We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water water everywhere but none to be found anywhere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ikos Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikos Oceania
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Water water everywhere but none to be found anywhere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well what can I say, it's lovely here, the town A bit rough rou d the edges but a beautiful resort let down by a few features, some the management could help with, others down to the guests...

1-it's roasting hot, and you can't get a glass if water for love nor money, they put one bottle in your free mini bar a day, if your lucky, were still here and it's 3pm and it's still not arrived... We're patched, our toddler is sleeping so we can't go down to a bar to get it. One of us called reception over an hour ago to ask we're it was, it's on it's way... No sign so we went on a water hunt to be told at reception "mini market". Now this is meant to be ultra all inclusive, there are people getting s h one t faced round the pool but no water to hydrate in our room?!? Not ultra all inclusive if you ask me, nor us being expected to buy water, nor is having a bottle slammed aggressively at you by a receptionist when you politely ask for some

2- it's full of greedy Eastern Europeans filling plates and bowls to go, taking all the fruit, all the desserts, piling it high, asking for It to be cling filmed then leaving the restaurant, it's absolutely the most shameful greed I have ever seen, I have attempted over the course of an hour three times to get my two year old a pear with no luck, each time a batch come out of the kitchen a swarm of locust appear and bag the lot

So whilst it looks lovely, under the surface it's lacking that real five star service to make it really feel like a holiday

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrandmrst10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    407
    99
    19
    4
See reviews for
1,180
1,026
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

First off, let me start by saying I came here with great expectations based on the reviews I'd read. So my review reflects that.

The rooms, while a decent size, are dated and hardly exceptional in any way (something which I would expect from a 5 star). The resort also seems overbooked, with waiting occasionally required for food and some amenities. Again, this is not something I would expect to have to deal with in a 5 star property.

The hotel works on an 'ultra all inclusive' basis which is nice in theory, but I'd personally prefer to have one good coffee today rather than five mediocre ones.

On the bright side, the food is fantastic - both in terms of variety and quality, staff is generally friendly and accommodating (though not overly so), the beach is fantastic and the weather has been absolutely phenomenal.

Perhaps I'd give this hotel 4 or even 5 stars if it cost half the money it does. But at this price tag, it really has to step up its game. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbondger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the very moment we stepped of the coach we felt like royalty, there was the manager, receptionist and porter waiting outside to greet us. Our luggage was taken off the coach for us and taken to our room, the receptionist brought us a glass of champagne while we checked in and the manager upgraded us to a suite for 2 days. What a fantastic greeting. The room and view was just gorgeous and to top it off a bottle of champagne was delivered. View straight out to the sea and as we were put in block 5 had the use of the private pool which was peaceful and the view was great. We got to try all three al a carte restaurants and its not as bad as its made out we went to book at lunch time with no issue, didn't have the '9am' queue but the times we got were 8-9 o clock. Food was gorgeous and you got to have a bottle of wine at your table. Main restaurant wasn't as roudy as made out. Food was delicious and it was different every night we ate there. Breackfast came with so many choices. We are a young couple but this hotel would be great for families, children are kept entertained morning till night. Entertainment wasn't great but we took DVDs for the room. When moved to the double room we could leave our clothes on the hanger and they took it to our booked room. This was a double room and granted not as luxurious as the suite with metal fittings now plastic but still lovely. Then we had to use the main pool which we preferred as more lively, your drinks order can be taken on your subbed and brought over to you. Perfect! Beach was nice with a gental breeze, we didn't go in the sea but again drinks brought to us. We went to the spa and had a massage and facial, it was just pure bliss. The staff all over the hotel just can't do enough. We got the shuttle to the market but don't be put off with reviews of the town being run down if u walk towards the port there are shops, bars and restaurants. We sat and just admired the view and we found the market just sold the same stuff repeated. We would return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Srichards65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

On arrival, it seemed a bit dis-organised as it wasn't communicated very clearly why we had to leave our suitcases outside by the side of the hotel... Turned out that they send everyone up to a meeting room & offer you a glass of champagne, while they run over a few basics about the hotel & hand out everyone's room keys. We then had to all traipse back down to our suitcases & stick labels on them, with our names & room numbers on..... Bit of a faff and so I asked the porter who just said he'd take us (and our cases) to our room straight away & so he loaded everything onto a golf buggy & drove us round to our room in 2 minutes flat :o) Room was massive & very impressive - we were on 3rd floor so had a lovely panoramic view of the sea. Couldn't fault most of the hotel - the only major issue we had was with the plumbing/ electrics - the toilet in our bathroom was temperamental, as was the hot water in the shower as well & then strangely one night the lights in our room and outside started flashing on/ off for a good 10 minutes at 4am.....! Never did find out what that was all about, but its not what you expect at a 5 star hotel..... The issues with the electrics also affected the lifts, more than once our closest lift was out of use. Meals were to die for - whether it was a light lunch at the Greek Taverna, main meal in the restaurant or choosing one of the a la carte options - definitely the best meals I have had on a Thomson holiday, by far. Breakfast was OK, not particularly "American" I must say - just the usual cereal/ toast/ hot food/ fruit & yoghurt - loved the Greek yoghurt, in particular & it was nice sometimes to just grab a light breakfast at the Greek Taverna & eat outside for brekkie. There was a language barrier issue with some of the staff - who would just reply yes/ no and walk away (which wasn't quite the right response to questions like - how easy is it to bus it to Thessaloniki?) but we didn't hold this against them & would just ask another member of staff who understood English a bit more..... Hotel overall was kept very clean, which was nice. The only area which seemed slightly understaffed was the main restaurant - especially if you went there around 8pm - no one seemed to take any drink orders, as they were too busy clearing all the tables away instead. Usually we ate later, but on the couple of occasions we did go earlier - it was like feeding time at the zoo. Would like to blame it all on the noisy kids, but it was more the parents who were the problem & the Russians with their watermelon fetish (they would queue & wait 15 minutes for a new tray to be brought out & then pile their plates high - leaving none for any other people). The same seemed to happen with desserts - one woman proudly came back to her table with 15 macaroons on her plate and ate about 3 of them, before leaving the rest.... Book a couple of meals into the a la carte dining options if you can - the Greek meal we had in here, was to die for. The Asian, was OK - but was disappointed that the sweet & sour pork had no flavour - it was very bland & I had to ask for some soy sauce just to add a bit of flavouring to the meal, but that aside - it had a lovely atmosphere & the service in there was amazing....... Hotel bar staff were great & definitely kept everyone's glasses full, which was fab. The evening entertainment was OK, nothing to write home about, daytime entertainment was dire - they'd be better off not bothering. People can freely use the tennis courts/ bikes/ watersports/ table tennis/ squash courts anyway & they should just leave it as that. Plenty of sunbeds round the pools. although I would say the beach could get over-crowded during the school holidays. On the 1 day we had good weather we had to scramble to find 2 sunbeds on the beach & this was at about 10am. Oddly enough, everyone seemed to disappear at around 12.30pm. So if you're not an early morning person, I would say do the pool from 10am & then head down to the beach after 12.30pm & you shouldn't have trouble finding a sunbed then. Hotel is a tad out on it's own - which wouldn't have been a problem if the sun was out 24/7 but if like us, you end up with cloudy/ rainy days - it meant you were a bit limited as there wasn't much nearby you could wander to - the town of Nea Moudania you would only visit once and only for a couple of hours, as most shops have closed & the area is slightly run-down. Hotel also has a couple of shops - expensive looking jewellery shop & a fur coat shop (obviously catering for the Russians here) and a little convenience store, with papers/ branded drinks & crisps - as well as Greek souvenirs.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view - at least this was the case in building 1 where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louisek2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel we are an older couple but do like to be among children of all ages and watch them have a good time we were not expecting so many toddlers under the age of 3 there was alot of screaming and crying. i agree with other reviews the dining room is like a canteen very noisey and not at all relaxing the food though is excellent so if having a relaxing evening meal is important then this is not the place having said that we booked the greek taverner and the aisan restauants and both were excellent.The staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: we were in block 3 very limited view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pub151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this Hotel which was a belated Birthday present from my husband.
We had a lovely room with views overlooking the sea and mountains. This was kept very clean and we would thank the staff concerned for this.
We did enjoy meals at all the a la carte restaurants they were exceptional.
We appreciated eating in the 'couples only' part of the Thalassa restaurant and the food was good especially given the numbers they cater for. It was rather un-nerving having so many children running around together with the crying and screaming and no they were not English! those who have been will know who I am referring to! I know the Hotel cannot pick and choose their customers but I do hope they will try to ensure the signs about the children in the restaurant are adhered to. There are some visitors who are not so mobile and they should be thought of too.
Having said this, we would certainly recommend this hotel and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyP1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our second time at the Oceania and hopefully it won't be our last. We were upgraded to Block 5 for our first visit and just had to book this block again for the relaxed atmosphere at the private pool and bar. From the pick up at the Airport to the trip back again we could not fault the service and attention afforded to us by the staff. The serving of daytime meals and snacks at the Taverna and poolside bar are a great introduction from last year, especially if you do not want to overindulge in the excellent selection of dishes in the Thalassa Restaurant and is more relaxing. We only booked the Taverna and the Asian speciality restaurants for evening meals but unfortunately could only eat in the Asian as on the night we went to the Taverna we were well and truly blown away due to the wind blowing up a bit strong. The Asian restaurant was a welcome break from the main restaurant and we were well looked after by Margerita. The Thalassa Restaurant provided a wide selection of dishes to suit most tastes every day with the result that our waistlines took a bit of a stretch. We did walk into Nea Moudania a few times to combat this together with walks along the beach road and up and down the various flights of steps within the well kept grounds.Our room was kept was kept spotlessly clean by the maids and the mini bar was stocked up every day. We could not tire of the view every morning from our balcony of Mount Olympus across the Adriatic Sea. We even had our bed turned down on a number of occasions when we were late back from our evening meal and several night caps in the Helios Bar. This was our favourite place in the evenings where you could have a quiet drink and make some new friends with other like minded guests. Marta should get a special mention for her hard work. All the staff should get a special thanks for looking after us so well, especially Irina and Stefan at the Olympus Bar, Kostas and Stefan in the Thalassa and not forgetting Sissy at the reception desk.
The only thing we were uncomfortable about was the inability of parents of all nationalities to stop their children from running about the Thalassa at meal times. There are enough signs in place advising guests of this but many just ignore them.
Hope to see you next year. Keep up the standards.

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms are excellent but if you want to push the boat out a bit then Block 5 should hit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Moudania
10.2 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
10.3 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sokratis Hotel
Sokratis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Nea Moudania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikos Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikos Oceania

Property: Ikos Oceania
Address: Nea Moudania 632 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Moudania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikos Oceania 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the crystal blue Aegean, the luxurious Ikos Oceania is located 30 minutes from Thessaloniki International Airport.The highlight of this stunning setting is the 350m long natural sandy beach, fringed by pines, olive groves and cypress trees. Dispersed amongst the 15 acres of well-groomed gardens, the spacious, elegant guest rooms and suites offer panoramic sea views with Mount Olympus in the background. As of 2015, Oceania will feature four a la carte restaurants along with the Flavors international buffet restaurant. Guest will find six superb bars indoors or in the lavish gardens. The Infinite Lifestyle Dine-Out program offers guests the opportunity to enjoy the authentic menus offered by local restaurants in the nearby picturesque town of Nea Moudania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikos Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Club Hotel Nea Moudania
Oceania Hotel Kassandra
Oceania Club Halkidiki
Oceania Greece
Oceania Club Greece
Oceania Resort Greece
Ikos Oceania Greece/Halkidiki - Nea Moudania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing