We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb quality and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ikos Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikos Oceania
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb quality and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

From pulling up in our taxi to leaving we were impressed with the quality of the hotel and the exceptional service of the staff.

On arrival we had a room upgraded from garden view to sea view, and what a view. We had a corner apartment (3301) directly in front was the sea where during the day a pod of dolphins were seen to frolic on a regular basis, at night fishing boats litterred the horizon and to our right towering in the distance was the snow capped Mount Olympus.

The food in the main restaurant was of a high standard all the time, and the staff always helpful and chatty. We went to two of the three Al La Carte restaurants for two of our evening meals - The Greek Taverna (where we had most of our lunches as well) excellent and varied traditional food, served by the ever smilling and happy Maria. And the Italian which again was of a very high standard and well worth a visit.

We only used the Spa once and both had a head and neck massage, was very well done and left my back feeling fantastic.

And finally I need to mention the staff - there was not one from the cleaners to the Hotel Manager who would not spare you the time of day or bend over backwards to help you..

I have to be objective and give you my negatives, of which there are very little.
The booking system for the Al La Carte restaurants could do with some fine tunning, we were trying to book from 0900hrs onwards each day as advised for three days in advance but still managed to miss out on the Asian restaurant.

And we would have liked some tourist information to have been to hand, but there was none.

All in all would highly recommend as we had a superb time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    407
    99
    19
    4
See reviews for
1,180
1,026
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

I went to this hotel in august with my partner and 4 year old daughter, my 4 sisters (aged 10-21), 1 of their partners and my parents and it was brilliant.

Gorgeous hotel, waited on hand and foot throughout the day and night.

Beautiful food, superb weather, friendly staff,,,,really couldn't fault it!

Also, it was my birthday while I was where...they sent a bottle of champers to my room and sang and gave me cake and champers at dinner!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

My hubby and I stayed at the Oceania Club in September/October 2010 and had a fantastic week. The room we stayed in was a bit tired looking but the hotel has been closed for a refurb so this is probably not the case anymore.
Food was excellent and we managed to eat in the a la carte Italian and Greek which were both lovely, the food was excellent in both of these and you can have a bottle of wine which is included in the all inclusive deal.
Staff were fantastic especially Gabriela who worked on the bar and then at the nightclub later and Nadia who worked in the kids club but was guest relations at night.
There is not much going on outside the hotel and the town had nothing to offer but the hotel had everything we needed so we were happy to laze by the pool and sample the many cocktails on offer. A lovely relaxing week would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Oceania Club is really great. The best thing is the staff who are so friendly ,efficient and helpful. I think the Hotel's policy of employing a lot of hotel management students pays off since they are all so keen and helpful. We did not have a room with the exclusive pool but you did not really need it. There was a really big pool plus another for small children and the pool attendments did let peole leave towels before breakfast so we always found at least 2 loungers net to each other when we went someone else in the morning and only came to the pool at lunch. AT 11am you could always find 3 loungers available.
Our children are 4 and 6 and never been to a mini-club during the daytime before but they went a few times here and loved it. The facilities are better than most nursery schools and Dimitris and Nadia were absolutely great with the children , our kids loved them.

All in all a brilliant hotel, we stayed 23rd August to 3rd Sept, still quite a lot of families so a bit busy in the main restaurant but they are biulding another one over the winter. We tried the greek one by the pool one evening, great views and sunsets and also a few times at lunctime.

The only downside it is not so t^ypical "Greek" in the surroundings but you can walk along the beach and we went to the village of kefitos which was quite nice and more typically Greek but not like the vilages on some Greek Islands.

A very relaxing holiday all in all, being served drinks from the waitress of the pool bar was great especially when you are looking after young children and taking coffee in the main bar after lunch was very relaxing.

This is the best all-inclusive Hotel experience we have had

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martynpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Spent the last week of the season at this hotel. We have never been "All Inclusive" before, and we were more than happy with the whole experience!
Greeted upon arrival with a glass of bubbly, taken to our room in a golf buggy, free stuff in the minibar, bathrobes etc.Lots of very nice touches.
We had a standard room, which was comfortable and clean. Small balcony with a table and chairs, and the room had a DVD player in it.
Managed to book 2 of the 3 a la carte restaurants, both of which had a pleasant atmosphere and a good selection of food on the menu.
Main buffet restaurant has the unenviable task of catering for hundreds of people from several countries... On balance I think it was fine. The waiting staff were very attentive, the dishes were rotated to avoid repetition, and we found every dish to be well cooked and nicely presented.
Other reviews have mentioned tinned fruit salad and orange squash instead of fresh juice... This is perhaps where the hotel has cut a few corners. On balance though, the buffet restaurant was a perfectly acceptable experience overall. We like the "couples only" seating area which did avoid the inevitable crash / bang / wallop of the large number of young families.
The bar was a mainly table service experience. Not the fastest in the world, but we were on holiday and not in any hurry. Still great attention to cleanliness, tidying chairs and menus away, clearing glasses etc. No clutter or mess anywhere. All Inclusive = EVERYTHING. Really impressed.
Evening entertainment included several well-rehearsed, themed cabarets with live singing and professional dancing to backing tracks in a mini theatre. Smoke, lights, the lot. Was expecting bad holiday camp style shows, but we were pleasantly surprised. I think the entertainment troupe tour several local hotels on different nights so get plenty of practice, and seem to be working very hard.

In summary, we would highly recommend The Oceania to couples and families who are looking to have a good rest, lots to eat and drink, a beach and a pool, and things for the kids to do. It's not the Caribbean, and there's not a lot of crazy nightlife, but when comparing to similar holidays in Europe, we felt that we got great value for money in a hotel with very high standards of presentation, cleanliness and customer service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arsebiscuit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Oceania during half term. It really is a super hotel - the Deluxe Sea View Suite was immaculate, with stunning views and a private pool and bar. It is quiet, tastefully designed, the staff are wonderful, the spa saved us during 2 days of rain, so our children could swim; the mini club had a happy atmosphere and post dinner Mini Discos brought a tear to your eye. But, and it is with a heavy heart that I have to report that the food was not good. We are trying to talk ourselves into booking again, but we just can't. I could go on and on about it, and I will say, the Asian Restaurant did save us, but the Taverna was awful and the italian no better. I think the canteen is just a bit weary with pork and unimaginative grilled fish every night. But, to think you were in Greece - there was nothing local or fresh or signature - so easy to do - even in a large hotel such as this, to make a feature out of a good local dish every other night perhaps and guests will appreciate it. Tinned fruit for breakfast and no fresh juices just orange squash from a machine! The bar snacks should you want an alfresco lunch consisted of pre-frozen 'singles' cheese sandwiches, wrapped in cling film, left for you to toast yourself. Come on Oceania, I know it was the end of the season, but you still have guests, take care of them and make them want to come back whatever time of the year it is. Unfortunately, we met a few repeat visitors who also will not be returning. A real shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank claude91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I think the first thing to say is that this is an outstanding hotel. We have had a really lovely week here. Having read the last review I can understand and relate to some of what they are saying. When we arrived the hotel was very full and it has to be said eating in the restaurant was a nightmare because it was so busy. I really don't understand why parents allow young children to wander around carrying plates and bowls of food as they were constantly being smashed on the floor. So first impressions were not good. After that however the hotel quietened down somewhat and it became much more pleasant. The food I found to be generally very good if a tad inconsistent and the speciality night, asian night they put some spring rolls on and put up a few decorations. But there was always plenty of choice. The a la carte restaurants are a bit of a pain to book and you do need to be there at 9.00 to get a booking and do this for three nights, We were initially unaware of this and so didn't get to eat at the Greek restaurant. That being said though, the asian and especially the italian were outstanding.
The bar was very nice although it has to be said service was a little on the slow side. Quite annoyingly when you did get served a waitress would insist on bringing it to your seat for you. Fine if they didn't take another 5 minutes to do this.
The other annoyance was the sound proofing in the rooms was very poor, You could hear just about everything above and beside you. Not a major problem but you need to have considerate neighbours.
This does sound like a right moan but these are just minor annoyances and didn't affect the whole experience which is why I have given the hotel five stars.
The town Nea Moudania is certainly not the Beirut style experience that other people have mentioned but is a working Greek town with some shops and bars and little sea front. If you are expecting Ayia Napa you will be disappointed and it has to be said there is not a huge amount there. Personally I preferred it because we could walk around without getting hassled into shops and bars etc.
The hotels facilities are excellent and there was something for everyone. We upgraded to a Deluxe Junior Suite and so had access to the private pool which is highly recommended if you like a bit of peace and quiet. There is also a small paddling pool there which our 18 month old loved. The girl in the private pool bar is constantly bringing you drinks and you really don't have to lift a finger. The service in the whole was excellent and anything you wanted was no trouble. The rooms were lovely, admittedly I didn't see a standard room, but the people we spoke to seemed very happy. Our room was huge and the balcony was safe although we still kept a very close eye on the little one.
I also saw no evidence of the badly behaved brats that many people have complained about. Although some of the parenting was little questionable, eg. letting a little girl walk barefoot through some broken glass that another child had dropped, picking her up, plucking the glass out of her foot and then putting her down again, the children were very well behaved and I think it was a lovely family hotel.
All in all there were a few irritations but at the end of the day I would go back again without hesitation and will definitely do so. I have to say though, I won't go in the high season as I wouldn't want the hotel any busier than it was. Incidentally weather at the end of October was fine and when the sun shined it was lovely and warm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Moudania
10.2 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
10.3 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sokratis Hotel
Sokratis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Nea Moudania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikos Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikos Oceania

Property: Ikos Oceania
Address: Nea Moudania 632 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Moudania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nea Moudania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikos Oceania 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the crystal blue Aegean, the luxurious Ikos Oceania is located 30 minutes from Thessaloniki International Airport.The highlight of this stunning setting is the 350m long natural sandy beach, fringed by pines, olive groves and cypress trees. Dispersed amongst the 15 acres of well-groomed gardens, the spacious, elegant guest rooms and suites offer panoramic sea views with Mount Olympus in the background. As of 2015, Oceania will feature four a la carte restaurants along with the Flavors international buffet restaurant. Guest will find six superb bars indoors or in the lavish gardens. The Infinite Lifestyle Dine-Out program offers guests the opportunity to enjoy the authentic menus offered by local restaurants in the nearby picturesque town of Nea Moudania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikos Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Club Hotel Nea Moudania
Oceania Hotel Kassandra
Oceania Club Halkidiki
Oceania Greece
Oceania Club Greece
Oceania Resort Greece
Ikos Oceania Greece/Halkidiki - Nea Moudania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing