We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, take plenty of books”
Review of Grupotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grupotel Oasis
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel at the top of Ibiza is located in a resort with two small bays/beaches, one of which can be accessed by steps leading from the hotel. This is great if you forget something or need to return to your room to change. There are three accommodation buildings, one of which overlooks the bay/beach. There are two pool areas, one is located on the terrace above the bay which also houses the cafe/bar where there is entertainment every two nights or so. Another pool area is situated in front of the other accommodation buildings adjacent, where there is also a children's play area and table tennis.
There is one restaurant where the food is plentiful and in the main, fresh. I found the vegetables and meat options overcooked but there were a wide variety of salad options and dressings at both lunch and dinner, quality cheeses some nights and varieties of exotic fruit each meal. At breakfast you could compose your own museli, have varying yogurts, try different breads/baguettes as wellas have cooked breakfasts of fried/scrambled egg, omelette, bacon and tomatoes. You toast your own bread but all empty plates are cleared by the restaurant staff. I read there were queues to eat - this is explained by the staff allocating guests a table( usually of 4 )each, even if a single guest. This means no-one has to share. We always went the second hour of serving to avoid queuing or being rushed. The desserts are lovely by the way.
Most guests are all-inclusive. We were happy with half-board but you are very much in the minority.
Polinatx is quite a small resort, families seemed to spend whole days on the beach - the weather was glorious in June. I liked that the resort was not overpopulated with shops but an evening stroll is limited to the two beaches and village square. The Grupotel is fairly self-contained and ideal for a holiday away from the maddening crowds, but I would take lots of books if you are a couple or going with friends. Some people played cards in the evening. We used the local bus service three times to see the rest of the island. The price to Ibiza town was three Euros which is great for a 45 minute journey, however there are only two buses a day so read the timetable carefully. Boat trips around the island are available but much more pricey.
You could opt to have your room cleaned every day and the hotel staff kept the hotel and grounds spotless.
Our only negative experience occurred, unfortunately, on arrival. Arriving well after eleven, three hours late due to the French airstrike, we were put in a fusty basement room where consequently we had a sleepless night due to strong paint fumes with an unpleasant smell mixed in. We discovered the next day the sanitation drains appeared to be outside under the balcony.. You are vulnerable late at night and just want a night's sleep after all the travelling. We had asked, on booking months before, for a pool view anyhow. I think it was a bit rotten someone handing us a key to that room with a straight face, with no explanation knowing what lay in store for us. This attitude was not characteristic of the Grupotel as a whole. Our room was changed the next day by a different receptionist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay. Refuse Room 8( in basement ) at present, has terrible fumes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DShaw860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Ibiza for the first time this September and as a couple in their 30's wanted to chill out away from the craziness but have a good base to explore this amazing island. The Grupotel Oasis has an excellent location situated right on the beach in the beautiful resort. The beach is a small cove which is stunning with clear waters. The food was of a good standard, lots of choice although meal times were very busy and you sometimes had to queue outside the restaurant to get in! The dining room felt too small for the size of the complex, you are best to go an hour after the restaurant opens. The drinks in the bar are good measures and drinks are strong although bar staff are quite rude. Portinatx is a stunning resort, quiet, although a couple of good bars, Vincent's was the best! You must hire a car or bike to explore this stunning island. We hired a scooter for 5 days and went right down to the old town and Cala Llonga, Es Cana and Santa Eulalia which was our favourite! The highlight of our week was a boat trip to Formentera, which you can pick up the boat from the old town. Be warned it took about 2 hours though, but was so worth it! The beaches compare to some of the best we have ever seen in the Caribbean, totally stunning and idyllic. Cannot wait to go back and explore the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Fi0na_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

holidayed here in may/june this year with the mrs n 2yr old and granparents was really nice family place just could of done with some entertainment really for kids and adults alike.
one other thing the young lass on reception is rude think she needs some kind of training in customer service, however the staff in the restaurant was really hard working and friendly they are a credit to the hotel! and the food was good too

overall good holiday

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank yorkshirelad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Its absolutely fine here, I liked the food, the bar staff were fine with us apart from one guy who was obviously just a moody git - who cares!
I didnt watch any of the entertainment so cannot comment.
The steps were fine, both parties had a buggys and we managed just fine.
Would suit disabled though.
Room 040 was nice and big, was also quite as it was up behind the reception part and not at the bar area.
I would go back.

Room Tip: room 038 or 040
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lbskyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Clean comfortable hotel.Lovely food.Friendly staff,all very helpfull.Nice beach.The steps were the only problem for us.nice place to stay if you just want to chill out.Food excellent as were the drinks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EnglandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good location - plenty of walking and great views. Lots of steps to get to the beach so not so good for the infirm or those with prams.

Food was repetetive but the hotel was winding down for winter closure.

Bar staff were really helpful as were the cleaners and the reception staff.

Hotel very clean in a refurbed room in block 2 - but there were tired areas e.g. toilets in bar area and sunbeds were showing their age.

Would happily return for the location and the hotel is what it is a 3 star - clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: avoid block 3 if you prefer an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we all know you get what you pay for but cheap dose not have to mean below standard ,the food was repetitive pork,fish ,beef of varying meals ,last nights food recycled for the next day ,ie pizza toppings ,the lack of any entertainment of any reasonable standard ,in our two week stay there were only 3 acts ,and these were aimed at the over 60' age group ,and us being in our 40's the acts were just going through the motions ,and hearing the entertainment from the other hotels made us and many other guests envious as they were paying much the same for there stay as us ,the skytours brochure is quite misleading as the picture shows a very early picture of the hotel .maybe from the 80's or 70's ,and if you don't like steps or are not as fit or mobile or have young children or pushchairs getting to the fantastic beaches can be hard work ,and anyone who is disabled would find this place a real headache ,gruptel claim they are refurbishing many of there hotels ,but this must be last on the list ,its in dire need of upgrading ,the staff work very long hours and yet do a excellent job ,the bar staff were first class and were more entertaining than the provided entertainment ,the maid's were first class the rooms were clean and tidy every day ,portinatx is a nice area to vist with a few shops and a bus stop ,the bus in to ibiza town is cheap ,but get a time table from reception ,as siesta time is in the drivers favour .. on sunday they have what's called a hippy market where you can buy a variety of fake designer good ,make sure to haggle a good price,the water is great for swimming and snorkelling ,and you can swim and even feed the fish in the crystal clean water ,the only hassle with the beach was if you wanted a drink or to go to the toilet you had to climb back up 35 steps to get to the bar and we had some very hot days so staying hydrated was essential ,and people might say "you could of brought a drink from a shop" but then why pay to go all inc

Room Tip: try to get a apartment as they have been refurbished ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kev g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Ciguena
La Ciguena
#5 of 9 in Portinatx
140 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
963 reviews
8.5 mi away
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
#10 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Oasis

Address: Playa de Portinatx s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range: $105 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly in front of the Portinatx beach. The beautiful setting offers the perfect combination of magnificent pinegroves and a breathtaking view of the idyllic Cala Portinatx beach. Located in a quite resort making it ideal for families and couples. Rooms: Sat-TV. Fridge. Ventilator. Balcony. Sport & Leisure: Three swimming pools, children's pool. Table tennis. Pool table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Lounge & pool bar. Services: Babysitting service. Car rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grupotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Oasis Portinatx
Grupotel Oasis Hotel Portinatx
Grupotel Oasis Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing