We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ciguena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ciguena
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and i stayed at La Ciguena in may 2014, our room was small and basic but more than adequate and very clean. The staff were amazing, probably the frendliest hotel we have stayed in. we stayed on a half board basis and coud'nt fault the food, lots of choice and as much as you could eat. all in all a very enjoyable week and would certainly return.

Room Tip: If i returned to La Ciguena i would sacrifice a sea view for a room at the back of hotel. The downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derek250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

When looking for a quiet place to get away to, friends told me about this little place. Extremely welcoming and homely...our room had a small balcony overlooking the gorgeous view of the bay, it had twin beds and a small, but adequate bathroom. We found the food tasty and plentiful....the paella (fish and the veggie) was superb. If I had to criticise, it would be to say the food wasn't always as hot as it could be. The staff were helpful and always smiling. Our stay was short (3 nights) and we were unfortunate to have rain on 2 of the days, not unusual for early in the season, we have since been told! On the first night there was a power failure (all Ibiza!) This was disappointing, but of course, not the fault of the hotel. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viviennemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hubby and I have just returned from a 9 day stay at La Ciguena in the beautiful resort of Portinatx. Will provide an honest review, inc positive and negative comments.

As previously advised, La Ciguena has a fantastic location, overlooking the beautiful S'arenal Petit cove; providing a beautiful safe, clean beach and sea and perfect for families with young children.

Having mainly stayed in self catering accommodation in the past few years, we were a bit surprised on arrival at how small the rooms and balconies were, but we soon adjusted to this (as others have said, you don't spend your holiday in your room!). The sea view and location made up for this. However, we did struggle with the tiny bathroom and sliding door access, which was not at all easy to open/close. The rooms were cleaned and beds made daily (except sunday) and always were a pleasure to return to, as they always smelled lovely and fresh and clean.

The pool area is a real sun trap and on windier days was a great option instead of the beach. The pool was a lovely temperature and the addition of the jacuzzi and waterfall adds to it's attraction. The period we were there, we often had the pool area completely to ourselves, although I imagine it gets a bit crowded in peak season. However, you are spoilt by being only a few steps away from S'arenal petit and S'arenal grand beach just around the corner.

The hotel provides half board facility to all guests at the hotel and the breakfast buffet provides a good variety of food to suit all tastes, however, we found the evening meal choices a bit limited and not always that hot. However, again, the experience of dining on the lovely balcony overlooking such an idyllic location made up for this. Drinks cost from € 2.50 for a bottle of water, bottle of sprite - € 2, lager - €3, and bottle of house wine - €12.

As also mentioned previously, the hotel is frequented by their "regulars", some of whom have revisited every year (sometimes several times a year) for between 14 - 20 years. Whilst this may create a great "long lost family" feel for those visitors, some guests appear to have adopted an air of exclusivity to their staying at this hotel, and are quite inconsiderate and obnoxious towards "newer" guests, and as such display quite rude and ignorant behaviour (e.g. shouting across the restaurant to each other, over the heads of other diners). This can unfortunately create an unpleasant dining environment, and not one you wish to experience whilst on your holiday, that you too have paid for....! However, if you ignore the minority who display these bad manners, overall it is a lovely place to stay. The staff are all helpful and treat all guests with the same friendly manner.

All in all we made the most of our holiday in such a lovely location and enjoyed our experience and would return again. However, in future, we would choose the option of staying at their alternative residence, Apartments Portinatx, to have a bit more space and flexibility. If you are visiting Portinatx, we would recommend booking either La Ciguena or the apartments, as it is obvious that the Torres family work hard to provide their guests with a lovely holiday experience, and duly deserve the support and recognition they receive.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must to fully appreciate and enjoy the idyllic location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmershamSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Returned to La Ciguena for the second time after quite a few years gap and was happy to find it was just as I remembered. Home from Home. Service and quality far outweighs the price you pay and the views from the terrace restaurant are unbeatable. We will be back again..and again...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A number of years ago my wife and I stayed at La Ciguena and thoroughly enjoyed it. We returned to Portinatx 15th to 28th September and had a fantastic stay at the Apartments Portinatx.

We had intended to stay at La Ciguena again but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for the dates we requested. However, since the last time we had stayed there the owners had aquired an apartment block in addition to the hotel and they offered us accomodation there. We did not fancy self catering so they suggested we took our meals in the hotel on a half board basis.

This turned out to be a real winner. We had the best of both worlds. A good sized apartment that slept 4. Exceptionally clean, with every facility and only a short stroll across to the main Hotel.

The apartments have probably the best location and view of anywhere in Portinatx and the breakfast and dinner option at La Ciguena was most excellent. The staff are superb, nothing being too much trouble and they really do go that extra mile to make your stay as pleasing as possible.
It is little wonder that so many of their guests return year after year, many of them 3 or 4 times each year.

We have booked again for next year. Fabulous location and accomodation on this sunshine island.

Room Tip: If you stay in the HOTEL go for one of their superior rooms with terrace and balcony. They are stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We returned to Portinatx 10/11 years after previously staying at Es Grop apartments and had earmarked La Ciguena as the hotel we wanted to stay at. The location is second to none, breakfasting on the balcony overlooking the gorgeous bay and ditto for dinner. Their tariff is half board and the food is certainly a few notches up from the canteen fayre offered by many
3* and 4* All Inclusive hotels. If you want to eat out in the evening, you can change from dinner to lunch and they also offer 20% discount on their a la carte menu. Staff are friendly and helpful. The only room available when we booked at relatively short notice was a standard twin/double with no balcony but it was fine and very spacious with a good shower in the en suite.

Portinatx is a gem of a resort with a lovely sandy beach and clear blue sea with plenty of fish in for snorkellers. It's a small place so a limited choice of bars, but ideal for families and older couples who can manage the steps and slopes leading down to the bays.

Why was La Ciguena not perfect? We found the mattresses much too hard. However, that was the only gripe and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PunchSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

After staying next door at the Est Puet Blanc with my family 15 years ago for a few years on the trot I was looking to return to Portinatx with my boyfriend for a relaxing week. I instantly thought that La Ciguena would be more cost effective and suitable as we didn't want to be paying under occupancy charges for such a large apartment during school holidays to stay at Es Puet. In my opinion and if you are looking at choosing between the two I would choose Est Puet every time but can understand why people love La ciguena so much. It wasn't a bad stay I just can't help but compare.... See below:
Positives:
Breakfast is included which is pretty good. The orange juice is a bit naff and not so much choice but a good start to the day. Beautiful to sit out on the balcony and watch the calm waters before the rush of the beach worshipers arrive.
Balcony - although small the balcony with sea view is a great place to chill with drinks in the evening.
Beach bar - Fab! Great service, good priced drinks, our favourite bar in Portinatx.
Pool Area - nice pool with jacuzzi and sunbeds reasonably comfy.
Staff - great staff in the bar, reception and at breakfast.
Shower - Shower in the room was very good.

Negatives
Rooms - No room to swing a cat, once you have unpacked our suitcase there is nowhere to store it so just take up more space. Noisy aircon which is actually a blessing at the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything! You have to speak very quietly at night and if you want to sit on your balcony then whisper. Shame...
Half Board - the dinner is okay but after 3 days you get fed up. Not great for families who were there, the kids were struggling. We choose to swap our dinner for lunch which we did for the remainder of the stay. Highly recommended as this is off the menu and you have good choice. Quiet at lunch and you can sit out on the balcony. We ate dinner in Zulu and Es Puet Blanc.
Pool - crazy busy, no spare sunbeds. You have to get up early to claim your spot although I noticed some people put the towels out the night before! Quite noisy, not much sun until 10.30.

I would return but would want to stay in the deluxe rooms and swap dinner for lunch each day. This hotel is listed as hostal and the great reviews raised my expectations. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soph-B1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 12 in Sant Joan de Labritja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sensimar Ibiza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciguena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciguena

Property: La Ciguena
Address: S'Arenal Petit, 08720 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portinatx
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ciguena Hotel is located on S'Arenal Petit beach in Portinatx; facilities include restaurant, snack bar, satellite TV, internet access, swimming pool, solarium with sun beds and parasols, gym, bicycles and self-service laundry. All rooms offer air-conditioning, safety deposit box and many have a balcony with sea view. Bed and breakfast or half board is available. Bookings made directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Ciguena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciguena Portinatx
La Ciguena Hotel Portinatx
La Ciguena Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing