We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Lesse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lesse Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Hanioti
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Gorgeous Hotel with extremely friendly staff. Fantastic food and Greek night was great fun. Pool area lovely, with plenty of loungers rooms have everything you need and Lesse is only a short 5 min stroll away from the centre. Although the beach is not fine sand, it is comfortable enough and we really enjoyed snorkling as there were always plenty of small fish to see. My favourite restaurants were Zorbas, on the right as you walk towards the centre and another that I cannot remember the name of, but it is on a side street on the left and you see your food being cooked a on a large screen outside! If you enjoy a Cocktail get down to Sunshine (if you walk straight into the centre you won't miss it) and try thier mammoth fishbowls! my final reccomendation would be that if you want to take any trips, don't book them through your rep. Use Hanioti Tours (also very easy to find) it is loads cheaper overall we saved just over 100euros and they picked us up on time right outside the Hotel for every trip (we went on 4). If you choose Hanioti i'm sure you'll have a great time!

Room Tip: We stayed in B Block and had views over Hanioti and partial sea view. Can't say I heard any comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki22Grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    68
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
84
113
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
skopje
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is ok, every room has a kichennet ,so is sutable for familys with small children. The fodd is exelent. I dont like the location-1 km from the centar of the vilage,hotel is on the hill so you should clime. The beach is average. the pool is very interesting and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoranDjoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Hi everyone, if would like spend a good holiday time in Hanioti, this is hotel - Lesse hotel. Realy very good hotel, beautiful rooms, clean pool, kindly staff, very tasty food in restaurant. We was 4 days with my boyfriend, from 28 April to 2 May and we'll came back again with our friends. In a Lesse hotel there is guests, who came back for second or third times. And we'll came back in LEsse Hotel. THANKS TO ALL IN LESSE HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I've travelled to Greece many times, although this was my first time staying on the mainland outside of Athens. The things that keep me coming back to Greece are the beautiful scenery, the friendly people, the laid-back pace, the amazing food...Hanioti and Lesse in particular disappointed on most counts.

Whilst the accommodation was clean and relatively comfortable, I found the staff pretty rude and the food poor value for money. I wouldn't expect a 4 star rated accommodation to push single beds together to make a double, have a broken tv or rusty and chipped kitchen equipment. The pool however is a definite plus. There is lots of space for everyone and there are lots of loungers around the edge, in the sun and in the shade, so there is no competition for them, unlike in some other places.

I've been to many "Greek" nights in other parts of the country and always enjoyed the show and the fun of Greek dancing. I really regretted buckling under the pressure to buy tickets for this one...pretty bad food, bad (although incredibly loud) music and not very interesting dancing, although this may just be the Macedonian style. The food is the same every night, so (aside from Greek night) we only ate in the restaurant once, but found it a little pricey for what it was. We found much better, more reasonably priced food in the village.

The village and beach are not amazing – generally pretty dirty, and really overrun with tourists, and it is very hard to find any peaceful spot unless you walk south towards the next village. In fact my favourite day of the whole holiday is when we escaped the neon signs of Kassandra and drove to Sithonia where we found some magically secluded beaches and pretty little villages full of Greek people on holiday. Obviously the place to come next time...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivington, lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My partner and I decided on a holiday to Greece for our Summer vacation this year. I have visited many of the Greek Islands and am a great fan of their individuality and character. I love the Greek traditions and way of life and couldn't wait to be right back there with them in the height of the Summer. We chose Halkidiki as it isn't as well known as the other Islands and not too popular to tourists. Just what we wanted. We wanted 'untouched Greece' with traditional villages, Tavernas and endless supplies of freshly caught fish, meat and ouzo (just how the Thompson website advertises the area). Well, what a disappointment. The airport and transport was a breeze and on first impressions the place looks lovely, then you approach Hanioti :S Not what we expected. The hotel was more than we would normally spend as we wanted a little extra luxury. Waste of money, I had better service at a budget hotel in Kos the year before for less than half the price.

First of all at check in we arrived in a group of about 25 people and were farmed like animals through check-in. The staff were unfriendly and obviously just wanted to get this herd in as quickly as possible so that they could do the next one. We had to cart our suitcases for miles to our rooms (still in the herd) and one by one were shoved into our rooms. Me and my partner didn't speak for a while, both overcome with shock and disappointment, but surely it will get better?! We had a garden view room which did have a nice view and our front door opened onto the pool. The lovely, luxurious pool you have seen the pictures of, oh how wrong. Romantic couple hotel? hmmmm, more like kindergarden for all the children in Halkidiki. There were inflatables galore and enough screaming children to fill a school. The room was basic and ugly, but clean and sufficient for Greece.

We then decided to raid the mini bar, it was empty. We then tried to find the room service menu, there wasn't one. On looking through the Hotel info in the room I was reminded there is a spa, where was this again? There were several different numbers in the hand book for different services so we rung each individually. First with the mini-bar. A woman answered and said, reluctantly, she would fill the mini-bar but we would have to pay a deposit of 50euros. It is advertised as having a fully stocked mini-bar. The next number we rang was room service, the same lady answered, confused by the concept of room service and told us to go to the pool bar. The third number we rang was the spa number and, yet again, the same lady answered and as we asked of the spas whereabouts, put the phone down.

Not going well is it? We were reluctant to go to the pool due to the over crowdedness and we were feeling disheartened to say the least so we decided to go for a little wander and find the beautiful beach and town both illustrated and described on all the websites. More disappointment. The beach is an all day Russian night club buzzing with half naked teenagers and LOUD dance music. The sand is dirty with cigarette butts and rubbish and you have to pay for sun beds. Town wasn't much better. No traditional taverna in sight, it was either english or russian and all the bars were english karaoke bars, not tavernas, equipped with football and cheap lager.

We had booked with First Choice in the shop and they had recommended it to us personally to our specifications. When you are carted off the plain they give you a emergency number to ring if you are unhappy. We rang and asked to be moved, even said we would pay extra as long as we were away from this god awful place. Two hours later we were in no look. Looks like we are staying here! There were cheap looking arcade games and slot machines galore and lots of loud music in the evenings. Unfortunately not what we had hoped for.

I am now going to mention George. Everyone raves about this man but I found him nothing but rude. He loved me when he first saw me, until my boyfriend came and held my hand, he was then nothing but rude and arrogant to either of us for the rest of the week, ignoring us for up to half an hour on some days when we wanted a drink. We had read on the reviews about the Greek night. I have attended many other Greek nights before in other Greek Islands and was excited to share this exciting experience with my partner. It was 25euros per person and we were actually really excited, although it was unwillingly sold to us by George. Again further disappointment. The food was cheap and nasty set out in a buffet style going cold and rubbery. You also had to queue for 20 minutes for your food. The entertainment was awful, the atmosphere was non-existent and apart from one group of lager loving teenage girls who had seemed to fall for George, everyone was in bed by 9.00p.m, it only started at 7.30.

DO NOT PAY FOR FIRST CHOICE EXCURSIONS! We paid for 1, a boat trip. First of all, we enjoyed our day on the boat trip but I went on one in Kos last year which was run by a local family and it was much better. On this boat, again, I just felt like a herd of cattle. The food was basic and cheap and there was no character on the boat. The stops we went to were rubbish and there was nothing there, they just herded you into certain bars and restaurants that they obviously had some business agreement with.

Another excursion is the market day trip to the (apparently) traditional walled city complete with a traditional monastery and old fashioned local market. The excursion was 80euros pp but we had found you could get a return bus to the same place for under 5euros. We chose this option, and finally, made a good decision. The 'traditional' monastery is still being built and there is no walled city. The 'traditional market' is covered with tarpaulin and all they were selling was cheap fake designer clothing and mouldy fish. There was again a lack of Greek restaurants, just little tatty coffee shops and lots of locals looking at us as if to say "what the hell are you doing here? This isn't a tourist place". We were there for as long as we had to be until the next bus was available to take us back.

Back at the hotel we tried to again find the elusive spa. There was a sign post for it pointing to what looked like the bins but we followed it anyway. The hotel manager then ran at us, screaming telling us to turn around and not walk that way, it was private property :( still no spa.

There are also LOADS of extra charges. You have to pay rent for each night you want to use the TV remote and the manual buttons on the TV have been taken off and It is 25euros for the safe. There is also a list of charges for the spa but I'm sure you have guessed that this doesn't exist.

On the good side the pool bar food is quite nice, if not a little over priced. The buffet restaurant food is actually nice and cheap, a lot better than any overpriced stuff in town. The pool was okay to swim in and the weather was hot. We still had a fun time and loved sitting by the pool pretending to each other we were in an episode of Benidorm (itv series) although not much pretending/imagination was needed.

Overall this is not a couple hotel. If you want a nice relaxing holiday DO NOT GO. It is not a 4 star romantic get away as it says it is.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie-Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lesse Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Halkidiki is first of all popular to many tourists, of all nationalities.
Sometimes travellers are misleaded by the advertisement and what they have in their mind.
Hanioti is a busy resort, but not as bad as it is described in the report.
Hanioti's beaches are not big Russian night club with half-nacked women, some parts are over-crowed but with tourists , English, Greek, German, Russian etc, all kind of nationalities, spending their holidays in Hanioti.
As for Lesse Hotel, we don't say no to children. There are periods over summer season, there are many children in the hotel , with their families, and other periods, that the only children in the hotel are my own.
Our hotel is not an adult only hotel , or a family only hotel. We accept everyone that wants to spend some time in Hanioti.
As for the arrival, when there is a group arrival ( more than 12 pax), we give them a quick info, and show them to their room. If someone doesn't want to be part of it, he takes the key and goes to the room.
In the room info, it is stated that guests could have mini-bar ( it is on request ) and they are charged on their departure.
There is no tv remote control rental, or air-conditioning rental.
Safe is charged, 22 euros per week, as it stated in the brochure.
Greek night is charged 15 euros p.p. inlcuding a drink.
There is room service menu in the rooms, with all the charges.
Spa/sauna/massage is also exist. They had only to book an appointment.
There are many nice beaches around Kassandra, where they did their boat trip.
And of course there are many tavernas and restaurants in Hanioti, traditional Greek, international, fast food restaurants, all kinds.
And of course they have english menus, otherwise everybody should know how to read & speak Greek.
There are many good things in Halkidiki, in Hanioti and in Hotel LESSE, that the guests didn't care to mention, on the other hand they mislead other people with false information.

Anastasia Lesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just returned from the Lesse hotel. Last plane out in fact. Weather brilliant. Staff helpfull.
George is a genuine one-off, He was always kind to us even though we only had 3 visits to the bar. We both found it well above average for greece. If they could find a way to keep the food warm we would go again for sure. Pool lovely and clean, Loved it.

Room Tip: A" block 2nd floor to watch the sun go down with a single malt with ice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maciemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed for one week mid September and had seven days of sunshine (but 2 days of thunderstorms due the day after our return). The hotel is a good size with 3 accomodation blocks around a beautiful pool area in well landscaped gardens. All blocks have their balconies facing outward with views of the surrounding area and we were in block C which faces the sea with views over to Sithonia.

The studio was a good size by Greek standards as was the balcony, but as other reviewers have said the shower cubicle is small. The included air conditioning was excellent to the point it could be shut off during the night. The wall mounted safety deposit box in the wardrobe is now 22 euros for a week! There was Sky News & BBC World News on the 14in TV. Now about the infamous lighting!... The two lights in the bathroom and the one just inside the front door are inset LEDs and the remaining wall lights are very dim economy bulbs. There is a large lighting shop right next door on the main road....I was very tempted!!

Hanioti has not changed much since we were here 10 years ago. It remains a low key relaxing resort, but with a fairly lively village centre. It is worth noting that organised excursions are long journeys and with Thomsons average around 40-50 euros each.

If you want a low key relaxing break in a very friendly hotel (with SC facilities) the Lesse would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boro48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanioti
0.2 mi away
Hanioti Village Resort
Hanioti Village Resort
#5 of 25 in Hanioti
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#7 of 25 in Hanioti
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 25 in Hanioti
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Naias Hotel
Naias Hotel
#3 of 25 in Hanioti
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanioti Hotel
Hanioti Hotel
#14 of 25 in Hanioti
24 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesse Hotel

Property: Lesse Hotel
Address: Hanioti | Halkidiki, Hanioti 630 85, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hanioti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lesse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lesse Hotel Hanioti, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing