We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ciguena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ciguena
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant is part of the hotel facilities but is open to all. The food is exceptional and the two waiters (One bar and one restaurant) are extremely helpful and very efficient. They make everyone feel special and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbrian
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this small hotel while exploring Ibiza after being attracted by both the location and the very good reviews and were not disappointed. As mentioned in previous reports it was obvious that some of the guests were regulars and had been visiting for many years. Although this is a good recommendations it can create a club type atmosphere that could be be seen as intimidating to first timers, however I am sure you would eventually be welcomed into the group after a few years! The Hotel recently started to upgrade some of the rooms, but we opted for standard room at a very reasonable rate, that was basic but spotlessly clean and still had the amazing views of the beach and bay from the small balcony. The Hotel caters mainly for British holiday makers and the food offered reflects this, but there is a good choice both in the evening and at breakfast to suit most tastes. There is an option to choose at a premium food from the a la carte menu, but we found the buffet style meal served in the residence dining room to be more than adequate, with a good choice and served piping hot, which is not always the case with this type of dining. There is a busy bar on the ground floor over looking the beach and another next door that stays open until the early hours that ensures the hotel has a vibrant feel but this can also be a disadvantage to very light sleepers.

The Torres family have been accommodating British tourists at this hotel for over 50 years and have a built up a very successful business, by providing excellent customer service at a very competitive price in a special location and deserve all the credit they get. This will be our first choice if we return to Portinatx - which I am sure we will.

Room Tip: Any on the front over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice little balcony restaurant right on the beach front. We came here for a break in the all inclusive of our hotel. Nice plain food (get the chicken with mushroom sauce). Nice quiet restaurant, nice staff, Cost about 35EUROS for 2 meals and bottle of wine. Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toots87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first visit to the Apartmentos Portinatx, owned and run by the owners of La Ciguena on the opposite side of the bay.
The owner was friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The apartments were clean, comfortable and well-equipped with towel/linen change every other day. The location was lovely - overlooking the beach, which was steps away.
These apartments were excellent value for money and we look forward to returning.
We actually visited in September 2011 and I regret that I have only now posted this. These apartments deserve great reviews from all their guests!
It wasn't busy when we we were there and the pool looked an adequate size for the guests (though we prefer the sea so didn't actually use it.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I am just back from a family holiday at the Portinatx Apartments which is owned and run by the Torres family from La Ciguena in Portinatx and it was fantastic.

We have stayed as a family in the hotel in the past but decided this year to try the apartments and we were not disappointed.

The apartments are situated a 5 minute walk from the hotel where you can eat as part of the guests buffet but we opted a few times to go a la carte as well as the buffet and the quality was excellent.

Everything was clean and the kids enjoyed the pool area very much. There are plenty of facilities in the apartments including fridge, hob, and microwave as well as loads of space to enjoy.

the Torres family could not do more to help you and special thanks to Juan and the La Ciguena team for making the whole 10 days so enjoyable.

Portinatx is a very special little place that is off the beaten track but still has the transport facilities to get around Ibiza with ease. We have been holidaying in Portinatx for 13 years now and we have stayed in many different places but La Ciguena and the sister apartments offer the best the resort has to offer as far as accommodation is concerned but its the Torres family that make it. They are genuinely nice people and they care that you are having the best time possible.

We will be back again next year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I spent 10 days in half board in this hotel overlooking the lovely beach in Portinax. Away rom the crowds of Eivissa the Portinax area in the northern shores of Ibiza offers a lot in terms of delightful coves, secluded beaches and pleasant feeling. Hotel rooms rather basic but clean. You need to pay a (small) fee for fridge or a kettle, but given the overall prices it is still a bargain. The beach in front of the hotel is clean, with turquoise waters and nearby facilities.
Big breakfast included (british style) and quite decent dinner for those in half board. The restaurant is also well attended per se from non customers of the hotel. A pleasant surprise.!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest U.K
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Love, small and friendly hotels like this. Don't want too many people finding out about it and driving up the prices!!

Room Tip: If you can't do 1 flight of steps, it's not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carmenmirander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 12 in Sant Joan de Labritja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sensimar Ibiza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciguena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciguena

Property: La Ciguena
Address: S'Arenal Petit, 08720 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portinatx
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ciguena Hotel is located on S'Arenal Petit beach in Portinatx; facilities include restaurant, snack bar, satellite TV, internet access, swimming pool, solarium with sun beds and parasols, gym, bicycles and self-service laundry. All rooms offer air-conditioning, safety deposit box and many have a balcony with sea view. Bed and breakfast or half board is available. Bookings made directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Ciguena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciguena Portinatx
La Ciguena Hotel Portinatx
La Ciguena Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing