We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok but not to my liking!”
Review of Halkidiki Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halkidiki Palace
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Hanioti
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its ok but not to my liking!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend travelled here in may 2011 as a last minute deal in may for £200 each, i was 18 and he was 20, we went with the expectation of something near by to do etc like any other holiday! but there is a 30-45 min walk to the nearest town which we walked to every night as there was no entertainment at the hotel, when we went the weather was rubbish it rained 4 days out of the 7 so basically we was stuck in the hotel room sleeping and being bored but the weather is unpredictable!

the rooms were clean and tidy and we didnt need to pay any extra charges for the hotel as it was freezing in the room already! we did have a few problems in the bathroom were things needed to be fixed etc but staff did this straight away, i think i stepped in the pool once out of the whole holiday and it was absoultley freezing!

all in all it was a nice get away but we will never go again if you like a quiet relaxin holiday then go here but if you like partying and getting about then dont!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank naomi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were met By Michael and Amy who own the hotel and were very friendly along with Katie and Alex There were only 7 guests as it was near the end of season so it was like having a private hotel.Our room was very new and spotless.The food was very good especially the greek dishes recommended by Amy.Not many facilities close to the hotel but a courtesy bus was always available for the short journey into Hanioti which had plenty of Bars,Tavernas and shops.The weather was great 26 plus every day.We were a bit dissapointed with the beach which was small,pebbley and quite messy but the mess was due to recent bad storms.Polichrono which is in the opposite direction to Hanioti has regular local bus service and has a nice beach and is a nice town

Room Tip: Most off the rooms were well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

A quality family run small hotel. It is remote but that is part of its charm. A nice size pool area with plenty of sunbeds. The dining room experience was adequate but nothing overwhelming apart from Katie who always has a smile to start your day. The local beach a few minutes walk away with free beds and parasols and a bar offering nice reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoRoLaDNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Read reviews and expected better. If you want to just lie around pool or on small beach all day then this is for you. Small beach with bar serving ok food 5 mins walk. Free sun beds if you order from bar but be careful, they will ask you if you want salad with meal then serve greek salad at 6 euros a time, and will give everyone salad if asked, which is massive. . Pool bar limited opening times - mythos 2.50 euros and same for wine.

Req upper floor room with sea view and should have had bath which was on booking. However, we were given ground floor in worst part of hotel and when asked re this was advised by grumpy owner it was good room. However, after spending 158 euros for fridge, air con and safety dep for 2 weeks gave us "better room" right beside the mad main road which runs past the hotel entrance.Still no bath. No relaxing on the balcony for us as road noise terrible. Sold fridge for two weeks to be advised we could not bring drink or food in??? he would let you have water tho for fridge though at 1 euro bottle. So 100 euros for fridge and cold water for 2 week seem a bit extreme.

Too hot to walk to resort centres unless walked before lunchtime even tho mid/late Sept. Food at breakfast appalling and cost us to eat out every day at cost of 12-15 euros for breakfast for two of us and if you dont want to return in the evening on free shuttle another 5 euros for taxi each night. All said, not a great holiday but it depends what you want and how you describe good food. The worst i have come across in a hotel yet. The hotel was clean but rooms small and bathroom smelled of drainage. Definately would not recommend this resort if you like authentic as no tradition here, very market place-like resort centre in Hanioti. No greek dancing, Nothing beats Paleo, in Corfu. No will not return here no charm at all, better locations to be had but again, personal choice. I like good food. Breakfast consisted of hard toasted bread with alternates of runny scrambled egg on top, or next day tiny bit of pepper omlette or runny fried egg. The ham and cheese had flies on and fruit was completely uncovered. Could not eat this. You order evening meal at lunchtime. We had soup and then the main was served as they took the empty soup bowl, it had not just been cooked as there was not enough time from sitting down to cook it, obviously cooked prev and kept warm...

Betty Spagetti, wish i had listened. 2 weeks and 2 grand down to be disappointed. 4 star hotel next time.

Room Tip: you can req certain rooms but they dont check the booking req anyway. Best prob looking over the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiecatNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I wouldnt ever write a review on a holiday I've been, but I think I owe one to Mike, Amy, Christos, Katie, Alex and all the staff in Halkidiki palace.
I read the reviews from ''betty the spaggeti'' and probably Mrs Andrews (?) and I need to say a few words too.
We had a wonderful time.We have been to greece numerous times through the years and always met friendly, kind and hard working people.And the people in this place are the kindest and most hardworking we have come accross.
Amy will start up your day with a warm welcoming good morning and a smile.Ask about your day, if you have plans or not.Mike is more serious.Old school I would say.Excellent sence of humour and extremely self sarcastic.They are there for you from 07:00 to 01:00!Anything you need, they will help you out.Call you a taxi, tell you were a good beach is....
Katie or super-Katie is on the go 20 hours in the day!She will do everything possible for you to enjoy your breakfast, lunch, dinner!Kind, polite and most important CLEAN!
As for Christos, the young barman/actor (he is finishing drama school soon), we will certainly miss the long discussions late in the nite!
But lets start from the accomodation: brand new from top to bottom.Everything you touched was brand new.Smart deco, comfy beds, soft linen.Can you fault this?
Very good views of the sea (we were in 303), yes we did pay for aircon, but 5 euro a nite is not that much anyway and well worth it.
Meals: we were BB, we ate in, during the 14 nites more than 7 or 8 times.Never had a bad meal!9 euros per person for a 3 course?Can you fault it?
Location: its written in the brochure, in hotels web-site, in many many many reviews.And to be honest thats why we went there and thats what we paid for.To be out of the way.And with their mini-bus, which I think did 4 or 5 rounds a day for free, in 5 min you 're in town.Can you fault it?
As for the signs and all the rest, would u use sun tan lotion and sleep on your sofa?I hate to think how some people go around in their own houses!
As for Hanioti, one of the best resorts we have ever been.Very good variety in bars and restaurants.You can find anything you want.From kebab shops to steak houses.Would recomend the roof top restaurant ''Kassandras'' and ''Pallinis'' where they make the best diane-steak we 've tasted.Only thing missing in this place would be a real dancing bar and a chinese!

All in all, make up your own mind, we can only say about our holiday.
Just have one thing in mind: how you treat these people, they will treat you back.And really some of us, dont really treat them good.

Many thanks again, we will return, and be careful:
this time we will bring our whole family!
This is how much we didnt like it........

Rob + Debie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StokoeNCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have just returned after 2wks of sun sea sand and relaxation. From the moment we arrived the staff were there to help us to settle in to our holiday. Alex took our suit cases to our room and Aimee & Michael booked us in. All the rooms have been up graded with new bedroom fittings and also in the shower room.The cleaners kept them all well cleaned. The food was very good and Katie went out of her way when it came to dinner as Lorna (my wife) did not like the soup that was on for that day so Katie got her a different choice. When sat around the pool Katie also would get your lunch and drinks to you at pool side.
The food was very good. The price was also good at 9 euro's for a 4 course dinner. All through the day the staff were there to get to us tea / coffee / water or something a little stronger when ever we asked. Again many thank's to all the staff for helping make our hoilday special

Room Tip: "lower rooms are available if needed as soom are a walk up hill"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorilla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

we have just arrived home from 2 weeks of utter relaxation at this lovelely greek hotel,micheal and aimee couldnt be more friendly hosts and katie and alex will do anything to make yr holiday as nice as possible...the unfortunate thing is that thomsons are not going to be useing this hotel in the future because they wont give the owners more that 9 euros per nite per person(which it has been for the last 15 years) so micheal has pulled the plug on them.and guess what the eastern europeans(serbs bulgarians and russians) getting 50euros a nite per person, are moving in in 2012,so i dont think we will be visiting this lovely place again..i hope everything works out for micheal and aimee as they are two loverly people,...happy memorys..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevvieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanioti
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Hotel
Hilltop Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hanioti
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lesse Hotel
Lesse Hotel
#10 of 26 in Hanioti
240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hanioti Village Resort
Hanioti Village Resort
#5 of 26 in Hanioti
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Naias Hotel
Naias Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hanioti
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elinotel Apolamare
Elinotel Apolamare
#7 of 26 in Hanioti
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halkidiki Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halkidiki Palace

Property: Halkidiki Palace
Address: Kassandra Main Street | Hanioti, Hanioti 630 85, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Hanioti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halkidiki Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 meters away from the beach and the crystal clear waters of the Aegean sea, on the east coast of the Kassandra peninsula lies the Halkidiki Palace, a small and friendly family hotel. Run by a typical Greek family, its management and staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and enjoy your holiday.The hotel sports a large swimming pool, large and beautiful gardens including a small olive orchard. Situated between the villages of Polychrono and Hanioti on the Kassandra Peninsula in Halkidiki, the Halkidiki Palace is a perfect spot for all those looking for a lazy summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halkidiki Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halkidiki Palace Hotel Hanioti
Palace Hotel Halkidiki
Halkidiki Palace Hanioti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing