We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Hilltop”
Review of Hilltop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilltop Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Hanioti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from our annual visit to the Hilltop. Once again a very good holiday. Staff as friendly and helpful as ever. No longer with Thompsons this is now an independent hotel. Bill collected us from the airport so we were at the hotel far quicker than by coach with package holidays. The hotel, as usual, is spotlessly clean and rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with sheets and towels changed regularly. The bathrooms have been upgraded and now include a shower cubicle with power shower. Rooms are spacious with plenty of storage space. With different nationalities at the hotel it was not unusual to speak to Greeks, Rumanians, Swiss, Austrian as well as the few Brits that were there. If you like small and friendly hotels then this is a must. The village is only five or ten minutes walk and is a very lively place but once you return to the hotel there is peace and quiet, just right for a relaxing drink and chat with other people.
I cannot find any faults with this hotel and will certainly be returning again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and as you look at the hotel from the front it is best to be on the left han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juned41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location is on a hill overlooking Hanioti (nice sea view), 5 min walk from the village and 15 min from the beach. Hotel in very good condition either relatively new or with fairly recently refurbished rooms. Showers were powerful, beds comfortable, and spacious veranda. We got a spacious double room with a double bed and a proper single bed (not a cot) for our 5 yr old and the room didn't feel crammed at all.
Family run hotel with friendly service and great price. Breakfast was basic but satisfactory. Hanioti was nothing special in my humble opinion, just a square with a few cafes and taverns. If the hotel was in Pefkohori it would be perfect for me. Beach bar Molos is nice though (south side of vilage).
Pefkohori (5 min drive south) has a long seafront with taverns, and nice cafes and bars and is much busier.
Best beach was Hroussou or Xenia after pefkohori and before Paliouri, around 2 km sandy bay with shallow sandy crystal clear and calm water, ideal for kids, and pine trees on the backround. south side probably better (koursaros beach bar). Beach at Posseidi (west side of kassandra) in front of Cocus beach bar was also beautiful and the beach bar itself had a great set up and excellent music! However all beaches including Hanioti and pefkohori are nice and the water is crystal clear. Sithonia is definitely worth a trip or more with more natural beauty and dense forests.
Food recommendations:
Hanioti: Faros fish tavern on a side road up (SW) from the square
Pefkohori: Bakalis fish tavern and Stamboulis for souvlaki, both on the seafront
Fourka: Takis (seafront) fish tavern
if you make it to Sithonia and Porto Koufo try Delphini on the edge of the bay (fresh fish, excellent)

Room Tip: If you have a child ask for a triple room with a proper bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chriskourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

this was our latest visit to the lovely Hilltop Hotel....it never disappoints! As always there is the feeling of coming home - but this time it started at the airport, as Vasso collected us & drove us down to the resort. On arrival, we were in a different room, which was even better than the other rooms we've been in. ALL rooms have a sea view!!! We were on an end so had 2 windows with lovely views of the gulf - I never ever tire of looking at it! As always the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathrooms all have a fantastic new powershower (couldn't fit it in my luggage to bring it home!) There are also large flat screen TVs for use too - which includes Sky News

As the clientele had changed this year, so had the meal arrangements. Breakfast was great - fantastic fresh fruit & Greek yogurt were our preferred options, but the choice was there if you wanted it. Evening meal was also lovely with plenty of choice & great salad options. I can quite honestly say that we had something different everyday.....not like previous review which seemed to have assumed everything was moussaka - which it wasn't!

The clients are more eastern European now, with very few British people. This was no problem & the other visitors were really nice. It made a real change not to be surrounded by Brits. As a consequence, the pool area was very quiet - in fact most days we had it virtually to ourselves all day.

As the name of the hotel suggests, yes it is at the top of a hill. This year, there is a minibus shuttle provided which runs 4 times a day - both to town & back to the hotel. It drops you off by the great Bread & Breakfast coffee & cake shop & then collects at the other side of the road. Otherwise you could always walk - the track back up the hill or the road which is a gentle climb & steady walk.

I would always recommend this hotel - I'm not just saying that it's great - it really is. Yes we are repeat visitors & we will continue to be repeat customers. The Papaterpos family do a great job in creating a home from home environment. It won't be everyone's taste but I would say that you should try it - it's great!!!

looking forward to next time.......

Room Tip: all rooms have a great sea view. We like the end ones as they have an extra window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoppysWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a perfect 15 days holiday at Hill Top - Hanioti in July 2013. The personnel which I understood is a family is doing a great job in administration of this hotel. Many thanks for everything. Very friendly.
Everything includind, last details was perfect. Very good conditions, every day cleaning services and very good meals ( we had breakfast and lunch, both in buffet) and in all 15 days everything was great - lot of options to choose, fruits, etc… We book 2 double rooms for our large family – including 2 little girls 4-6 years. Great SEA view for all the rooms being on TOP of the HILL.
Cleaning services, very good furniture, large rooms, great LCD TV with USB player, bathroom very nice and VERY clean. Free and functional AC, fridge, iron and iron board, big balcony for all the rooms, free parking and most – VERY QUIET IN THE EVENING.
The pool is also great. The depth is from 1 m to 2,60m, so is perfect for everyone. We went for 2-3 times, water is very clean and there are enough sunbeds and umbrellas for all guests. There is also a kids pool, very safe and also a pool bar.
We recommend 100 % to all tourists. Its not a 3 Star, its more like 4 star.

Regarding the beach, every day we went to another beach and everywhere was perfect. Very clean water, warm and perfect for kids. If you want sunbeds and umbrella its free as long as you make consumption for 2-4 euro/sunbed per day.
Alos perfect for snorkelling. My 6 year daughter was amazed by snorkelling, being the first time when she did it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mircea13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

So i've just returned from Hilltop 2 days ago.
And i can say it's been a horrorific experience with this hotel.
And i visit grece a lot.
The food was just bad. 4 courses that kept repeating every day. Fries and mousaka like every day. In the land of oranges you only have orange juice once / day.
They use the mixxed meat from...lets say meatballs to cook meat filled tomatoes the next day.
We came back from meteora trip and we were ordered to sit at one table 10 ppl at a table of 6. and all food was cold and slimy.
They call it all inclusive but its from 11 to 23. and one night it rained and we had to stay in. so we got ourselves some beers from the bar (in a very small glass, dont belive their add with Draft beer.) . At 22:40 the owner of the hotel closed up the bar and came threatening like "if you want to enjoy the rest of your stay you should be carefull on how much you abuse our all inclusive program"
and at 00:00 they came and told us "go back to your rooms the hotel is closing" ( they say on add reception closes at 24) but we were told to go to our rooms cause at 24 hotel is closing its doors and if we want to go clubbing we cant get back in the hotel after 00:00.
The next day one lady a room away from mine was terrified cause she had a very large mirapode in her room and the receptionist just said to her husband "you're a man why didnt u picked it up and threw it away"
the same day we avoided the pool. there was a family with 2 small kids by the pool and their dad was teaching them how to swim when they started yelling cause a damn rat was swimming at the other end of the pool.
Also the distance from the hotel to the beach is not 500meters its like 25 mins walk through a deserted field.with no shadows whatsoever. there is indeed a shuttle , but again dont be fooled. the shuttle takes u from the hotel entrance and leaves u downhill of the deserted field. in the mail street ( no crossing zones around ) from that point to the beach theres another 15-20 mins walk to the beach.
All in all it's a total nightmare. I posted this ( i rarely complain) so that other ppl don't get their vacantions ruined by this ...vila (IT CAN NOT BE CALLED A HOTEL)
I myself work in the hotel industry as a front office manager and this is NOT a 3 star HOTEL. I cant even call it a hotel. Bad food / far from beach / very lowsy personel not to mention the hotel manager . if u ask around everyone will tell you something like "omg you stay at hilltop? i feel sorry for you

Room Tip: only 5 rooms have an actuall sea view. the ones on top of the entrance. rest of them are ugly roache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found Hilltop hotel through Tripadvisor, and were very pleased with our choice. From start when I called to ask for a baby bed and also asked for a room at ground level to have the freedom of mobility with the baby the staff was very helpful.
During Our stay I asked for an extra bed for my brother who was going to visit us for 2 days and got help with this too for a small charge. The staff was in general very helpful and joyful.

The hotel is located on a small hill as the name implies, there is a constant breeze which is just lovely in the summer warmth of Greece. our room had a new bathroom which was very nice, and the room was of normal standard, breakfast was plenty each morning, eventhough I would have liked some more variety on the buffet, from day to day.
The view from our room was overlooking the small town of Hanioti and the sea, very nice indeed.
Sheets got changed on a daily basis, which is Nice when you are staying in such a warm environment, also the room was cleaned daily.

Overall a very nice exprience, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent 11 nights at the Hilltop and it was fantastic. We have been to Hanioti many times but this is by far the best hotel. The rooms are lovely and we had a fantastic sea view,the breakfasts were lovely and the staff were so friendly. We booked direct with and were given free transfers from the airport. Thanks to Bill and his wonderful staff for a lovely holiday. See you all soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanioti hotels
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 25 in Hanioti
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanioti Hotel
Hanioti Hotel
#12 of 25 in Hanioti
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Naias Hotel
Naias Hotel
#3 of 25 in Hanioti
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lesse Hotel
Lesse Hotel
#15 of 25 in Hanioti
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ostria Sea Side Hotel
Ostria Sea Side Hotel
#2 of 25 in Hanioti
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elinotel Apolamare
Elinotel Apolamare
#8 of 25 in Hanioti
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Hotel

Address: Hanioti, Hanioti 630 85, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hanioti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanioti
Price Range: $70 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop is a hotel located in the village of Hanioti in the Kassandra Peninsula of Halkidiki, in Mainland Greece. Set upon a small hill it's only a couple of minutes walk from the village shops and about 600 meters from the beach. Hilltop is a small hotel (only 50 rooms), built and run by a Greek - American family. It has been catering for couples and families for the past 20 years, offering a hospitable atmosphere, that has made many return year upon year for their summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilltop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Hanioti, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing