We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday in Europe”
Review of Ikos Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ikos Oceania
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Holiday in Europe”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Been to Oceania eight times now and have never had a complaint about anything or any staff. Everybody is fantastic and can't do enough to help. Nothing is too much trouble. All staff members are fantastic and it would be unfair to name individuals as they all represent their respective departments and ultimately the hotel, this comment includes all departments from house keeping to reception staff, waiters and management. This is a brilliant holiday that I would recommend to anybody old or young. We are already looking forward to going back next year. ingy859

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ingy859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,306
    420
    101
    20
    4
See reviews for
1,250
1,146
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults & 2 children ages 11 and 7. We all had a fabulous 10 days here.

The staff were fantastic all around the hotel, especially around the swimming pools where they brought the drinks to you all day. Cocktails and beer are of high quality and the food in all the restaurants was fantastic.

The evening entertainment was just brilliant, Mama Mia, Michael Jackson etc.

Nationalities were 40% UK 40% Russian 10% mix of Greek, French, German.

Kids club was the best we have ever experienced, the kids loved it.

We stayed in building number 4, ground floor where you get a good sized balcony, garden and fantastic views of the ocean.

Everyone was very friendly, we met some great people and are thinking of booking it again for next summer.

Not good if you are unstable on your feet as there are a lot of steps to get down to the beach or a steep road approx 50 meters long. There is a public road that splits the hotel from the beach but security guards are there 24 hours to stop kids alone trying to leave through the gate.

Great selection of watersports on the beach, speed boat hire 90 euros an hour, jet ski 40 euros for 10 minutes, crazy couch 15 euros each or 10 euros for kids if with the kids club, free pedalos and much more.

Usual bed reserving goes on in the morning but you should get some before 9am, best ones taken by 8am but the bar manager will and did take a large group of towels off after an hour or so as they had not returned after reserving.

You have to reserve al a carte restaurants 3 days in advance but instead of queueing for half an hour or more you can use the phone to reserve.

Rooms and towels cleaned and changed daily.

20 minute walk into town which is a bit scruffy and we did not like it, ate out one night but food was not that good, much better at the hotel.

I am happy to answer any questions regarding this hotel.

Room Tip: Block 4 is excellent but block 5 has its own pools and bar for block 5 residents only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avbinthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've just got back from our 9th holiday at Oceania and still wouldn't go any where else. All the same staff were there in the bars, restaurants and housekeeping which says a lot about the hotel. We stayed in building 5 as usual which is the upgrade but well worth it. Timos the Manager did a surprise bar-b-q with a Sax player for us all which was fantastic. It went down so well they did it for the rest of the hotel on a different day. Very pleased the pool bars now have their own chefs doing a lot more meals so if you can't be bothered to go to the restaurants you can eat at the pool side. The standard of cleanliness and food on offer was exceptional but its the whole attitude of the staff that really make the holiday. They go out of their way to make your holiday a truly memorable experience. We are definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you have they are all really good with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We began our stay at the Oceania Club on 29th July 2013. We had read the great reviews on Trip Advisor and were a bit sceptical - could the hotel really be this good? I am pleased to tell you that we found it even better than the reviews suggested! We did not find the hill to be steep (as has been suggested in some reviews).

We travelled as a group of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). The rooms are large and cool. The restaurants serve wonderful, tasty, very healthy food and service at all the restaurants and bars is superb. We especially liked cocktails at the pool bar.

As a Teacher/ Education Consultant I am perhaps overly fussy about ensuring childcare is of the very best quality, and so it was wonderful to feel 100% happy about our 5 year old girl and 11 year old boy attending the hotel kids club. Both children made lots of friends through the club and as a result we met lots of lovely families with whom we will stay in touch. The children's activities were great fun and included a beach water sports session involving an inflatable couch pulled along at high speeds!!!

During child-free times we enjoyed Aqua Fit, table tennis and relaxing poolside, where table service ensures you are never without a drink. As a family we loved visiting the beach, playing ball in the pool and partaking in the evening entertainment.

The hotel management lead by example and are frequently seen visiting the restaurants and talking to guests. We found all of the staff - our cleaner, the pool bar staff, the lifeguard, the entertainment team, reception staff, the mini-bar man, mini-club staff, restaurant staff - to be extremely polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. When our daughter lost her small favourite toy (in the laundry as it turned out) it was found, washed and returned to her.

Our stay was unexpectedly cut short when the doctor who is resident at the hotel recognised that our son had appendicitis - he was alerted by Anna at the mini club. The hotel management team immediately swung into action. Maria, the Guest Services Manager, was wonderful and organised a taxi driver to take us to the hospital and stay with us to help with translation. She also ensured we had the right documentation and a bag of essential supplies (food/ water) which I had not thought about at all. Timos, the General Manager, waited with us until the taxi came. Dimitris the taxi driver was brilliant and helped us to get seen very quickly, which is just as well, as our son did have acute appendicitis. He was operated on that night and needed to stay in the hospital in Thessaloniki. Maria was a constant source of support and care and organised a hotel in the city for myself and my daughter - my husband stayed at the hospital. Thomson, who were our tour company did not help at all, and the travel insurance only started to be helpful on the accommodation front once Maria had organised everything. Without Maria, I would not have been able to concentrate on our son's recovery.

When I returned to the hotel - with our daughter - to move our luggage, Dimitris came to collect us for which I am extremely grateful, and Maria and Timos were once again supportive, caring and very helpful. Maria stayed in touch throughout our extended stay and offered support if it were needed.

The hotel were even thoughtful enough to send a beautiful bunch of flowers to our son as he recovered in hospital.

We are home now (phew!) but will definitely return to the hotel next summer - or maybe even before!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 2 on the top floor which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent two weeks at Oceania last July (2012). I only wish we had gone back there this summer, and I very much regret not posting a TripAdvisor review last year.

Oceania is absolutely fabulous! The whole place is beautiful. The views are stunning. The facilities are awesome. The main pool is one of the prettiest in the world.

It's also the little things that make Oceania stand-out. You get brought drinks to your sun-lounger by the pool; the taverna is a la carte with a team who really look after you; the kid's club is brilliant, with a nightly kid's disco by the pool. They also make a real effort to make the whole place look spectacular - one evening for example there was a pool party and they decorated the whole area with white helium balloon arches and a windsurf in the water, it was gorgeous.

We had a very disappointing trip this year - thinking we'd try somewhere else and see a bit more of Greece. Big mistake. Nowhere can live up to the lovely Oceania and we will be booking in for next year ASAP.

One tip - do try and book through Thomas Cook, Thomson or Olympic Holidays rather than via Holiday Experts / Miss Ellie's travel etc. You'll find you get much better service onsite regarding trips / extras etc.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonerWithTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this holiday far later than usual and Thomson came up with a good deal, although they are not really my main choice as they add no value (and once again this proved true on this Holiday) anyway we traveled as a family of four and had one junior suite, which is just one big room so the kids were sleeping on single beds in the same room.

The Hotel is staggered on the edge of quiet a steep hill side all the buildings are no more than 3 levels for the accommodation and the main Hotel/lobby/restaurant is across 6 floors, there are three lifts connection all of this. The steps down the beach are hard work and would cause problems for people with mobility issues, however a Golf buggy can take you to and from the beach quickly as easily.

The main pool is excellent and the infinity type looking across the vast Aegean Sea, all very nice. We never had an issue with sunbeds and even at 10.30am you still had choices, I think most people favored the beach. We chose to sit on the elevate level near the large shallow children's pool, this was nice as it was very quiet and you could look over the entire pool area and people watch, we nick-named it the 'Royal Box'

Music was played and there is entertainment but its all very low-key and unobtrusive, making a change from the brashness of our holidays in Turkey.

The Beach was nice, you could swim out to a sand bar that was only near high and fish can be seen. Free Pedalos and Kayaks are there to be enjoyed. You can Hire a Jetski, and x2 Hobie Cat's.

The Beach Bar is a really nice little chill out zone and served light snacks most of the day they played more chill out dance music and it was a nice place to watch the world go by.

The food was excellent everywhere. We had 14 nights (too many, 10 would have been perfect) and with 14 nights you get 6 a la carte bookings (Greek, Asian, Italian) We found the Greek and Asian to be our favorites and by far the best is the Greek Taverna - the staff must get a mention, Daffy and George are very helpful and great to chat to.

The main buffet restaurant is very noisy as to be expected in school holiday season, chairs scraping and kids running about, the latest fad is allowing small kids to have an ipad propped up in front of the whilst they chew pasta...I just wish parents would get control of there kids, we never allowed this with our two.

We were a little disappointed on some evenings to have to queue to be seated. Certainly by our second week it was getting very busy.

Our room was nice, clean and large but at what I call 'getting ready time' the amount of chair movements and banging from all directions was unreal, they are just solid concrete buildings with little or no sound-proofing. Thankfully at night is was very quiet and we slept very well the beds and super comfy and you have proper duvets etc. Shower pressure sucked.

The pool side experience was great the waitresses all work hard, but I must make a very special mention for Tonia, Tonia is a lovely lady who is a local and works her socks off to make you happy she was bringing us drinks all day long and asking us every 5 minuets for what we'd like, most days she's surprise us with cocktails, she was lovely and the very best member of staff this hotel has - Timos take note! (He's the Hotel manager)

So in summary, yes we;d 100% recommend this Hotel, even in peak with its 900 guests it cope well, would we return, no, but only because we like trying new places.

Good points (+)

Rooms
Clean
Facilities
Superb food
Staff all very friendly (best staff, Tonia, George, Daffy, Alex, Marta in the blue bar)
Pool
Beach
Entertainment (Mamma Mia and Jacko tribute excellent)

Negatives (-)

Noisy rooms at getting ready times
Some queues
Nea Moundania is not pretty (avoid and go to Apitos by car hire)
Minor queues
Noisy main buffet
Don't use Thomson - this is nothing to do with the hotel
Our 2nd week bought new people and it was busier than we expected

Room Tip: Don't book with Thomson's they do not offer two-room family rooms, try Classic Travel we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

How nice to be back. Enjoyed the watersports, diving, and beach bar. Main restaurant atmosphere improved with no shorts in view (phew!). Still noisy though but not more than other family hotels. This time explored the area too: Pella (Alexander the Great's birthplace) and the archeological museums.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xeni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Moudania
10.2 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 6 in Sani
2,927 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
10.8 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 6 in Sani
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 6 in Sani
841 reviews
3.8 mi away
Potidea Palace Hotel
Potidea Palace Hotel
#2 of 4 in Nea Potidea
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sokratis Hotel
Sokratis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Nea Moudania
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikos Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikos Oceania

Property: Ikos Oceania
Address: | Oceania Club, Nea Moudania 632 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Moudania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikos Oceania 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the crystal blue Aegean, the luxurious Ikos Oceania is located 30 minutes from Thessaloniki International Airport.The highlight of this stunning setting is the 350m long natural sandy beach, fringed by pines, olive groves and cypress trees. Dispersed amongst the 15 acres of well-groomed gardens, the spacious, elegant guest rooms and suites offer panoramic sea views with Mount Olympus in the background. As of 2015, Oceania will feature four a la carte restaurants along with the Flavors international buffet restaurant. Guest will find six superb bars indoors or in the lavish gardens. The Infinite Lifestyle Dine-Out program offers guests the opportunity to enjoy the authentic menus offered by local restaurants in the nearby picturesque town of Nea Moudania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikos Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Club Hotel Nea Moudania
Oceania Hotel Kassandra
Oceania Club Halkidiki
Oceania Greece
Oceania Club Greece
Oceania Resort Greece
Ikos Oceania Greece/Halkidiki - Nea Moudania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing