We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and cost effective”
Review of Es Grop Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Es Grop Apartments
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed in one of the nice apartments overlooking the bay (3B), the view is stunning and having drinks or breakfast on the terrace is brilliant. The bed was hard but I like hard beds so that was fine, the bathroom worked, the kitchen is functional and there was a couple of fans and a TV with a few international channels and loads of Spanish channels but as iwas digital you could switch the language to English for most movies and tv shows.
Portinatxis full of budget all inclusive tourist hotels so we used the apartment as a base and rented a car to drive to the wonderful beached around the island. You don't really want to stay in Portinatx as it gets noisy from 6 PM with all the mini discos and enternainment blaring through the PA's from the surrounding hotels. But there are so many amazing beaches and restaurants around the island and with 15-20 minutes drive so you have the choice.
In a nutshell, Juan the owner was very helpfull, the flats are clean and at 65 EUR a night in September, unblievable value. So you can use you hard earned cash on great meals in wonderful restaurants

Room Tip: 1a,1,b,2a,2,b,3a,3b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrugnoloGentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

As other posters have commented, if you are fortunate enough to get an apartment overlooking the bay, the view from your large terrace is fantastic. We were upgraded for free from a studio apartment to a one bed apartment (1B) and the wonderful views made for a perfect weekend. Yes the apartment was a little dated in part, but it was clean, the bathroom was spotless and overall the apartment was perfectly well equipped for our needs and very competitively priced.

Certainly we intend to return to Portinatx and when we do we will definitely stay here again and specifically ask for Apartment 1B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavel-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in these clean and attractive apartments. Being on a bit of a budget we had a one bed apartment, but this slept 5 of us fine, two on sofa/sofabeds in the spacious living area and then the owners put a camp bed in the bedroom for us (which also had a double bed).

The apartment is well presented, modern, with a functional kitchen, gorgeous big terrace, small but fine pool, and is 5 minutes up from the beach! Those who have criticised it on here seem to have expected it to be a hotel - it's not, it's nice simple mediterranean apartments, so obviuosly no room service etc. The owner is pleasant and helpful.

NB These were es grop apartments, rather than es grop playa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gsbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Me, my husband and seven year old daughter have just returned from Portinatx. The Es Grop Apartments are set on the cliff top overlooking the pretty beach. We were shown to the apartment on the "Playa" part of the complex. The apartment was verys seventie, lots of dark pine furniture, falling to bits, lights hanging off the walls, and instructions on how to use a gas cooker, when the cooker was in fact electric!! The beds were rock hard, but the apartment itself was very clean. The shower in the bathroom was a trickle, but we could always rely on the temperature to be as we needed. The bar area was lovely, with a small splash pool, and the staff were friendly and helpful. In all, this place was adequate, but if it hadnt been for the location, I wouldnt have stayed there. It needs updating to bring it into the noughties, but for the money its okay.

Room Tip: OKay if you dont mind basic - No air-con!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

If you have booked Es Grop Apartments make sure you get Es Grop and not Es Grop Playa - the manager tried to put us into Playa apartments which are close by but the view there is not a patch on the real thing!

Fantastic view, excellent huge terrace/balcony with sun all day (Studios 4 & 5). We carefully examined all the properties in Portinatx and decided that Es Grop wins hands down on position. Lighting in the three piece bathroom excellent, water pressure very good with endless hot water, coat hanger numbers amazing! Swimming pool clean, lift always worked. Despite many "not likes to follow it is a good place to stay at a very reasonable price. Highly recommend the top floor studios other levels did not have such good balconies.

Now the downs. Room was not touched in the whole week - no change of towels or sheets and one loo roll for the week! A couple of sun beds on our terrace would have been good as the swimming pool area taken over by the Chinese restaurant - we had to move tables to place our own beds from stack. Trip switch kept tripping with no rhyme or reason. Some of the web site photos of the studios must be from the larger flats. No microwave just a small oven/grill and the safety deposit box did not seem to be available (would have to telephone somebody and we would have to pay 5e a day). Most reviewers complain about the tannoy from the next door Brit occupied hotel but it was not continual and we quite enjoyed getting nearly all the quiz questions wrong.

The beach was pleasant - sun beds 5 euros a day. We decided to "do" the beach one day but having watched a couple of British fathers fishing with nets on sticks for a while we suddenly realised that they were catching jelly fish by the dozen so we rapidly exited before the bed man came to collect and repared to the apartment swimming pool. Whether this is a regular invasion or the first two days of not very good weather had brought them in I do not know - just beware.

Not having been to Spain for a while we were quite surprised how expensive eating out has become even taking into account the exchange rate we were still taken aback. The Jardin le Mer is worth a visit for the wonderful setting right on the water.
We found JJ in Rincon Vert cafe/restaurant right on the front (with the roads either side being the main centre of Portinatx) an absolute gem with reasonably priced food (loved the seafood pizza) and with answers to all our questions about Portinatx. He recommended a "where the Spanish eat restaurant". We had our excellent paella experience there - apparently the owners son is a fisherman so fresh fish guaranteed. Can't remember the name properly but think it was something "Pinos"

Boozy Buys - last shop on left in main area - prices cheaper than the airport for everything and they seemed to have many brands of cigarettes and they take credit card. Two not huge supermarkets one on the beach and other in centre.

Development of Portinatx has been carefully controlled and the many trees retained in the area really make it a pretty place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We paid £190 for 7 nights up to 26th. (See booking.com for the pictures I am refering to in this review.) There are 2 blocks and by far the best is the front "Azul" block - (pic #8 just right of centre,) with 8 balconied front facing rooms (#5, #6, #7,) & unrivaled views of the "small" beach and bay. The lower ones are directly above the chinese restaraunt, (#9.) 3 more have inland views, maybe 8 others with no balconies, (#11, #12). The small pool (#14) sits within the small restaurant terrace. All the pics were of this block (clever that) except #3. The rear block has 36 units, all but 6 are forward facing, some 2, some 4 bed. Upper floors offer better views but put you on a level with the noisy kids club next door. Yes - this area is in need of a make over. PLUS POINTS - We DID have the pool to ourselves most of the week. There IS a coke machine and internet at reception. The kitchen & bathroom were reasonable but NOT the ones in photos #4, #9, #10, #13, #16. The beds weren't THAT bad and the cooker and fridge ARE new-ish. MINUS POINTS - There IS a TV but it's all in Spanish (surprise) AND it sticks out of the wall at just the right height for decapitation during your midnight leak. There IS a safety deposit box but they haven't got the key. Many bulbs did not work. The ceiling fan was pants until we found the reverse button on the side - (Anti-clockwise = Down-draft !) The sheets & towels were not changed all week. I could've done with one of those plastic coffee "cones" or a cafetierre. Also, a crossbow would've been handy, particularly the 23rd time I heard the same day-glo rep shout - "Who wants to do a karaoke quiz boys and girls !" CONCLUSIONS - We had concerns about the 2nd ash cloud and some flights were disrupted, but not us. The biggest wild fire in Ibiza's history kicked off a couple of miles away and yes, there was smoke, but we were leaving anyhow. I honestly thought it was about right for the money. FOOD RECOMMENDATIONS - Caballito Del Mar (better when the hotel cabaret next door isn't kicking off !) Also El Puerto round at Paradise Beach. EXCURSIONS - If you've got a car then Cala Sant Vincent is very pleasant and San Eularia's got bigger supermarkets and a nice promenade. Dalt Villa is very historic. We took the car to San Antonio for an overnight stop. (Cheap hotel Del Mar only 31 Euros). Prices here are noticeably cheaper for food and booze. We did the sunset at Cafe Mambo / Cafe Del Mar (pricey) - and watched hen & stag groups staggering their wy round the "West End" - Just the ONE night of madness for us then !

Room Tip: I made a note of the room numbers so drop me line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We were a little wary because the accommodation was so cheap but we need not have worried. The apartment was clean with a large veranda that overlooked the beach and was in the sun in the afternoon. It had all the cutlery, crockery, pots and pans we needed, plus washing up liquid. Towels were provided but hand soap was not.

There was generally no one on the reception desk, but we did not have need to contact them except to ask for a late checkout.

There was a little noise from the large hotel adjacent to the apartment and from the apartment above.

Early May 2011 was an ideal time to visit, it was sunny, the majority of restaurants and bars were open, the sea and pool were not too cold and there were few other visitors.

I'd recommend eating at Caballito del Mar, it may be a little quiet but the food is good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#9 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
807 reviews
19 mi away
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
#2 of 4 in Cala Tarida
1,283 reviews
0 mi away
La Ciguena
La Ciguena
#5 of 9 in Portinatx
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Grop Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Grop Apartments

Address: S'arenal Petit, s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Portinatx
Price Range: $58 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Es Grop Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Grop Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Grop Apartments Hotel Portinatx
Es Grop Apartments Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing