We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halkidiki Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikos Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ikos Oceania
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Certificate of Excellence
north london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Halkidiki Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I'm a bit late in posting this review - my husband and myself went the second week in May and quite frankly did not know what to expect as have never had an all inclusive hotel in Greece before. Obviously noted the reviews on Trip Advisor and it seemed worth the risk.

As it turned out this hotel was absolutely much more than expected in terms of service which was first class, as was the cleanliness and food.

Very impressive reception area and extremely courteous and professional staff. Was very surprised that there are not many locals (ie. Greek) on the staff but all could speak good English and were very helpful.

Had a great room in Block 4 - good sea view room, extremely clean, nice furnishings (although could do with a few more hangers, luckily we take our own as this is normal in most hotels), plenty of space in the bathroom for toiletries (big bonus!!). I am highly critical of bathrooms in hotels but found Oceania's to be very good. Would also give a mention to the staff who clean the rooms - they are doing a fantastic job, extremely friendly and don't worry about having to come back to clean your room, make the beds, etc. if you still in your room on any given day. Probably one of the best teams of cleaners I've encountered. Only one minus as far as the room is concerned and that is the hard mattress. Unfortunately this is a common problem with virtually all 4 or 5* hotels now and if you have any arthritic problems such as myself, it can be a little uncomfortable, however, found a spare pillow to lay on and this helped - not sure if you could get a "topper" for the mattress, should have asked I guess. Air con was working fine, mini-fridge was kept stocked up all the time - we only used the water but there were other drinks such as orange juice, cans of beer and wine. Small safe in the wardrobe (free) which was quite easy to use. To sum up the room - very good indeed.

We did take a time getting used to finding our way around - it can be a little confusing for the first few days, in particular where the blocks are and how to reach certain floors - maybe this needs addressing by putting more signs up. Be careful when you are getting in any lifts on the ground floor to go upstairs to the dining room and bars, etc. We were about to enter a lift which had been standing open for a while and suddenly the door closed very quickly. My husband caught his arm leaving a nasty bruise. He didnt make a fuss about it, but this is just to serve as a warning.

The dining area was also very good and of an evening you are shown to a table. I'm glad to say that the tables were very well spaced out so you were not sitting on top of other people. If you are a couple you are offered a table in their area for couples only, which was an extremely nice touch, peace and quiet if you want it! The waiters and waitresses were most attentive with drinks for you on sitting at your table and the buffet meals were very good - we never got bored at all - plenty of fish, meats, veggie items, salads, soup, freshly grilled foods but best of all an extremely good choice of desserts, in fact so many that you could really gorge yourself and take a bit of everything, it was all so nice. We did not try the a la carte restaurants (ie. Asian, Italian and Greek) as you had to book several days beforehand and were more than satisfied with the buffet in the main restaurant.

I would like to also give a amention to the great team and guys and girls who work in the bars both during the day and evening - they were very attentive, professional and friendly and I really can't sing their praises enough. You were never left waiting for very long!

The swimming pool area was better than some 5* hotels I have been in - plenty of room around the loungers, good little bar - standard issue of two cards per couple to get towels - very efficient in that area. We often went down to the beach area and used the bar down there - again very nice staff who didnt leave you waiting for long. Please note that there are two lots of steps to get from the hotel down to the beach area. As you leave the hotel the steps to your right are slightly less than the steps to your left (swimming pool area) - just a trivial note in case you worry about these things which I do. Found the steps no problem at all (60+ on the left side and 40+ on the right hand side!!).

On the far end of the swimming pool area is actually the Greek Restaurant (evening) but is used for lunches during the day. Very nice lunches, absolutely sufficient for fussy bods like myself and would give a further mention to the attentive staff serving you with drinks at your table, I am amazed I can't find any fault with them - ten out of ten all round.

The entertainment staff, well again great guys and girls, especially the Australian girl down at the pool, very friendly (as are most Aussies) and made us feel at home. She took the water aerobics and other activities and I think the staff down at the pool doubled up in the evening with various shows/quizzes etc. which appeared to not be too cheesy. The staff entertained one evening with a very good take on Mama Mia - the singing and dancing was better than we expected - well worth a visit to this show if they are still doing it - a real laugh in parts as well!!

There is a very large market down in the village on a Wednesday, the largest I believe in Halkidiki which is very busy. A group of us walked down to the village with one the reps (cant remember her name now but she was the Thomson rep and a very friendly and professional girl). The market was worth going to, great bargains and we walked back via the road by the beach, just a small backwater but very much typical unspoilt Greece - loved it! Did not do any other trips as found them quite expensive - shame about that.

Could not believe how good the gardens and grounds were - admittedly it was the start of the season but they appeared to be maintained to a very high standard and its these things that make all the difference I think.

Lastly I would like to thank one of the girls at the reception desk, who, on my last day when I felt unwell, helped me out. I think they are all doing an excellent job behind reception.

We definitely would like to go back again soon as had a really good time - Fab Hotel !!

Room Tip: Try and get Block 4 for good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank madeformadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,083
    406
    99
    19
    4
See reviews for
1,171
1,019
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June. This is a great hotel, the rooms are well appointed, clean and fairly spacious. The hotel complex itself has everything you could possibly want from an all inclusive. It has three a la carte restaurants which you can go to at no extra cost (booking required), a very large pool and a nice beach front. There are no sun bed problems as you are not allowed to reserve them which means you can always find somwhere to sit even if you aren't there until the middle of the day. There is also a fair bit of entertainment in the evening and some nice bars.
I also enjoyed the spa which where you can have some r&r and reasonably priced treatments, in fact I think that that this gives the hotel the edge on others.
The thing that stands out however is the service we received from every member of staff, this is first class and nothing is too much trouble for them which adds that extra special touch to your holiday.
I would recommend this hotel and we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CozJsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Everything that has been said about the hotel is spot on, but the thing that makes it stand out from other 5* hotels is the warmth and helpfulness of the staff, from the women who cleaned our rooms to the restaurant staff and reception team.
Particularly liked the welcome, where you merely indentified your luggage and were ushered to a meeting room where, whilst drinking champagne, we were given all the information we needed to get to know our way the hotel site. When you arrived at your room the luggage had been delivered.

We felt relaxed from the moment we started our holiday and knew this was going to be a special hotel.

The Greek Taverna is a must. Sitting under the stars enjoying the food and wine. Particular mention for George Daffy and Daniella who made our evening so enjoyable.

The Blue Bar can be busy at night, but the staff work so hard to ensure that you are served promptly and with a smile. Thanks Marta, you were a star, always there with a friendly smile and a word and your work rate was phenominal!!

In a way I am loathed to write a review as I want to go back and enjoy the wonderful delights of this hotel, but will I be able to get a reservation now the word is out? but this hotel and its staff deserve all the plaudits it receives.

So thank you to everyone who made our holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttonkat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

When you plan a holiday for 56 people, oldest in their 70's and the youngest only 6 and when you have a wedding to plan aswell there are some big decisions to make. We looked long and hard at many hotels across the globe and after much research we made our choice and we can only say that having looked across the globe we found a hotel that is out of this world.
The level of service has to be experienced to be believed. From the moment we came through the airport and was greeted by our taxi driver with a shake of the hand and the driver saying "welcome to Greece" we knew we would have a good time but what we were served up over the following 12 days went beyond our wildest expectations.
From the moment you pass through the gates at the Oceania Club you enter a world of top grade service, provided by a team of highly skilled, highly motivated staff. Maria and Anna on reception welcomed us as if we were old friends, not paying guest. (The glass of champagne is a lovely touch). We were quickly shown to our room by Robert who was both efficient and polite. Our room was spotless as is the whole hotel.
After quickly settling in we did a tour of the hotel and everywhere we went we were greeted by smiling staff and hotel guest.The atmosphere of the Oceania Club is delightful.
As we have mentioned, the purpose of the trip was to celebrate our wedding and if any one needs the name of the best wedding planner in Europe, you need look no further than Anna Wolfhart. Anna puts you at ease with her calm efficient professionalism. With her help we went to the Oceania Club with clear untroubled minds. Another person who I would like give a special mention is Dionisis the F&B manager, this man worked his socks off to ensure that our wedding day went smoothly. On our day we felt like extra's from Hello magazine. On the days leading up to our wedding Dionisios was always available, always reassuring and always smiling.
The majority of our guest arrived a few days after we did and they too quickly settled in and discovered the Oceania Club magic. Everybody was blown away by the level of service, the choice of food,(thanks Pascachels and his team, especially George in the Greek Taverner) the quality of the drinks and the spotless rooms and public areas. Many commented that although the hotel was full at no time did it fill crowded. Never was there a big queue, a lack of sun beds or a rushed, stressed atmoshere.
The pools as you would expect are maintained to the very high standard that the hotel sets and if the pool area is not for you then there is the beach that again is kept clean and in order by a terrific team.
Now this hotel doesn't acheive the very high standard that we found without some very good management and the person that steers this ship is Timos. Timos is an extrodinary man, one minute he is in reception, the next he is on the beech. He talks and more importantly he listens to the guest. The staff speak very highly of him and see him as not only a manager but also as an inspiration and a friend.
All in all, I know that this is a long review but this is a hotel and a team of people that deserve every praise for their efforts to insure that their guest have the best time possible. Amongst our 56 family and friends we did have 1 complaint and that complaint was that the Oceania Club is too good. That sums up how we all felt. We are in our mid 40's and have travelled far and wide across the world and stayed in some very, very nice hotels but we agree that the Oceania Club tops the lot.
We would like say a massive thank you to the Oceania Club Management and staff for making our holiday so fantastic and for providing a wedding that we could only of dreamed of.
Gez, Theresa , Lauren, Ella and our family and friends

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gez119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for a child-free week in late May with another couple. Obviously there were other children at the hotel but we could relax without ours!

On arrival the reception area cannot help but impress - it's lovely, airy, plush and comfy all at once. We were incredibly lucky to be upgraded to the Presidential Suite - a lovely surprise! Particularly as we had only booked regular rooms at a great price through Thomas Cook. Therefore I can't comment on the regular rooms but the Suite was great, 2 good sized bedrooms (a twin and a double) each with an en suite, and a lovely big sitting room, tiny kitchen area (microwave, kettle, fridge, coffee machine) and a big terrace with a great pool view. Bathrobes, slippers and toiletries included and I think this applies to all rooms.

Because of the upgrade we used the premium pool everyday, and had really good sunbed-side drinks service - thanks to Irina! The pool was very cold, but it was early in the season.

The breakfasts in the main restaurant are very good, we lunched at the Greek Taverna most days and used all of the a la cartes (all lovely). The food in the main restaurant was plentiful and varied, always something for everyone, but I prefer the experience of waiter service as in the a la cartes.

We saw both the shows "Mamma Mia" was really good (even my husband said he'd pay to see it and it wouldn't normally be his thing). We loved the Michael Jackson show too. Very talented entertainment staff - look out for the young Donny Osmond lookalike, my personal favourite!

As others have said, the staff are lovely, the manager Timos is always around, and we have no complaints at all. If I was being REALLY picky then the towels in bathrooms could be a bit bigger and fluffier - but it's not a deal breaker is it?

Would we go back? Yes, definitely, even though it's unlikely to be in the Presidential Suite! We had such a good and relaxing holiday with lovely surroundings and friendly staff, we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Well, it's got to be the Presidential Suite! You never know your luck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilaclabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Another amazing holiday at the Oceania. This was our third visit here and we are already planning to go back next year!

From our welcome at the airport where we were given bottles of water, to the moment we left, the whole holiday was fantastic!!!

We love the all inclusive (especially with 3 children) but usually all inclusive hotels are too big and crowded. This is a big hotel and was full when we stayed but it doesn't feel crowded, we had a great relaxing holiday.

The children had plenty to do, there was a great kids club on if they wanted to go, although playing in the pool was usually the best entertainment for them.

Timos and the staff were as always great!! TImos (the hotel manager) was always around making sure everyone was ok. A small point, i mentioned that a branch was sticking out by the pool area and the next day it was gone!!

We stayed in block 5, where the rooms were great, spacious and very clean! Maid service every day, and after coming back at night our towels had been changed again.

Beach towels are provided every day and you never have to get up early for sun beds!!

Entertainment was very good, although as we were with friends we didn't always go to it.

The three al a carte restaurants were great, fantastic food and service - we especially enjoyed the Greek.

All in all another great holiday - my only complaint is that we had to come home!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I along with our 14 year old & 7 year old have just returned from our fourth visit to the fantastic Oceania. We met up with several other families who where all returning guests and we all had the most fantastic time!
From the moment you arrive where the reception staff welcome you back you immediately feel relaxed. We had requested a specific room in block 5 with the private pool and were lucky enough to get our request. The room was spacious and had a fabulous sea view where you could walk straight out to the peaceful pool area. This is where we spent most days being looked after by various bar staff but in particular Irina & Lilla who were lovely to us all friendly & chatty and great with our children. We had sunbed service for drinks which was great and because the weather was so hot & sunny it made the days so perfect.
We didn't go far from the hotel only walking up the beach where there are a couple of quiet bars but you didn't really need to go far as the hotel was so nice and of course there is the beach with its various watersports, sunbeds and beach bar to make use of so if you just want to relax you don't need to move from the hotel.
We ate in all the three restaurants, Greek, Asian & Italian where the food was fantastic and you were offered choices of nice bottled wine and had fantastic waiter service. The restaurants weren't busy so it felt like a proper evening out as you could take your time with your meal . The setting for the Greek restaurant was beautiful which was outside overlooking the pool area so my favourite place to eat whilst there. Each evening in The Buffett restaurant we were greeted at the entrance & shown to our table of choice . They offered a wide range of food so there was something for everyone but with this it was more in and out after eating rather than taking your time like you could in the other restaurants.

We spent our evenings in the Blue bar where the service to our table was efficient and by the same staff each evening so you got to know them a little which was nice as all the staff are so friendly and happy to chat. The children had a games room to sit in & there were arcade games for them far away from the main bar to keep them interested along with a shop selling papers, gifts, pool toys, sweets & a few essential toiletries. There was also a cash machine & a jewellery shop.

Timos the manager is always around during the day and evenings going round the whole hotel making sure guests are looked after & staff are dong their jobs properly. He takes a genuine interest in the guests and would often come and chat to us and any requests or suggestions we made he took on board and acted on, nothing is too much trouble. He does a fantastic job running this big hotel. The staff must enjoy working here too as it seems to be the same staff working here each year we come.
We did watch a couple of the shows which were performed well but since we have been for several years and were with friends we enjoyed the main bar where on some occasions there was a little entertainment.

If you enjoy relaxing holidays in lovely surroundings then this is worth a visit and I'm sure you'll want to keep going back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Moudania
10.3 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
13.6 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sokratis Hotel
Sokratis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Nea Moudania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias
#1 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikos Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikos Oceania

Property: Ikos Oceania
Address: Nea Moudania 632 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Moudania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikos Oceania 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the crystal blue Aegean, the luxurious Ikos Oceania is located 30 minutes from Thessaloniki International Airport.The highlight of this stunning setting is the 350m long natural sandy beach, fringed by pines, olive groves and cypress trees. Dispersed amongst the 15 acres of well-groomed gardens, the spacious, elegant guest rooms and suites offer panoramic sea views with Mount Olympus in the background. As of 2015, Oceania will feature four a la carte restaurants along with the Flavors international buffet restaurant. Guest will find six superb bars indoors or in the lavish gardens. The Infinite Lifestyle Dine-Out program offers guests the opportunity to enjoy the authentic menus offered by local restaurants in the nearby picturesque town of Nea Moudania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ikos Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Club Hotel Nea Moudania
Oceania Hotel Kassandra
Oceania Club Halkidiki
Oceania Greece
Oceania Club Greece
Oceania Resort Greece
Ikos Oceania Greece/Halkidiki - Nea Moudania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing