etc all fine and comfortable.

Pool bar staff - friendly, helpful and attentive, but if you want a drink you're better off getting up to get it. They come round and offer drinks, but it takes a while until they reappear with the drink. In the context of an apparently 5* hotel! they are understaffed in this area.

Beach and beach bar - lovely sandy beach, you can walk for quite a distance along the beach, they have pedalos/windsurfing boards etc that you can take out. They have a little kids area with buckets and spades etc where they will watch your kids for 30 mins if you want to go for a swim. Again, beds and parasols etc are fine. Friendly staff at beach bar right by beach. To get to the beach, you just have to walk down some steps or a long ramp (50-75m) to the beach.

Food and service - you can only eat your evening meal in the a la carte restaurants 3 times per week (so the other nights you have to settle for buffet or room service, which is included in the package).


We ate at the Greek restaurant that the hotel runs down in the town, the Greek taverna next to the pool, and the Asian restaurant. All 3 meals were really good, excellent service and excellent food, particularly the 2 restaurants on site (rather than down in the town). There was also an Italian a la carte which we didn't try. The fact that the meals here were so tasty made the disappointment with the buffet restaurant all the greater. Because these meals were exactly what we expected of a 5* restaurant.

Buffet restaurant - ok at best. Certainly not befitting of a 5* hotel. Not enough choice of quality food, not enough variety from one night to the next. When we asked for the chef to make fish fingers and chips for our daughter (she was fed up of spaghetti bolognese or pomodoro) they were perfectly happy to make it especially for her, so no complaints there, but the fish looked like an Iceland special - or worse. Not tasty or appetising at all. The buffet was just not good enough at all in this restaurant. And the service matched it. They were perfectly helpful when you actually got them over to you, but they were I attentive and unprofessional. There was also the understaffing here too and that's what lead to problems. There weren't enough staff (or they weren't good enough - I don't know which) to ensure you could sit straight down at an already-laid table. They didn't offer drinks quickly and half of them didn't have a sufficient grasp of English to understand exactly what we were asking for. Unfortunately my Greek is worse than their English!

Kids club/entertainment - this was very good, they take kids from 4 upwards and have a small soft play area, cinema area, tables tennis, drawing/arts and crafts etc, so that is great.

Adult entertainment - they have a nightclub, we had a karaoke night, some adults and kids disco, quiz night, they have a theatre where they had a show one night. This was all fine.

All in all, it was a good holiday and we enjoyed everything except for

1) 3 days of bad weather
2) buffet food and service
3) the fact that you can here everything next to you and above you in your room

I would recommend it, as long as you don't expect it to be a true 5* place then you won't be disappointed. We have stayed in 5* hotels worldwide and this is far below that standard.

Room Tip: Stay in a top floor room so you don't hear chairs and things scraping across the floor above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the airport we were treated like royalty!
A Mercedes taxi was waiting for us on time with booster seat ready for our little girl. 30 mins car journey and we arrive to be greeted from the lovely members of staff whom instantly held my daughters hand and welcomed her to the hotel! So sweet!
We were given a glass of sparkling wine, cases taken from us, easy check in, then we were taken to our room in a golf buggy. The staff really do not let you lift a finger!
Once we entered the room it was an instant wow...breath taking views across the Aegean sea. We couldn't of been happier.
Fully stocked mini bar everyday with branded alcohol, 24hr room service included, amazing food in every part of the hotel, so so clean, and I mean amazingly clean. Even in the pool toilets and at the beach.
Kids club... Unbelievable, amazing. Our now not so shy little girl wanted to be in there everyday with Maria and Dimitra. The girls are amazing, it's like a blooming nursery from the UK. Our daughter made cookies, pizza. She did athletics on the beach etc. Amazing!
I cannot rate this hotel high enough, the staff and cleanliness of this hotel make it 5 stars. Such a wonderful stay, can't wait to return. Thank you to all at Oceania xxxx

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is by far the best hotel I've stayed in, this was my 4th visit, and I'm already looking to go back again next year! Superb hotel, staff make you feel very welcome, very clean place, even the manager Timo had time for a chat with me, all in all it's hard to find any faults with this hotel, so I'm not sure where some of the negative reviews have come from.
A big thanks to Timo and all staff, we can't wait to return, keep up the good work guys, cheers

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

As a couple in our early sixties we were looking for a 5* fully inclusive hotel and a week in the Greek sunshine. We chose the week before half term to ensure we would have a reasonably peaceful holiday. The hotel is everything that previous reviews suggest- a true 5* hotel, very good food, especially in the specialist restaurants and wonderful friendly service. Our room was very clean and tidy, with a well stocked mini bar. We were slightly disappointed with the sea view in that another large building blocked most of our sea view.
Our surprise was the 50/70 under five children running around the reception and the pool area. The dining area does have a separate small area for "Adults Only" although this is open to the constant noise level and the overall feeling is that you are in a school canteen. In fairness it is a lot quieter in the specialist restaurants.
The children and their parents seemed to be having a great holiday which is clearly what this hotel aims to achieve.
Very good hotel but not for couples who want a bit of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishballad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

One word should do it for all...... """PERFECT"" ........ Nice and friendly staf. Beautiful hotel and very clean. Service at the beach bar by Eva & C° was top. Wonderfull breakfast. We will come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeGeVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Moudania
10.2 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 6 in Sani
2,928 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
10.8 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 6 in Sani
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 6 in Sani
841 reviews
3.8 mi away
Potidea Palace Hotel
Potidea Palace Hotel
#2 of 4 in Nea Potidea
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sokratis Hotel
Sokratis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Nea Moudania
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikos Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikos Oceania

Property: Ikos Oceania
Address: | Oceania Club, Nea Moudania 632 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Moudania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikos Oceania 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the crystal blue Aegean, the luxurious Ikos Oceania is located 30 minutes from Thessaloniki International Airport.The highlight of this stunning setting is the 350m long natural sandy beach, fringed by pines, olive groves and cypress trees. Dispersed amongst the 15 acres of well-groomed gardens, the spacious, elegant guest rooms and suites offer panoramic sea views with Mount Olympus in the background. As of 2015, Oceania will feature four a la carte restaurants along with the Flavors international buffet restaurant. Guest will find six superb bars indoors or in the lavish gardens. The Infinite Lifestyle Dine-Out program offers guests the opportunity to enjoy the authentic menus offered by local restaurants in the nearby picturesque town of Nea Moudania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikos Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Club Hotel Nea Moudania
Oceania Hotel Kassandra
Oceania Club Halkidiki
Oceania Greece
Oceania Club Greece
Oceania Resort Greece
Ikos Oceania Greece/Halkidiki - Nea Moudania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing