We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't understand the bad reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Vista Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Vista Bahia
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't understand the bad reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel and having read the reviews before we went, spent some time whilst there wondering why so many negative comments had been made. We struggled to find fault. Provided you accept before you go that the hotel is 3 stars and don't expect luxury, then you shouldn't be disappointed. We arrived at 2.20am and were offered refreshments in the restaurant upstairs. Our room, although basic, was clean and air-conditioned. Yes, it was up a few flights of stairs, but that helped walk off the all-inclusive food and drink! The food was absolutely fine. Every lunch/dinner there was a choice of different meat dishes, grilled fish, a couple of vegetable dishes, chips/potatoes, pasta/rice with different sauces and a variety of salad dishes. Every couple of nights they also did a huge paella/fideuá. If we'd stayed for more than a week, we might have got a bit bored with the food, and I admit, for vegetarians, there wasn't much choice. Cleaning and restaurant/bar staff were very pleasant and hard working. The restaurant sometimes ran out of glasses, bowls and cutlery, but never for long because the staff cleared tables quickly. The location is lovely with a great view of the bay (sunset from the restaurant is beautiful). It's a short walk down steps to a rocky beach (not child-friendly for swimming) or a 10-15 minute walk to 1 of 3 beaches in Portinatx (shade available & very shallow water). The 3 hotel pools are of varying depths, so safe for children of all ages. There are some loose tiles in the pools which do need to be fixed. All in all, an ideal holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    214
    214
    137
    127
See reviews for
283
290
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Arrived at 12 noon to be told room not ready until after 2pm, given a damp smelling room with mould on curtains,sofas and walls, electric short circuiting and air con not working - pool area very tired and pool floor very sharp causing cuts to our daughters feet - not enough cutlery or crockery in the cafe (not restaurant) had to wait on many occasions for replenishment and many times had to find your own chairs to put around the tables and good luck if you re vegetarian be prepared for pasta and tomato sauce - on a positive note the views from the hotel were absolutely stunning and although beach a 15 min walk away it was well worth it - had we not have met a great family to share our holiday with and lift our spirits it could have been a disaster

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallulah30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portinatx hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

worst hotel i have ever been to,3 star or not!Take your own cutlery,plates and glasses. Always running out of them!Entertainment was terrible and plastic glasses are an insult. The idea of going all inclusive is to enjoy being in the hotel for most of the day, not to be going out day and night to avoid being in it.!I did enjoy feeding the cats on the beach in the evening but even they had trouble chewing it. Back to egypt next year for a proper holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trudymcgregor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a really good holiday here and have lots of lovely memories. My husband and myself travelled with a 12 and 15 year old... The hotel is in a great location right on the headland and there are some great sunsets to enjoy especially from the dining terrace. There was a great food choice throughout the day and I think that there would definitely be something to suit all tastes.. there was entertainment throughout the day at the hotel for those that wanted to participate and also an evening programme after the kids mini disco. The hotel definitely represented value for money and we wouldnt hesitate in returning again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked 11 nights at the Vista Bahia . Our children had a great time but we found little things disappointing . The hill leading to the reception was steep especially with cases! Our room was in the 800's ,which mean't a climb back up the hill then many stairs . The room had a damp smell on entry. We too had the same problems with dirty towels being hung back up and only 2 towels left for 4 people. We also didn't have our bedding changed .....so yes we feel it isn't up to usual 3 star standards .We must compliment poolside ,bar and dining hall staff who were extremely hard working and very polite . Entertainment staff worked hard but obviously lacked funding !The AMAZING views are what save this hotel .The nearest beach is a 25 minute walk away ,which in the heat we only did once .We may return if these things are resolved.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors as the stairs up and down each day was a killer !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

not sure were to start so shall start when we got there when we arrived we were told that there was no room for us because of double booking and was shipped off to another hotel (which was far superior GRUPOTEL OASIS and we wernt alone there was 3 familys in the same boat. we paid for a twin family room that we were not given they just squashed 3 single beds in our tiny room.Room had aircon but it was just noise with no air.Food was shocking good job my son liked chips because thats all he ate and too be honest thats all there was kids and the sweet was the worse big bowls of something that reminded me of baby food and some badly bruised fruit that i would throw in the bin.Pools were good best thing about the place.AVOID AT ALL COST

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited the Club Vista Bahia in May 2012. I have to point out that we booked very late, and paid a very reasonable price for our week away. I will also mention that my husband has more limited mobility than he used to. Please think about this whilst reading….
We arrived late and we were checked in by a lovely receptionist who had us to our room quickly, the room was basic compared to other hotels we have stayed in but was exactly what we expected for a three * hotel. We found it to be clean and found the décor agreeable. The beds were twin, but I think that we have only stayed in one Spanish hotel that had a double as standard.
The rooms all have sea views and balconies; however some have better views than others due to the trees. They are laid out in two story blocks that are arranged along a cliff face. The ones at the top do have quite a climb so if you have mobility issues you would be better to request a lower block. Ours was low down and nearer to the pool.
We didn’t have our children this time but the child care area had loads of new equipment delivered the week we were there and every day new entertainment equipment was delivered for the guests.
The pools were cold but once you were in they were ok (according to my husband!)
The only negative about this we that the leaves got into the pool and they had to be reminded that this was unacceptable to swim in… however they cleaned them all the next morning. Some of the tiles needed attention but whilst we were there the maintenance guys were making fixes and repairs around the whole hotel. I get the impression that the hotel has changed hands and the managers were working very hard to oversee the changes.
The staff work very hard and work long hours and possibly need a few more co-workers to help deal with the amount of clients the hotel has. Any surly behaviour I think can be put down to this or the language barrier. They have a massive range of nationalities visiting here… how many languages can you speak?
The food was perfectly fine when we were there, although vegetarians might struggle to find something at times. We eat fish and chicken so we did ok but otherwise its salad and chips some days. The food labels are sometimes mixed up or missing but you can work it out with some common sense. If that fails ask and they will find out!
Watch out for the first day seagull, he is very smart and fast. He will get you once… much to the amusement of more seasoned guests.
The views here are stunning and the bays that adjoin it are worth the walk, provided you are very fit and street wise as there is no option than to walk the road and the pavement is non existent. It’s very steep and takes 40 mins each way to reach xacara bay. My husband and I walked it after a couple in the 60’s recommended it to us.
For the less fit Portinatx is very nice and took us 10 mins to get to the sandy beach, and the fish are amazing. it takes 20 mins to get to the supermarket at the back of the town. The ones near the beach are much dearer. Roses(?) supermarket was the cheaper that we found which is up by the bus stop to Ibiza town.
Portinatx is steep and some would find the whole area too much to deal with. We walked all over more than once as went for long walks after every meal. If you can’t manage the hill at the hotel you are going to be in trouble.
The Zulu lounge is expensive but the mojitos are amazing and the atmosphere is great.
We visited the local towns and Ibiza town; we also went to the hippy market… all by bus which is much cheaper and just as easy as the planned trips. You must be aware of bus time tables though or you might bet stuck somewhere. Some of the excursions were just ok; the hippy market was good fun but a bit of a distance from the bus so allow time to walk back. I don’t know if we missed the main shopping area for Ibiza town but we had a walk round the old town which was nice.
I think if you are coming to this hotel for a cheap week in the sun and don’t expect the Hilton, you will get along fine. I think the hotel and staff are aware of what the tweaks are and in time I think they will achieve them. We had fun and never went thirsty. Note to the manager… get your peacock some playmates please!

Room Tip: choose lower if you have issues with mobility/ small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank battybats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.5 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.6 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 12 in Sant Joan de Labritja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Ciguena
La Ciguena
#5 of 9 in Portinatx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Vista Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Vista Bahia

Property: Club Vista Bahia
Address: Carretera Portinatx s/n | Cala Xarraca, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Vista Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club vista Bahia is the ideal hotel to enjoy pleasant and relaxing holidays. We underline its location by the sea on the beautiful steep. This environment allows guests to enjoy the sounds of nature, impressive sunsent and pleasant walking. Located in the beach Cala Xarraca de Portinatx at 29 km from Ibiza city centre, the ideal place to enjoy the tranquility of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Club Vista Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Vista Bahia Hotel Portinatx
Hotel Vista Bahia
Vista Bahia Hotel
Club Vista Bahia Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing