We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel right on the water”
Review of La Ciguena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ciguena
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I spent 10 days in half board in this hotel overlooking the lovely beach in Portinax. Away rom the crowds of Eivissa the Portinax area in the northern shores of Ibiza offers a lot in terms of delightful coves, secluded beaches and pleasant feeling. Hotel rooms rather basic but clean. You need to pay a (small) fee for fridge or a kettle, but given the overall prices it is still a bargain. The beach in front of the hotel is clean, with turquoise waters and nearby facilities.
Big breakfast included (british style) and quite decent dinner for those in half board. The restaurant is also well attended per se from non customers of the hotel. A pleasant surprise.!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomanJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Love, small and friendly hotels like this. Don't want too many people finding out about it and driving up the prices!!

Room Tip: If you can't do 1 flight of steps, it's not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank carmenmirander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Great hotel, restaurant, location & staff. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andresykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

just came back from 10 days at this warm, friendly family run hotel & We miss it already! The location is fantastic. We had half board & such a great choice! compliments to the chef! Nothing was too much trouble.. they even offered to make my (fussy) little boy a pizza! spotlessly clean.. we are definately booking for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 18msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just fab, go & see for yourself.
We stayed at the apartments which belong to the hotel across the bay 5 mins walk but had all our meals at the Hotel
Have also stayed in the Hotel & going again sept 2011 with just Hubby
BOTH are BRILLIANT with excellent staff & service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We found this hotel on the internet, and had the usual wories prior to arriving. We actually visited 2 years ago, not August 2010 as shown above; I forgot to do the review, then got a lovely Christmas card from them last week, which reminded me.
Anyway, we had nothing to worry about; this small hotel is beautiful. The location is superb if you are sun worshiper and love the beach. The bedrooms are small and certainly the bathrooms are compact but the beds were very comfortable and the views from the balconies are wonderful, and the air conditioning worked well. The family who run both this hotel and the bar below can't do enough for you. The real surprise was the food - the best food we have ever had anywhere in a Europaen hotel. We upgraded from B+B to half board when we arrived, and this turned out to be a really clever thing to do!
There are steps to all levels of the hotel and the roof terrace, where there is a very small sun bathing terrace and plunge pool which was great while we were there as hardly anyone used it, but I would imagine that it might not be so nice if it were busy. The picture-perfect beach is right on the doorstep - litterally; you step down from the hotel steps onto the very clean and well kept beach. The little cove is very safe for swimming and was especially popular with families. Portinatx is a very hilly and steep place to visit so it might not suit everyone. The area is very quiet ( no clubs or loud disco bars ) so it wouldn't suit party people much. Everyone we spoke to during our weeks holiday were "returners" and some families and couples had been returning for may years and by the time we left, we understood why. I wouldn't hesitate returning to this hotel, and would definately recoimmend it to others if I felt it would suit them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

La Ciguena really is situated literally two minutes from the sandy, clean beach, and clear, warm sea. It's well-run, clean, has air-con during the night, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our balcony was very nice and we had a beautiful sea view. If you're planning to spend most of your time outside it will be fine. But if you're after even a small amount of luxury/romance/space this is not the hotel for you. The room - well, our room anyway - was very small, with an even smaller bathroom which one could hardly turn round in. And the curtains were quite thin and didn't keep out the early morning brightness, which is a shame because the bed was very comfortable and I would have slept in if is hadn't been so bright. Another traveller on thie site has described La Ciguena as basic. That about sums it up. You pay for the location - which, as I say, is great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
830 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portinatx Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciguena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciguena

Address: S'Arenal Petit, 08720 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range: $98 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ciguena Hotel is located on S'Arenal Petit beach in Portinatx; facilities include restaurant, snack bar, satellite TV, internet access, swimming pool, solarium with sun beds and parasols, gym, bicycles and self-service laundry. All rooms offer air-conditioning, safety deposit box and many have a balcony with sea view. Bed and breakfast or half board is available. Bookings made directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Ciguena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciguena Portinatx
La Ciguena Hotel Portinatx
La Ciguena Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing